$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
79 reviews
Great trip for relaxation

The hotel has a very private feel to it. The view from the dinning room is beautiful!!! See full review

  • Sarab
  • Feb 4, 2015
Great vacation

We loved staying at Mahekal Beach Resort. Being so close to the water was a plus. The staff was... See full review

  • tw.566
  • Jan 15, 2015
Palapa-style bungalows at oceanfront Playa del Carmen resort
The Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa del Carmen is an oceanfront paradise, complete with thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows. The property boasts 800 feet of white sand beach, two swimming pools, heated Jacuzzi, two bars, a dive shop and water sports center, and two open-air restaurants. The Mahekal Beach Resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and the Caribbean and is family-friendly. Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with its shops and restaurants is outside the front doors. The resort was formerly known as Shangri La Caribe.
Highlights:
  • 121 thatched-roof bungalows
  • Conveniently located in Playa del Carmen at Fifth Avenue
  • Two swimming pools, a heated Jacuzzi and two bars
  • Two open-air restaurants
Rooms:

All 121 thatched-roof bungalows at the Mahekal Beach Resort are expertly decorated and include traditional Caribbean, Mayan and Mexican tiling work and furnishing. Guests stay either at individual bungalows or individual rooms in two- or three-unit casitas. Tile floors and elaborately painted bathrooms give way to refreshing linens and bright, airy living areas. The accommodations do not have televisions, radios or telephones but are outfitted with hammocks. All rooms at the Mahekal Beach Resort are air conditioned. The penthouse bungalows feature private decks, views of the ocean, private bathroom, balcony, ceiling fan and a king-sized bed. These rooms are for adult occupancy only. Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features:

Lounging on the beach or at one of the two pools (one with a heated Jacuzzi) is a given when at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort also has yoga classes, a game room and massages. The town Playa del Carmen is right outside for guests to explore. Take a walk through the streets, eat dinner out on the town or take a day trip to the Mayan ruins.

Room rates at Mahekal Beach Resort include breakfast and dinner or lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with special touches such as Mexican pastries, fresh juices and eggs cooked Mexican style. Alcohol and some beverages are additional. There are two thatched-roof restaurants on the property: Aventura Restaurant and Bar and La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch. La Loma is open only for dinner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4.5 mi/7.5 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • NOTE: The hotel is located next to an event space hosting music festivals from November until January. Some noise disturbances are expected during this period.
  • NOTE: The hotel charges compulsory gala dinner fee of $70 USD on 24 and 31 December 2014 per person, for guests 12 years old and above.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers:

  • Open spaces accomplishing harmony and relax
  • Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail
  • Silk shawls from Michoacan state
  • Two queen size or a king-size bed
  • Pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room
  • Private balcony or terrace with hammocks
  • Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
    The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa:

  • Located closer to the ocean
  • With partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms

  • Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or blue sea as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.
    Deluxe Garden View
    The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms.
    These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool.
    Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
    Deluxe Garden View Palapa
    These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs.
    Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Game room
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

    Dining

    Restaurant
    Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
    La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
    "La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
    Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
    Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
    Casa Club and Aventura
    Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

    Overall score

    4.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    79 out of 79
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Cleanliness:
    4.6
    Hotel staff:
    4.7
    Comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.8
    Value:
    4.4

    95% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    molly and paul
    Harleysville, Pa
    Sep 1, 2013

    Favorite resort

    This has been a return visit to this hotel for my husband and myself. The hotel's decor is tropical w/ Mexican flare. The beach is beautiful and clean. Never any problem getting a spot on the beach or for that matter at the pools.The food is good and the waitstaff is exceptional from the dining room, the bar and beach/pool area. Boli the conceirge is the best. We had requested our old room but it was not available so he gave us the same type of room but with even a better view. We had an unfortunate situation occur the first night with the room so they moved us to a beautiful beachfront room the next morning. It had been 2 yrs since we had been to the hotel and everyone still remembered us by name. They go out of their way to accomadate every need you have.We still had our same waiter Jose and he is still the best. We tried another hotel last yr and it was such a disappointment that we knew we could never find another hotel as good as Mahekal Beach. We will be going back there every year without a doubt. We love mahekal Beach Hotel!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    5th Ave is just a few minutes walk from the hotel if you want to do some shopping. You can pick up a few snacks or cold beverages at the corner store too.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    ad517
    Business
    Seattle
    Apr 26, 2015

    Great Location

    Great location. Wonderful friendly staff. No wifi or TV in room. Waves very loud.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Sarab
    Business
    N/A
    Feb 4, 2015

    Great trip for relaxation

    The hotel has a very private feel to it. The view from the dinning room is beautiful!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    tw.566
    Business
    N/A
    Jan 15, 2015

    Great vacation

    We loved staying at Mahekal Beach Resort. Being so close to the water was a plus. The staff was very helpful at making arrangements for us to go on different day trips. The food was good as well. We had a great time at Mahekal!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    david h.
    Business
    gainesville
    Jan 12, 2015

    Fun time with friends

    We had a wonderful vacation with friends. The Mahekal resort was an excellent choice for our small group. Plenty to do and an extremely pleasant staff. I would recommend this location for anyone looking to relax and unplug.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Los Springs
    Business
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    May 5, 2014

    Fantastic boutique hotel

    My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay at Mahekal. The staff are welcoming, knowledgable and eager to help. Highlights include the outstanding breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, pastries, waffles, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc. plus a choice of eggs (e.g., huevos rancheros). Lunch was also amazing (three course meal), and several of the dinners were excellent (a few were just so-so). Our room was clean and comfortable, and the AC worked well. The best part though is the beach. The beach near Mahekal is absolutely perfect and not overcrowded or loud. In addition, we enjoyed the outdoor pools, happy hour at the bar and the rustic/natural look of the hotel. It's gorgeous at night! The only down side is that the WiFi is slow and only available in select locations. We didn't mind overall since our goal was to get away. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone---especially couples and families. It's one of our favorite places and we will definitely return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    We recommend that you select breakfast and lunch as your 2 included meals for most days...these are both excellent. The dinners varied from so-so to excellent, and occasionally included live music, so check the menu ahead of time since you won't want to miss certain dinners.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Ms Plaza
    Business
    Chicago
    Apr 29, 2014

    Fantastic Family Getaway

    Great location with wonderful beach, all staff are very friendly, sure we will back soon!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Guadalupe WJ
    Business
    Washington
    Apr 28, 2014

    Relaxing vacations

    We really enjoy the hotel, we stay in the suite 3c is on the beach, very nice and relax. I really recommend this hotel good ubication walking to 5th avenue and it is very clean and good service. We would like to come again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    IraG
    Business
    San Jose, California
    Apr 23, 2014

    Amazing place!

    We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think this is the best place to stay there - right on the beach, great rooms, the resort is close to so many interesting places. I will definitely stay there again for the next trip to that area.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Tulum, Akumal, Cenotes.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    DK2014
    Business
    LA
    Apr 9, 2014

    Sucks

    Room smells like rott and humidity They refused to change it saying its the only one available Food is mediocre at best and lousy at times They charged us for lunch durig our last day although we paid for breakfast and dinner or lunch package and never used it Cocktails are overpriced and are not good Internet is super slow and only available at the reception lobby area Basically - it sucks

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    SM Princeton
    Business
    Princeton, New Jersey
    Mar 30, 2014

    Good place for a family vacation

    It was a little difficult to get there by driving; there was no sign, and somehow even some locals do not know how to get there. It has a very nice beach. Food (2 meals per day) was excellent and everyday we were pleasantly surprised by different animal shapes of towels made for us. There's no TV in the room, which we liked. Wifi is available only in the lobby, and it was sometimes very slow. Location is very good. Convenient to visit Xcaret, Tulum, and Chicen Itza.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    There are many supermarkets for locals nearby if you'd like.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top