$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd Mijares S/N, San Jose Del Cabo, 23400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Feb 21, 2010

Fun in the Sun

We had a great time at the Intercontinetal. The rooms were not ready upon our arrival but we had some lunch and a few cocktails while we waited. The ocean view is defiantely worth the upgrade. The ground level rooms viewing the ocean have a patio with a table and chairs and a hammock, which was wonderful! There were 3 very different pools to cater to everyone. A quiet, adult pool. A party pool with music and games and a family pool. The food was good, especially considering how inexpensive the resort was. If you want to eat at one of the restaurants that require reservations, make them in the morning to get a good time slot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 21, 2010

Nice Hotel, Not near Cabo

Nice Hotel, but not near Cabo,actually 19 miles from it, so had to take shuttle bus or taxi (which was a pain). Immediately try to reel you into an $11000 program, so not impressed with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

19 miles away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Feb 21, 2010

Relaxing and beautiful views

Quiet for rexlaxation and down time. Easy walk to San Jose Del Cabo. Get as room facing the escuary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the local bus into Cabo San Lucas for $2.00 (25 pesos) each way to save the higher taxi/hotel shuttle prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
klane
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Feb 18, 2010

Great place, wonderful staff!

We travel quite a lot, and this trip was fantastic! We watched whales from the beach and had a beautiful sunset cruise! The staff and service is first class. We plan to go back and take friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the short walk into a quaint little town for some great shopping, 15 minute walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDJ
Business
Boise, ID
Feb 18, 2010

Great Family Spot

We traveled with our two girls and a babysitter. The hotel had a few different pools (a bit cold but not too bad for the kids. The hotel is fairly quiet as it's in San Jose (vs. San Lucas) and it is on the end of San Jose's hotel row. We had two ground floor rooms with a hammock on each patio. The rooms were fine, not fancy but fairly clean and comfortable. The beds are firm but definitely not as uncomfortable as people were saying on the other reviews. There is plently of food and drinks. I thought the quality of the food was fine. By the end of the week, I was a bit tired of the buffet but that was really our fault for not getting organized enough to make reservations for the specialty restaurants. We did eat one night at Napa and the food was good. My husband loved his meal. HINT - Book your reservations early each day unless you don't mind eating at 9pm. Each night the hotel had entertainment, usually a dancing/variety show. It was perfect family entertainment. The staff were all very friendly and would go out of their way to help you with anything you needed. The gym was a bit disappointing, but I am really into working out so it was probably fine for most people. Overall it was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did a whale watching trip with Cabo Escape. They were pretty reasonable in price and very friendly. We saw a ton of whales.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexpert
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 11, 2010

Just Enough

I have stayed here before and this time I was there for 7 days. I have been to 5-star resorts in Mexico many times. This resort offers just enough of the good stuff to make it a great value. It is clean, friendly and the food is very good. It is definitely a 3 1/2 out of 5 in luxury, and if you don't care about that and just want to get the great pool, super-fresh food and gorgeous freshwater estuary, then this might be the best choice in cabo for you. I feel like I saved a fortune by staying here and didn't sacrifice anything. The really bad gym and other vacationers at the resort are my only complaints. If you are over 350lbs then go run a few miles and don't ever take your shirt off. It's embarrassing for everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Estuary on horseback

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Feb 8, 2010

Great location/great service

Very high level of staff/always helpful. Clean, comfortable, quiet sections and lively sections. Just a nice place to be. Saw whales from our window. A place to return to! Just avoid Club sales and mediocre beef dishes. Great drinks, lots of choices for food and activities. Buffet outside under the stars each night with entertainment. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make restaurant reservations early!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
toledo, ohio
Jan 31, 2010

Good location

The food selection was the most diasappointing, otherwise, it wasn't all that bad. Beer selection was limited to tecante draft. Only one restaurant to choose from other than their snack bar and open buffet. Trip to Cabo san Lucas was $35 by taxi one way. Unable to swim in the ocean, because of the undercurrents. Snorkling tour was disappointing. because of the small beach we were taken to. No coral some fish limited visibility. I've been to the Bahamas, Cozumel, Caymen, Aruba, Cancun, Playa Del Carmen and some twice. I think it is all in what you want in a vacation. If this had been my first all inclusive and trip to Mexico, it wouldn't have been too bad....when compared to other trips..it can't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Try San Jose del Cabo...good places to eat. Quieter than Cabo san Lucas..slower pace.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ScubaRay
Business
Vancouver, WA
Jan 30, 2010

Presidente Perfecto!

Located next to hundreds of acres of fresh water estuary was such a nice setting. One can walk right onto the estuary walking path from the resort grounds and all the way to downtown San Jose Del Cabo. No traffic, lots of Herrons, Osprey, Egrets, and other birds and water fowl to observe along the way. The food selection and quality was wonderful. For an all-inclusive type resort, this was a real bonus. Make sure that you get a copy of the restaurant schedule for the week since different restaurant's are open on different evenings. Make reservations each day before 10am and you should get in OK. As for breakfast we enjoyed the wide variety of fresh fruits and fresh fruit juices to go along with a selection of pasties. Other guests enjoyed omelets or other eggs made to order, pancakes, fried potatoes, and lots more. During lunch you can find a variety of foods and if you like fresh fish, you can always count on having at least one choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Why pay $30us EACH WAY for a taxi to Cabo San Lucas - take a leisurely 20 minute walk to the bus stop across from the Mega Market and pay $2us each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, California
Jan 26, 2010

Wonderful, relaxing, family vacation

My wife, our 2 1/2 year old, and I had a thoroughly enjoyable time at the Presidente (in mid January for 5 nights). It's a very nice hotel. It's perfect for an unpretentious family vacation of pool, sun, and relaxation. We'd go back in a second. We upgraded to a ground floor lanai room which proved to be worthwhile. In addition to being a bit larger than standard rooms, there were several days where my wife and I spent a nice hour or two sitting in the porch or on the hammock reading while our little one took a nap. With a child, we also probably spent a bit more time in the room than most, so having a larger room helped. The grounds at the Presidente are beautiful and well kept; the food was always both plentiful and good (especially at the El Patio restaurant where we ate twice -- this requires reservations); service at the restaurants was EXCELLENT; the pools were lovely (we ended up primarily using the family pool where our son could reach the bottom) and the service was very good. I also enjoyed the small "adult pool" at the other end of the hotel which was always quiet and unassuming (more so than the 'activities pool' with people occasionally playing water volleyball and music in the background). In short, we'd go back to the Presidente in a second. I'm a bit obsessive about research so I did a great deal of research before choosing this hotel and I think it paid off. We rented a car one day in order to explore the area and drive to Cabo San Jucas. In addition to doing this and spending a wonderful afternoon at Chileano beach (where you can actually swim in the water, as this is not recommended at the Presidente or almost all of the other hotels in this area because of very strong undertow), we drove past some of the other "all inclusive" hotels I had considered (e.g., Barcelo, Crown Plaza and one other) and we were not particularly impressed with what we saw (at least from the outside). One of the nicest features of the Presidente is that it is made up of a number of three story buildings and spread out quite a bit over beautiful grounds. Some of the other hotels are almost high-rises and I imagine that staying in a high-rise of sorts would feel very different than our "resort-type" beach experience at the Presidente. There were also entertaining shows in the evening (not Broadway, but more than sufficient while having an evening meal outside). All of this being said, the Presidente is not the Four Seasons ... (nor does it cost as much! - and I don't think there is a Four Seasons in the area). But it was more than comfortable for our needs. And with a small child, Four Seasons-type places are not really ideal. Also, the hotel was family friendly and low-key. This was perfect as we were not looking for a loud, party-type hotel. Finally, San Jose Del Cabo is a short 20 minute walk from the hotel and it is a charming little town (with a nice square and church), much more pleasant and "authentic" than Cabo San Lucas, which seems like it is all about 20-somethings on spring break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring a bunch of single dollar bills (and some five dollar bills) for tips. I'm not used to receiving good service and not tipping. And I think the staff also appreciate (although they never seemed to expect, let alone demand) small tips. But they're working hard and providing excellent service and are obviously not as well-off as those on vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top