$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd Mijares S/N, San Jose Del Cabo, 23400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
408 out of 408
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mandy0987
Business
Minnesota, USA
Mar 25, 2012

It's decent but not the best

Dinner is outside every night and while we were there it was breezy and in the 50's at nights so you had to wear sweatshirts and pants every night. We had put the do not disturb sign on the door and the maid came in and cleaned anyway. It's a good value for the money but I've stayed at better places elsewhere in Mexico for similar prices. The staff was very helpful, fun and friendly. I would recommend this to families or people looking for a low-budget get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anorm
Business
MN
Mar 20, 2012

Quiet location, Terrible food

The staff was friendly and the place was quiet. The food was really bad and the beach was far away from the hotel. Most of the activities are in Cabo San Lucas, which is a $35 cab fare one way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Walk (20 min) or take a cab ($5) to the city bus stop location. The bus was around $2 one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KC.Sunshine
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Good resort if you have an AARP membership....

The resort was fine, it was clean, it had pools, it has a view of Cabo beach (can't go wrong with that...) Food was average, nothing to write home about - but who we weren't concerned on that. The place tries, but its missing something if you are looking for any sort of FUN out of your hotel place. The resort had lots of older people, and was very quiet. If you are younger and want ANY part of ANY action or nightlife - you NEED to stay in CABO SAN LUCAS! we had no idea it was another city so far away. $40+ cab ride to anything we wanted to do - action-wise, and 30 min in a cab with those drivers is sure to make you lose lastnight's tequila... If you're young and want fun, even if you are 30 and just wanted a touch of action.... you don't want to stay at the holiday inn. =P

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Timeshare presentations?!!!! you can get a TON of FREE stuff, we got FOUR activities for 2 plus two cheap bottles of tequila to listen to a timeshare (our presentation was for the Villa group, not Holiday Inn, you'd never want to buy their shares!!) . BUT we got roped in, have major buyer's remorse?! (what -seriously, don't EVER say YES??) - - - we just wanted the free stuff. Now we sent $45 to send a certified letter within its 5 business day cancellation (and crossing our fingers we read the fine print right) and hoping to get our $$ back. it can be a great deal, but make sure you've got your solid NO NO NO!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sun luvin grandma
Business
Minnesota
Mar 12, 2012

escape from cold

Didn't think the quality was as good as in previous stays here. Location is good, and price was good but felt food was much the same every day and staff seemed busy and less helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JD and Sue
Business
Minnesota, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Quiet on the Beach

Not too much partying going on during this spring break season trip. Middle age crowd from Canada predominates. Food is plentiful but just ok - nothing fabulous. Room was quite clean, staff friendly, grounds are beautiful, pools are heated. Beaches were pretty empty. Swimming not recommended at the beach there due to undertow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just under a mile walk into downtown San Jose del Cabo. Take cab one way for US$5 and easy walk back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoB.
Business
Minnesota
Mar 8, 2012

Trip to Holiday Inn San Jose del Cabo

The grounds were beautifully kept. We first were put on first level but by the septic system which was unacceptable.Able to move next day to 3rd floor and rooms very clean so we were satisfied.Staff very friendly but seemed to be slow with service quite a bit in the restaurants. Would have been nice having more choices than just the buffet or one restaurant of which we stood in line each day from 7-8am to get a decent time reservation -for food we had some great food some so so. ALMA ! definitely made our stay ..she was at the adult pool bar and made the best drinks and very friendly.I would return there but hope they can up the staff help and open more restaurants. Too many time share folks too in the lobby for my liking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

15-20 min to San Jose del Cabo and eating at Shooters but again service very slow...food great. Also in Cabo San Lucas we ate at Solomons Landing...excellent food/service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coupza
Business
Alberta, Canada
Mar 4, 2012

It's a W not a U!

The layout of this hotel was fantastic. The W shape created a natural boundary between party central in the middle pool with music and volleyball and the adult only, and family pools where you could hear the birds chirping and the crashing ocean surf. Great food choices with a snack bar perfect for kids complete with western favorites. Beautiful cacti and palm tree gardens throughout the resort, nice 32" flat screen tv in our garden view, complete with hammock room. The supper buffet was served on an outdoor patio served alongside live entertainment. Staff were very friendly and helpful and Jesus the not so pushy vender near the family pool was so much fun to chat with. Sabastian, the excursion coordinator had the best dolphin impression and was very knowledgeable about the area, my son loved him! The bathroom area of our room was a little small for our teenage daughter but she got by with no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Al-a-cart dinners were excellent but required early morning booking to ensure a reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coupza
Business
Alberta, Canada
Mar 3, 2012

Awesome family adventure!

As soon as we pulled up to the holiday inn we immediately were impressed by the Mexican feel and the well manicured gardens, palm trees and cacti. Enrique, our bell hop was very kind and helpful. Our room was in a great location away from the lobby area on the main floor with a garden view. I would recommend this location as the lobby hosts karaoke at night. The garden view gave us evening sun for some siesta time on the hammock after the hotels shadow fell on the pool area. Main floor rooms also have a safe alternatively second and third floor guests are required to leave valuables in a secured lobby location. Excursions were a breeze with Sabastian the hotels event coordinator. He was very fun and informative about activities in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Art walk in San Jose del cabo with vine and tequila tasting made for a fun evening on the town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pastor Loci
Business
Eagan, Minnesota
Mar 2, 2012

Our Home In Mexico

We call the Holiday Inn Resort in San Jose del Cabo our "Home in Mexico." We've been going there for five years, and are already looking forward to the sixth. In terms of climate there is no more perfect place on earth, but our delight in the place goes beyond location. It's Raul, recognizing us and calling us by name at the front desk when we arrive. It's Carmen, giving us our morning hug at breakfast. It's Oscar, knowing what we want to drink at lunch as soon as we sit down. It's Catherine, bringing extra treats for our grandchildren. It's Ari, the embodiment of energy, leading bike tours and running recreation and emceeing the evening programs on the Esplanade...and singing a solo along the way. In short, it's the people. And the architecture that looks like Mexico should look...stucco, no building more than three stories, every room with an entry from outdoors, not a long walk down a hotel corridor. The pools for all ages. The food. My wife is on a gluten free diet, and never has trouble finding plenty to eat. The walks on the beach. The developing little town of San Jose. Truly, our Mexican home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The developing marina and dolphin attraction in San Jose are worth seeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tottenham Spur
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Feb 26, 2012

So-so Restaurants

First, be prepared at the airport for an onslaught of Timeshare and dubious cost claims. Ten minutes after clearing customs, we were presented with two exaggerations, three white lies, and two downright deceptions related to "saving money." One official-looking guy said we would save lots of money by purchasing his package of activities for $500. My advice is to head straight for ground transportation and don't make eye contact with any "representatives" until you see a taxi. Then tell the driver how much you are prepared to pay to get to your hotel. You will get that price ($20 for 3 people to get the 8 miles to the holiday Inn is a good price). The hotel was generally fine - wonderful pools, well-groomed grounds, and friendly, helpful staff. The bike ride was good and the Concierge very helpful (when you could find one on duty). The Internet was only intermittent but the real downside was the restaurant food. While breakfasts were fine, unless you pay extra for the shrimp or steak, you are likely to be disappointed with the food in the evenings. The outside buffet beats the restaurants (and you have to reserve your preferred time by getting in line early in the morning). No specialty coffees were available. Starbucks would make a killing at this hotel – even if it is “all inclusive.” And the wine ... let me put it this way: you will appreciate the quality of a $7 Australian Shiraz on your return like never before. Overall, the location, the room, and the staff make it worthwhile if you can live with the so-so food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a day in Los Cabos San Lucas. Go with the flow and bargain with the market people. Take a trip on a glass-bottom boat. It's vey inexpensive and all part of the experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top