$499 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km-298, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JxxIndyxx
Couples
Indiana
Dec 3, 2013

Most Incredible Rooms Ever

For a couple that is madly in love, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba is one of the most romantic resorts on earth. Make sure to get the option for the free daily brunch as the food is to die for. Also, when you get there, have your host increase the temperature of the pool immediately. La Copa is a good alternative to an expensive dinner and has more than just tapas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

La Copa is more than just tapas. It has some decent dinner selections that are cheaper than the other restaurants at the resort.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jasmine interior designer
Single
New York, NY
May 28, 2014

Excellent hotel, elegant and beautiful

This is a beautiful hotel with enormous villas. The villas were nicely designed, there are minor little maintenance and cleaniness issues (mildew at shower faucet handle). Service was excellent, prompt and attentive. We did a private yoga class which was not so great, room was dark and small, teacher was late. We complained and they waived the fee. We later learned we could have scheduled yoga on the beach which would have been great. The beach and pool attendants are excellent! Food was excellent as well. We went into town which was not as nice as the hotel. Overall a wonderful place for vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a taxi into town at Playa del Carmen. It was very touristic and not very nice. The hotel recommended a seafood restaurant which was okay, not great. Food was better at the hotel.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Scottsdale, Az
Jan 1, 2011

Fab Hotel

Great hotel. Mostly off the beach on the lagoons. A 15 to 20 min walk to the beach, or take the boat or shuttle. Very easy. Be sure to ask for western facing villa for afternoon sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago
Jan 24, 2010

couples retreat

From the very onset of stepping onto the property and being greeted by the staff the Banyan Tree exudes sensuality, beauty, peace and serenity. The attention to every detail for a couple to become revitalized is the prime goal of the Banyan Tree. I cannot wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indianapolis
Oct 29, 2009

Absolutely Amazing

I am not sure how to really get across just how amazing this hotel is.The service is beyond anything we have ever experienced at any hotel.Once we checked in we never had to worry about anything for the rest of the trip.The food was a little pricey but worth it.Our villa was beautiful as was the rest of the resort.There are too many reasons to list why this is the top rated hotel in Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2009

a great way to re-connect with your wife

My wife an i really enjoyed our stay. It was an amazing place, with friendly staff, excellent accomodations and unforgettable views. We will definetly be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

only a 20 min. drive to Playa where you can enjoy plenty of good restaurants and bars.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Nov 2, 2009

Fantastic

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at and I travel the world. The staff were equaly as good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Taking a cab into Playa del Carmen at night to eat and shop is super fun.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York City
Aug 13, 2009

Unbelievable service and luxury!

Fantastic hotel, great staff and very luxurious and private accomodations. Each villa has a private pool and you really dont even need to leave your "room".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

You have to try dinner at Safron!

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kchaudry
Couples
Ashburn, VA
Apr 10, 2011

Banyan Tree - April 2011

Outstanding and unmatched experience. The hotel layout is extremely rare. Most impressive, comvenient, and friendly check-in process. Lots of privacy and class. Service is prompt and very courtious. Loved the breakfast buffet and thai restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay in hotel

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 15, 2009

Romantic gateway

Bayan Tree is the best upscale luxury hotel we ever experienced. We awed and amazed over the exclusive, and tranquility it offered. This is perfect paradise hotel for the newlywed couple to stay because it offers total privacy. Its a 7 stars hotel indeed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top