$749 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

5 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km-298, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
64 reviews
Wonderful stay

We had a perfect 5 days at the Banyon Tree Mayacoba. The villas are private and luxurious, with... See full review

  • Flato traveller
  • Oct 4, 2014
Anniversary Trip

Booked a spa pool villa and could not have been more pleased with the privacy, cleanliness, and... See full review

  • Jimmy Supafly Snooka
  • Sep 3, 2014
Private pool villas highlight resort’s Caribbean luxury and romance
The Banyan Tree Mayakoba is located in a secluded, gated community and features private pool villas for every guest. For romance and relaxation on the Caribbean and in Mexico, the Banyan Tree's luxurious and intimate surroundings are unparalleled. The resort is carefully situated on an ecosystem of dunes, mangroves and freshwater lagoons. The Banyan Tree Mayakoba boasts first-class golfing and mangrove boat tours. There are eight restaurants, including Ixchel, a floating lagoon boat restaurant. Also try the 24 hour in-villa dining.
Highlights:
  • Private villas with pool
  • Kids club, babysitters (fees apply), high chairs and baby monitors
  • A floating lagoon boat restaurant and 24 hour in-villa dining
Rooms:

Expect stunning private villas with living area, swimming pool and lush greenery surroundings at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba. In suites, handcrafted Mayan furnishings combine with dark wood and Asian accents and glass window walls. Amenities include 42-inch flat-screen LCD TVs, iPod dockets, mini-stereo systems, walk-in closets, mini-bars and complimentary wireless Internet. Depending on the villa choice, enjoy outdoor heated jet pools or sunken baths, massage beds, pillow menus, loungers and steam rooms. The three-bedroom townhouse (2,755 square feet) and beachfront villa (5,511 square feet) is ideal for families or guests traveling with friends.

Features:

Guests have the opportunity to play a round (or a few!) at the PGA course, El Camaleón Golf Club. The course is the first Mexican golf course designed by Greg Norman. The resort's Rainforest spa provides a more laid-back vacation experience. Take in unique experiences such as the hydrothermal circuit, the Rain Walk or the Vitality Pool. The spa is for adults only. For children under 12, Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers a kids club that includes eco tours, video games, movies, board games and beach activities. Also available are baby cots, babysitters, buggies, radio monitors and high chairs.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (6 mi/9.9 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (42 mi/69 km)
  • Cancun (42 mi/69 km)
Business­
  • A 3,310-square-foot banquet hall can seat up to 200 people
  • Meeting rooms with the latest equipment and Wi-Fi and broadband Internet are available for 16 to 200 people
  • Business center, secretarial support and event planners available

Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya Rooms

Garden Pool Villa
Suitable for up to two guests, each of the forty-five naturally ventilated villas reflects the unique Mayan culture of Mayakoba. Living and dining areas, spacious bathroom and private landscaped garden. You can take in the sun from the comfort of your own outdoor bathtub or in your 35.5sq.m./380sq.ft. Private swimming pool or on a lounger on the outdoor terrace. No. of Villas: 45 villas, Floors: 1 floor, Floor Size: Total plot area:293sq.m./3,153.8sq.ft Services / Amenities: Swimming pool/Outdoor bathtub/King size bed/A/C/safety deposit box/hairdryer /LCD TV with on-command movies/Bathrobes/Pillow menu/slippers/Bathroom & pool/Kimono/Duvet/Sound equipment
Two Bedroom Sunset Lagoon Villa 5511 Sq.Ft
Covering a spacious floor area of 512 sqm (5,511 sq.ft)., each of our Two-Bedroom Villas are a haven of privacy and indulgence. This villa caters for up to four guests in a variety of settings, and redefines tranquil living with its extensive furnishings and verdant gardens. Each bedroom is served by a separate entrance, while still accessible to the landscaped garden and pool area. Two-Bedroom Sunset Lagoon Pool Villa is ideal for beach lovers as it offers close proximity to the beach.
Courtyard Pool Villa 3466 Sq.Ft
Along with its charming dcor, your Courtyard Pool Villa offers even more room in which to relax and recuperate from your busy lifestyle. Each of the villas is equipped with separate living pavilions, for use by up to two guests. With your own 41 sqm swimming pool and an adjacent outdoor jet-pool, you will have the option of spending languid afternoons soaking your cares away.
Two Bedroom Sunrise Lagoon Pool Villa
Covering a spacious floor area of 512 sqm (5,511 sq.ft)., each of our Two-Bedroom Villas are a haven of privacy and indulgence. This villa caters for up to four guests in a variety of settings, and redefines tranquil living with its extensive furnishings and verdant gardens. Each bedroom is served by a separate entrance, while still accessible to the landscaped garden and pool area. Two-Bedroom Sunrise Lagoon Pool Villa opens out on a calm lagoon, with convenient access to the main lobby and Saffron restaurant
Two Bedroom Pool Villa 5511 Sq.Ft
Covering a living area of 512sq.m./5,511sq.ft. Villas are the ultimate in exclusive indulgence. This villa can house up to four guests and is designed as a private sanctuary, with its exquisite furnishings and verdant gardens. Dive into your own 51sq.m./549sq.ft. azure pool or enjoy the golden glow of the sunset as you and your loved ones unwind with a soothing massage. For the perfect romantic dinner, delight in a private evening under the canopy of twinkling stars. No. of Villas: 5 Villas, Floors: 2 Floors Size: Total plot area:512sq.m./5,511sq.ft./Covered area:187sq.m./2,013sq.ft./Open area: 197sq.m./2,120.4sq.ft. Services / Amenities: Two Bedrooms/Swimming pool/Outdoor bathtub/Jacuzzi/One King size bed/Two double size beds/A/C/safety deposit box/hairdryer/LCD TV with on-command movies, one in each bedroom and one in the AC pavilion/Bathrobes/Pillow menu/ slippers: bathroom & pool/ Kimono/Duvets/Sound equipment.
Spa Pool Villa 3466 Sq.Ft
Split over two levels, totaling some 322sq.m./3,466sq.ft. Villas are designed to create the perfect romantic hideaway. Enjoy a sensuous spa treatment at your personal outdoor massage area and let our trained masseurs work their magic. An exclusive outdoor private area equipped with the massage beds, loungers and a dining area with birds-eye view of the idyllic surroundings of Mayakoba. No. of Villas: 8 Villas Floors:2 Floors Size: Total plot area: 322sq.m./3,466sq.ft./Covered area: 105sq.m./1,130.2sq.ft./ Open area: 170sq.m./1,830sq.ft. Services / Amenities: Swimming pool/Outdoor bathtub/Spa Treatment Bed (2)/Jacuzzi/King size bed/ A/C/safety deposit box/hairdryer/LCD TV with on-command movies, one in the bedroom and one in the AC pavilion/Bathrobes/ Pillow menu/slippers: bathroom & pool/Kimono/ Duvet/Sound equipment
Three Bedroom Townhouse 2755 Sq.Ft
Designed for families, friends and groups, the three-storey, three-bedroom townhouses provides a living area with balcony overlooking the golf course. With 256 m2 sqm (2,755.5 sq.ft. ) to roam, you can simply find the space to enjoy your favourite leisure.
Three Bedroom Beachfront Villa 5511 Sq.Ft
The luxurious Beach Front Three Bedroom Pool Villas are ideal for families. With separate bedrooms with living rooms, it is the perfect setting for intimate gathering whilst ensuring privacy and tranquility for all. Enjoy the private swimming pool or the magnificent courtyard. This villa can house up to 6 guests. No. of Villas: 7 Villas Floors: 2 Floors Size: Total plot area: 512sq.m./5,511sq.ft./Covered area: 239sq.m./2572.5sq.ft./ Open area:200sq.m./2152.7sq.ft. Services / Amenities: Three Bedrooms/Swimming pool/Outdoor bathtub/Jacuzzi/Two Bedrooms with King size bed/One bedroom with two double beds/A/C/safety deposit box/ hairdryer/LCD TV with on-command movies, one in each bedroom and one in the AC pavilion/Bathrobes/Pillow menu/slippers: bathroom & pool/Kimono/Duvets/ Sound equipment

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

In Villa Dining BBQ
We do not provide just dinner, but a delightful moment in the privacy of your villa with your personal server perfectly cooking with the right flavors. During our visit we focus to please you by fulfilling your requests with the best ambiance and service. Mexican BBQ, Thai BBQ and Mediterranean BBQ
La Cava
Our air-conditioned private dining wine cellar is available for parties of up to 12 guests. Please contact us for your special dinner event. Open on request and based on availability.
Tamarind
Set in the tranquil surroundings of the Banyan Tree Spa, dining at Tamarind is an experience not to be missed. Fresh ingredients, organic products, exotic herbs, roots, spices and aromatic salts create the distinctive flavors of Tamarinds Eclectic Cuisine. Dress code: Casual Elegance Tamarind is reserved for adults only At Tamarind, our non smoking policy applies Dinner: 6:00pm to 11:00pm (Last food order 10:30pm) Capacity: 28
Reflections Pool Bar
The ideal chill-out place for sun lovers, the Reflections Pool Bar located nearby the lobby, serving tasty snacks, cool drinks and tropical cocktails for the classic poolside experience. Open: 10:00am to 6:30pm Last order: 6:00pm
Oriente
With a beautiful view overlooking the elegant Reflections Pool, enjoy our sumptuous international breakfast buffet each morning, or our modern Mexican cuisine in the evening. Dress code: Casual Elegance At Oriente, our non smoking policy applies Breakfast: 7:00am to Noon Dinner: 6:00pm to 11:00pm (Last food order 10:30pm) Capacity: 120
Safron
Banyan Tree's signature restaurant serves contemporary Thai cuisine. Overlooking the lagoon and the mangroves, the restaurant's three pavilions provide an intimate romantic setting. Dishes featured on our menu are served family style and prepared with a modern approach, while still preserving traditional Thai cooking techniques. Dress code: Casual Elegance At Saffron, non smoking policy applies one deck allows. Dinner: 6:00pm to 11:00pm (Last food order 10:30pm) Capacity: 60
Sands
Set at the Mayakoba Beach, alongside the beautiful Caribbean Sea, this perfect spot offers an a la carte breakfast, cool drinks, light snacks and fresh seafood for lunch. After the sun sets, enjoy the gentle caress of the ocean breeze while sipping your favorite cocktail and sampling the freshest and finest catches of the day and fine cuts. At Sands, our non smoking policy applies Lunch: Noon to 5:00pm Dinner: 7:00pm to 11:00pm (Last food order 10:00pm)* Capacity: 60 *Opening details might change due to weather conditions.
La Copa
Care for some Tequila, Mojito or simply a glass of Champagne and some tapas before dinner? Relax and enjoy the sunset while you sip your favorite cocktail. After dinner La copa is the perfect place to unwind and offers the best setting for star gazing while you linger over a coffee, cognac and cigar. Opens: 11:00am to 1:00am
In- Villa Dining
While enjoying your stay at one of our stunning villas with very own garden and pool, In-Villa dining is a romantic experience not to be missed. Whether it's an exquisite private breakfast or a mouthwatering outdoor barbeque, our outstanding In-Villa dining team will attend to all of your culinary requirements. 24 Hour service

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
*Meeting Space: Theme Meetings, Theme Breaks, Wedding and Cocktail Functions available THE MAYAPAN Ballroom for 200 people, Size: 66.60 x 49.70 feet (Area: 3,310.44 sq. ft.) THE SAYIL room for 60 people, Size: 52.65 x 25.75 feet (Area: 1,356.14 sq. ft.) THE LABNA AND AND KABAH, each of them for 20 people, - Labna Room, Size: 24.11 x 19.52 feet (Area: 470.70 sq. ft.) - Kabah Room, Size: 24.93 x 19.52 feet (Area: 486.74 sq. ft.)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple of Globetrotters
Clarksburg, MD
Feb 27, 2013

Best experience ever!

This hotel was a perfect place to celebrate our anniversary! The villas are beautiful and very romantic, the service was better than expected, and the food was delicious. I also highly recommend the Spa, my package included a free 60 minute massage and it was fantastic. The massage was great, but the ambience of the treatment rooms and the service from the attendant and lobby staff made the experience one I won't forget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2009

a great way to re-connect with your wife

My wife an i really enjoyed our stay. It was an amazing place, with friendly staff, excellent accomodations and unforgettable views. We will definetly be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

only a 20 min. drive to Playa where you can enjoy plenty of good restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Oct 29, 2009

Absolutely Amazing

I am not sure how to really get across just how amazing this hotel is.The service is beyond anything we have ever experienced at any hotel.Once we checked in we never had to worry about anything for the rest of the trip.The food was a little pricey but worth it.Our villa was beautiful as was the rest of the resort.There are too many reasons to list why this is the top rated hotel in Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frederick, MD
Oct 24, 2009

Simply heaven!

From the welcoming drink and cool facial towels, our experience was delightful. The staff is efficient and friendly without being obsequious. Banyan Tree is a Thai hotel chain and it shows from the elegant lines of the complex to the spa treatments by master thai masseuses.Room which are actually villas are very large(3100+ sq ft.) and include a private infinity pool, both shaded and unshaded lounge areas as well as an outdoor table and chairs. A beautiful and private garden borders the villa. The bedroom has 20 ft ceilings and adjacent to a large bathroom area is a private outdoor soaking tub bordered by a wall with recessed candles. At night, when you return, the staff has turned down the bed and an aroma therapy infuser has been lit, providing a subtle but marvelous scent in the air.Bicycles are provided on request to move around the complex which is quite large. Unless you have a beachfront villa, the beach is 10 min bike trip through a mangrove preserve, 20 min walk or 30 min water taxi ride (the rest of the resort is on a lagoon).The beach area itself has a strip of sugar white sand and you can walk for several miles in both directions. At the beach is a pool, restaurant and as always, very capable service (they put towels down on your chairs without asking, give you bottled water and come by occasionally with "treats" such as watermelon sherbet).We had the breakfast buffet daily (included in our package) which was unlike anything I had ever seen. Anything you could want was included from fresh papaya to chocolate croissants to sushi! They have several restaurants for dinner. We dined in the Tamarind which is billed as International/Meditteranean cuisine. I happened to have the Mayan tasting menu which was unusual but delicious. However, count on dinner to be an expensive outing. We spent $160 US and we only ordered one glass of wine a piece! We had a car and went to Playa del Carmen for dinner the other nights.Excellent meals can be had for $40 to 70 a couple including tip.Massages are truly to die for. The "basic" Thai massage is 90 minutes and includes a foot bath, head to toe massage and refreshing tea and fruit at the end. They have a wide variety of spa treatments including a 3 hour Ayurvedic massage.The other facility we made use of was the golf course, El Camaleon. It is an 18 hole championship course that winds around the Mayakoba complex (including the Fairmont and Rosewood hotels) with stunning views of the ocean, lagoons and mangrove forests. Wildlife abounds. The course hosted a PGA tour event this past spring. Fairways are beautifully manicured and the greens are moderate in size and speed. As you would expect, it's pricey $250 but if you play in the afternoon (as we did), prices drop considerably. The course layout itself is fair and challenging but reasonable for a resort course.All in all it was a terrific trip and we were sad to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you don't want to spend alot for dinner, go to Playa del Carmen. There are many good restaurants there for anyone's tastes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ponte Vedra Fl
Oct 11, 2009

Fabulous for Couples

This is truly a 5 star hotel-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJMOM1300
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 29, 2009

Tranquil and Quiet

Outstanding Service and beautiful hotel. It was almost too peaceful and quiet for us. Hotel and staff were wonderful and knew you by name. However, if you are looking for any nightlife at all, then this isn't the place for you. If you want total relaxation and quiet while being pampered, then this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teela t.
Business
Jonesboro, Ga.
Sep 22, 2009

Wow!!!

Words cannot describe how incredibly luxurious and beautiful this place is! The service surpasses anything I have ever encountered. Everything about the accomodations, surroundings,food and the people far exceeded my expectations (which were pretty high going in, based on the reviews I had read). I've been to many wonderful resorts throughout the years but this one truly stands alone. I'll be going back as soon as my wallet can stand the strain!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Be sure to take the free boat tour offered each Tuesday and Thursday. The wildlife we saw was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 15, 2009

Romantic gateway

Bayan Tree is the best upscale luxury hotel we ever experienced. We awed and amazed over the exclusive, and tranquility it offered. This is perfect paradise hotel for the newlywed couple to stay because it offers total privacy. Its a 7 stars hotel indeed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Sep 5, 2009

I would go back in a heartbeat!

You won't regret this, absolutely beautiful. The attention to details & level of service was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Aug 13, 2009

Unbelievable service and luxury!

Fantastic hotel, great staff and very luxurious and private accomodations. Each villa has a private pool and you really dont even need to leave your "room".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You have to try dinner at Safron!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY NY
Aug 13, 2009

Mexico Vaca

The hotel is amazing. The grounds are immaculate, the hostess very attentive, and the villas are ridiculous- you can literally roll out of bed in to your private pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

has great restaurants on the property

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top