$499 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km-298, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
washdcgetaway
washington dc
Feb 19, 2013

amazing

do not worry about some recent reviews. had an excellent stay at the townhouse. Service was phenomenal. Townhouse was a lot of fun and the resort and food were fabulous. highly recommend! and even with a wedding there and the resort totally booked, we did not feel that it was busy, overcrowded or that we were overlooked in any way. definitely go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2009

a great way to re-connect with your wife

My wife an i really enjoyed our stay. It was an amazing place, with friendly staff, excellent accomodations and unforgettable views. We will definetly be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

only a 20 min. drive to Playa where you can enjoy plenty of good restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Oct 29, 2009

Absolutely Amazing

I am not sure how to really get across just how amazing this hotel is.The service is beyond anything we have ever experienced at any hotel.Once we checked in we never had to worry about anything for the rest of the trip.The food was a little pricey but worth it.Our villa was beautiful as was the rest of the resort.There are too many reasons to list why this is the top rated hotel in Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frederick, MD
Oct 24, 2009

Simply heaven!

From the welcoming drink and cool facial towels, our experience was delightful. The staff is efficient and friendly without being obsequious. Banyan Tree is a Thai hotel chain and it shows from the elegant lines of the complex to the spa treatments by master thai masseuses.Room which are actually villas are very large(3100+ sq ft.) and include a private infinity pool, both shaded and unshaded lounge areas as well as an outdoor table and chairs. A beautiful and private garden borders the villa. The bedroom has 20 ft ceilings and adjacent to a large bathroom area is a private outdoor soaking tub bordered by a wall with recessed candles. At night, when you return, the staff has turned down the bed and an aroma therapy infuser has been lit, providing a subtle but marvelous scent in the air.Bicycles are provided on request to move around the complex which is quite large. Unless you have a beachfront villa, the beach is 10 min bike trip through a mangrove preserve, 20 min walk or 30 min water taxi ride (the rest of the resort is on a lagoon).The beach area itself has a strip of sugar white sand and you can walk for several miles in both directions. At the beach is a pool, restaurant and as always, very capable service (they put towels down on your chairs without asking, give you bottled water and come by occasionally with "treats" such as watermelon sherbet).We had the breakfast buffet daily (included in our package) which was unlike anything I had ever seen. Anything you could want was included from fresh papaya to chocolate croissants to sushi! They have several restaurants for dinner. We dined in the Tamarind which is billed as International/Meditteranean cuisine. I happened to have the Mayan tasting menu which was unusual but delicious. However, count on dinner to be an expensive outing. We spent $160 US and we only ordered one glass of wine a piece! We had a car and went to Playa del Carmen for dinner the other nights.Excellent meals can be had for $40 to 70 a couple including tip.Massages are truly to die for. The "basic" Thai massage is 90 minutes and includes a foot bath, head to toe massage and refreshing tea and fruit at the end. They have a wide variety of spa treatments including a 3 hour Ayurvedic massage.The other facility we made use of was the golf course, El Camaleon. It is an 18 hole championship course that winds around the Mayakoba complex (including the Fairmont and Rosewood hotels) with stunning views of the ocean, lagoons and mangrove forests. Wildlife abounds. The course hosted a PGA tour event this past spring. Fairways are beautifully manicured and the greens are moderate in size and speed. As you would expect, it's pricey $250 but if you play in the afternoon (as we did), prices drop considerably. The course layout itself is fair and challenging but reasonable for a resort course.All in all it was a terrific trip and we were sad to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you don't want to spend alot for dinner, go to Playa del Carmen. There are many good restaurants there for anyone's tastes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ponte Vedra Fl
Oct 11, 2009

Fabulous for Couples

This is truly a 5 star hotel-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJMOM1300
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 29, 2009

Tranquil and Quiet

Outstanding Service and beautiful hotel. It was almost too peaceful and quiet for us. Hotel and staff were wonderful and knew you by name. However, if you are looking for any nightlife at all, then this isn't the place for you. If you want total relaxation and quiet while being pampered, then this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teela t.
Business
Jonesboro, Ga.
Sep 22, 2009

Wow!!!

Words cannot describe how incredibly luxurious and beautiful this place is! The service surpasses anything I have ever encountered. Everything about the accomodations, surroundings,food and the people far exceeded my expectations (which were pretty high going in, based on the reviews I had read). I've been to many wonderful resorts throughout the years but this one truly stands alone. I'll be going back as soon as my wallet can stand the strain!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Be sure to take the free boat tour offered each Tuesday and Thursday. The wildlife we saw was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 15, 2009

Romantic gateway

Bayan Tree is the best upscale luxury hotel we ever experienced. We awed and amazed over the exclusive, and tranquility it offered. This is perfect paradise hotel for the newlywed couple to stay because it offers total privacy. Its a 7 stars hotel indeed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Sep 5, 2009

I would go back in a heartbeat!

You won't regret this, absolutely beautiful. The attention to details & level of service was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Aug 13, 2009

Unbelievable service and luxury!

Fantastic hotel, great staff and very luxurious and private accomodations. Each villa has a private pool and you really dont even need to leave your "room".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You have to try dinner at Safron!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY NY
Aug 13, 2009

Mexico Vaca

The hotel is amazing. The grounds are immaculate, the hostess very attentive, and the villas are ridiculous- you can literally roll out of bed in to your private pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

has great restaurants on the property

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top