$449 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km-298, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple of Globetrotters
Clarksburg, MD
Feb 27, 2013

Best experience ever!

This hotel was a perfect place to celebrate our anniversary! The villas are beautiful and very romantic, the service was better than expected, and the food was delicious. I also highly recommend the Spa, my package included a free 60 minute massage and it was fantastic. The massage was great, but the ambience of the treatment rooms and the service from the attendant and lobby staff made the experience one I won't forget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 28, 2010

Very private and relaxing escape.

This was a fantastic experience, from beginning to end. The staff was friendly and courteous but not intrusive. The room was large, comfortable and private with our own pool. The bikes were great for getting around and the beach very private as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
london England
Apr 5, 2010

good place to relax best ervice

not many activity for children. Quality of food is not grate due to fish and other ingrediance not being very fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R&T Blow
Business
Calgary, Canada
Feb 22, 2010

Amazing Romantic Honeymoon Hideaway

The Banyan Tree exceeded our high expectations. The pictures on the website do not do the actual resort justice. We did'nt want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent bikes for your entire stay, they are only $5 per day and are very handy for exporing the resort.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Feb 22, 2010

Banyan Tree - you want to go to there.

the setting is beautiful. and the staff really wants you to enjoy yourself. our private villa (which was standard) is like having your own home with a pool. and plenty of room. we loved riding bikes to the beach. breakfast was amazing. coming from nyc it was absolute immediate relaxation which was exactly what we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 24, 2010

couples retreat

From the very onset of stepping onto the property and being greeted by the staff the Banyan Tree exudes sensuality, beauty, peace and serenity. The attention to every detail for a couple to become revitalized is the prime goal of the Banyan Tree. I cannot wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unhealed Mets Fan
Business
New York, NY
Jan 5, 2010

Service - 5 stars; Facilities 3+ stars

This is a brand new resort and it's experiencing growing pains. The staff is incredible but there are limits to what they can do. It may be that this is their first North American resort, but they could learn a lot from some of their established competition. It's almost like the resort is in "beta mode". I think that once enough full rate travelers review the hotel, the ratings will come down...there's a big difference in what you expect for $300 a night and $1,000 a night. Unfortunately, they are only delivering value somewhere in between right now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat a few meals in Playa del Carmen. It's a short cab ride, and besides being a fraction of the price, it's also a break from lounging at the hotel (which grows boring after a while).

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 13, 2009

Amazing Resort!

This is the best resort we have ever stayed at. The service is superb, the staff is there for your every need and they were so friendly and courteous. The villas are amazing. The spa experience was outstanding, the balinese massage and rainforest experience were amazing. Truly a five star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure to make a reservation for the boat tour at the hotel. It is on Tuesdays and Thursdays and you get to see alot of wildlife. We even saw a crocodile!

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Nov 10, 2009

Great but not perfect

This is a great resort, and we booked it at a great value. It is supposed to be a five star hotel, but it does not quite match up with my gold standard, the Four Seasons. The service was inconsistent and there are tons of mosquitos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 2, 2009

Fantastic

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at and I travel the world. The staff were equaly as good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Taking a cab into Playa del Carmen at night to eat and shop is super fun.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2009

a great way to re-connect with your wife

My wife an i really enjoyed our stay. It was an amazing place, with friendly staff, excellent accomodations and unforgettable views. We will definetly be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

only a 20 min. drive to Playa where you can enjoy plenty of good restaurants and bars.

Back to menu Return to top