$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km-298, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JxxIndyxx
Indiana
Dec 3, 2013

Most Incredible Rooms Ever

For a couple that is madly in love, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba is one of the most romantic resorts on earth. Make sure to get the option for the free daily brunch as the food is to die for. Also, when you get there, have your host increase the temperature of the pool immediately. La Copa is a good alternative to an expensive dinner and has more than just tapas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

La Copa is more than just tapas. It has some decent dinner selections that are cheaper than the other restaurants at the resort.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gus T.
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 29, 2011

Relaxing

If you're looking for some down time, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hagope
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 11, 2011

Top notch service, beautiful resort

We stayed in the garden pool villa. The pool was larger than we had expected and the outdoor bathtub was also very large... We booked through [...]at a decent rate.The service was phenomenal, the best I've ever seen. I've read bad reviews about the food, but in my experience it was really excellent, especially the complimentary morning buffet which included omlettes, fish, quesadillas, tons of different breads and pastries as well as tasty mexican coffee.This resort was quiet and private, perfect for our honeymoon, however, I would definitely bring a family here...my only complaint is that we came during rainy season (we were lucky with weather though) and there were mosquitos in the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent a car rather than signing up for a tour to see local attractions, its much cheapter...

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Schteve
Business
Austin, TX
May 25, 2011

A perfect level of service

My stay at the Banyan Tree Mayokaba got off to a bit of a rocky start. I had reserved a Courtyard Villa [...]. When we arrived we were greeted with a refreshing drink and some cool towels, always a nice touch. After about 10 minutes we were taken to our room. When we arrived at the room I was disappointed to see that the room was at Garden Villa, which was a smaller room and at a lower level than what I had reserved. When I raised this to the resort hostess showing us our room she asked if I had documentation from my reservation. I didn't, but was able to look it up on my phone and provide the necessary information. She called the front desk and they looked it up and said that they had not received information about the change in the room category. There wasn't a change in the room category, but I didn't argue with them because they said that they would make the change. Unfortunately, no room was immediately available but we were hungry and asked to go to the beach restaurant while we waited for the room to become ready. (In defense of the hotel we had arrived early and were checking in before the scheduled check-in time.) Once at the beach club restaurant things really started to go in the right direction. The level of service from the wait staff was perfect. There is never a rush for anything and needs were often anticipated. After finishing our meal the chef came out to greet us and offered us a tasting of their ceveche. Everything was delicious. Once our meal was finished arrangements were made to transport us back to the front desk to go to our room. At the front desk a hotel manager came out and apologized for the confusion and we were informed that we were being upgraded to a spa villa. It was a nice gesture and certainly made up for any inconvenience. For the next three days I did not leave the resort grounds at all. I am not a resort type vacationer at all, I usually don't enjoy sitting around and doing nothing, but the pull of the resort was strong and I did not feel compelled to leave. Days were spent lounging on the wonderful bed-like chairs at the beach, swimming in our villa's private pool, and just generally relaxing. My wife commented that the staff at the hotel and in the restaurants moved slowly and deliberately, it was a physical reminder to slow down and enjoy a beautiful break from the real world. The rooms were extremely spacious and inviting. The beds were comfortable and clean. The pillow menu is also a nice touch that ensures comfortable sleeping. The bathrooms were out of this world including huge outdoor bathtubs and steam showers. The evening turndown service could really spoil a person if they stayed at the resort for too long. The day I left the Banyan Tree Mayokaba I was actually sad that my vacation was over. Usually, I am ready to get back to the real world, but not this time. I would have gladly extended my vacation if the opportunity would have presented itself. The next day, when I was back at work I spent 30 minutes starting to plan my next vacation to the Banyan Tree Mayokaba.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a reservation early in the day or the day before to get one of the end tables at Saffron, the views over the water at night are unbeatable.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 22, 2011

Perfect relaxing beach escape

Having traveled to Mexico many times, this was by far the most relaxing, luxury experience I've ever had. The hotel was fantastic. It featured simple, Asian inspired design that fit the location beautifully. Each room is actually a private villa with several outdoor seating areas and a private pool. It would have been easy to never leave the villa! The room was beautiful with a large bed, all the amenities, a walk in closet, large bathroom, and outdoor bathtub. It was perfect. The spa is terrific, with unique global inspired treatments. The hotel has four restaurants and we ate at three of them. They were all great. The highlight of the stay was probably the customer service. Everyone we saw was friendly and helpful. It made for an easy, relaxing trip. Another perk of the hotel is that it strives to be environmentally friendly. Because of this, the majority of the hotel is actually built behind a mangrove forest, away from the beach. In order to get to the beach you have to take a golf cart or boat ride. Although it was a little farther to the beach, we never had to wait long for a golf cart ride, and the wildlife that populates the mangrove forest adds to the charm of the property. The hotel is about a 15 minute/$20 cab ride to the main drag in Playa del Carmen, 5th Avenue, so it was easy to get out and explore a little bit too. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again and would like to visit the other Banyan Tree Hotels around the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

On certain days of the week, the hotel offers a free eco-tour boat ride. We saw a great variety of birds and animals. It was relaxing and a fun way to see the surrounding area.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kchaudry
Business
Ashburn, VA
Apr 10, 2011

Banyan Tree - April 2011

Outstanding and unmatched experience. The hotel layout is extremely rare. Most impressive, comvenient, and friendly check-in process. Lots of privacy and class. Service is prompt and very courtious. Loved the breakfast buffet and thai restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay in hotel

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Or
Mar 14, 2011

Simply Amazing

The resort looks simply amazing. The architecture and interior design are the most beautiful we have ever seen. Our garden pool villa was situated conventiently close to the main restaurants and minutes away from pools and the pristine beach. The staff went out of their way to make our experience the best possible. Our experience was well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out la bodeguita del medio in Playa del carmen. Every cab driver will know it, as it's a place where a lot of locals go. Cuban inspired food for cheap, good tequila and life music to dance Salsa til the early hours of the morning. Everything you expect from Mexico in an authentic way.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Or
Mar 14, 2011

Simply Amazing

The resort looks simply amazing. The architecture and interior design are the most beautiful we have ever seen. Our garden pool villa was situated conventiently close to the main restaurants and minutes away from pools and the pristine beach. The staff went out of their way to make our experience the best possible. Our experience was well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out la bodeguita del medio in Playa del carmen. Every cab driver will know it, as it's a place where a lot of locals go. Cuban inspired food for cheap, good tequila and life music to dance Salsa til the early hours of the morning. Everything you expect from Mexico in an authentic way.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicole the travel girl
Business
NYC, NY
Mar 7, 2011

Amazing luxury

Wonderful, relaxing, luxurious hotel. The villas were beautifully appointed and super private. We enjoyed our stay so much. My ONLY criticism is that the gym/workout facilities is very small and often too crowded. Otherwise an amazing place with great, helpful staff! We can't wait to plan our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Went into Playa Del Carmen for dinner and nightlife - where we found lively, affordable dining and shopping options.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 13, 2011

Peaceful zen vacation

beautiful property. Fantastic service. Perfect peaceful getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, Az
Jan 1, 2011

Fab Hotel

Great hotel. Mostly off the beach on the lagoons. A 15 to 20 min walk to the beach, or take the boat or shuttle. Very easy. Be sure to ask for western facing villa for afternoon sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top