$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km-298, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JxxIndyxx
Indiana
Dec 3, 2013

Most Incredible Rooms Ever

For a couple that is madly in love, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba is one of the most romantic resorts on earth. Make sure to get the option for the free daily brunch as the food is to die for. Also, when you get there, have your host increase the temperature of the pool immediately. La Copa is a good alternative to an expensive dinner and has more than just tapas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

La Copa is more than just tapas. It has some decent dinner selections that are cheaper than the other restaurants at the resort.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hanswife
Business
Iowa,ia
Dec 24, 2012

Everything is good except the foods are way expensive.

We pay almost more than 100 dollars everytime we eat. ( just for two people) The price of massage is way expensive too. Its almost 200 for 60mins massage. Everything is toooo expensive. O

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luxury Finder
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Nov 10, 2012

Amazing Couple Getaway

This was our 2nd trip back to the Banyan Tree Mayakoba. This hotel is absolutely spectacular. The decor is spa like simplicity with beautiful Mexican touches throughout with vast views and structures. The staff is amazing; thinking of every need and then some. This is a luxury hotel and more. The food is delicious especially at Saffron and Tamarind for dinner. They outdo themselves at the Oriente for breakfast. Loved having lunch at the Reflection Pool. Efren makes the best Cucumber Daiquiri and Spa Cocktail!!!!!! Wait til you see how amazing the villas are.... If I had to make one suggestion for the Banyan Hotel it would be to heat the pools; very chilly but otherwise this hotel is unbelievable and we will definitely be back again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vulcaninser
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 4, 2012

Amazing Hotel, Amazing Staff..Best hotel experience ever

This place is amazing. The staff are so friendly and so thoughtful. It's almost like they are mind readers. You barely have to think it and they've already done what you need. The resort is beautiful and a great place to relax. I would highly recommend this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel-ha is an amazing water park about 40 mins away. It's an all inclusive, all day fun event, worth doing.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigdoc
Business
Scarsdale, NY
Mar 9, 2012

Best resort ever!

The Banyan tree is filled with understated elegance with an asian flair, impeccable service and a perfect setting for a vacation. The rooms are all villas/townhouses, which makes even the most occupied days seem low key and comfortable. Rather than the "big building hotels" where you are surrounded by people, fight for space at the beach or pool, you never feel the crowd or pressure. Food is expensive, but great. Staff is amazing. Anything you want, just dial 0 on the phone. Would go back in a heartbeat. Private pools on the roofs are not heated, but fun, and the lagoon boat ride to the beach is not to be missed. The gallery on the website does not do it justice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to sands for dinner. Best value and the BBQ is AMAZING.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lovevacations
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Amazing!

We highly recomment to do the rainforest treatment. It's real relaxation in an incredible environment! The ecotour inside the laguna is free and it's impressive.. your own villa surrounded by nature and full privacy, relaxation, impressive breakfast buffet, amazing food, scenery and service.. we will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC Jetset
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Beautiful resort with amazing service

Beautiful landscape, amazing rooms, lovely grounds, and, most importantly, truly stellar service. HIghly recommend. One point to mention is that to access the beach / beach club, one needs to either (a) take a 10-minute boat ride, boat arrives every 30 mins; (b) take a short buggy ride, called at conveninece; (c) rent a bike for $5/day; or (d) walk for about a mile. The boat trip / buggy ride are pleasurable - but the beach is definitely not at your feet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
laur1234gr
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Love Banyan Tree Mayakoba

The villas were gorgeous. I highly recommend utilizing the outdoor bath tub. The private pool and patio area were great for relaxing but the common areas are wonderful too. The staff was super friendly, anticipated my needs and worked hard to make my stay enjoyable. The drinks at the pool and beach were outstanding. I highly recommend the mayakoba margarita and the passionate margarita. The spa was a 10. its very expensive but totally worth it. The massage therapists are highly trained and the part where she crawled on my back was awesome. The only downside is that the food, especially the dinners is very expensive. It's good but i would prefer to not eat super fancy dinners when i am on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kw123456789
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Great trip

The service and room were great. Room were spacious and clean. The spa was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It's NYC prices. It's not terribly expensive.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
audreysev
Business
NJ
Nov 27, 2011

is there more luxuous than a Banyan Tree hotel?

Imagine the most luxuous rooms, all with private pools, open sky bathtub, tasteful decoration Imagine a staff whose efficiency is as good as their kindness Imagine nice restaurants (actually 2 of them, for instance) with very fine cuisine Imagine a very luxuous yet natural/green environment You have all of that at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba (Playa Del Carmen). Only 1 advice : this destination is better for couples, not really for families as there are no sport/fun activities for kids. But how could we not love that place ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
solepimp
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Nice Hotel

Nice hotel, we enjoyed our stay. Main pool was a bit boring. Beach pool is nice but small. Boat ride around the lagoon is a must. If you are arriving in the late afternoon make a dinner reservation or you will end up eating room service because all the other in hotel dinning options book up fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is on a very large property and if you end up in a room far from the lobby, you will need to wait for a golf cart ride which can take 10 to 20 minutes when they are busy.

Back to menu Return to top