$499 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km-298, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple of Globetrotters
Couples
Clarksburg, MD
Feb 27, 2013

Best experience ever!

This hotel was a perfect place to celebrate our anniversary! The villas are beautiful and very romantic, the service was better than expected, and the food was delicious. I also highly recommend the Spa, my package included a free 60 minute massage and it was fantastic. The massage was great, but the ambience of the treatment rooms and the service from the attendant and lobby staff made the experience one I won't forget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heidi from WI
Couples
Hudson, WI
Feb 20, 2014

Romantic couples retreat

This was the most fabulous vacation my husband and I have ever been on! The service was out of this world, the villas were breathtaking and the spa...best spa that I've ever been to! We will definitely make this an annual vacation away from the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
poiuytt
Couples
brooklyn
Jan 14, 2014

honeymoon destination

Great frpm the arrival until we left had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimasabi
Friends
San Francisco, California
Dec 3, 2013

Not Meet All Expectation

I expected impeccable service for a Banyan Tree resort - 5+ star rated hotel. However, the 4 nights we stayed, we only had 2 nights of turn down service. The Spa was fantastic and definitely an experience not to be missed. The facilities at the gym and everywhere else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sands has the best fish tacos! Saffron is raved about but I think the thai food there is just like any thai food you get in California.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JxxIndyxx
Couples
Indiana
Dec 3, 2013

Most Incredible Rooms Ever

For a couple that is madly in love, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba is one of the most romantic resorts on earth. Make sure to get the option for the free daily brunch as the food is to die for. Also, when you get there, have your host increase the temperature of the pool immediately. La Copa is a good alternative to an expensive dinner and has more than just tapas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

La Copa is more than just tapas. It has some decent dinner selections that are cheaper than the other restaurants at the resort.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCB555
Family
Buffalo, NY
Apr 7, 2013

Beautiful resort, but hard to get around with kids

The Banyan Tree is gorgeous, well located, well cared for. But the resort is so huge and spread out, you end up constantly waiting 5-15 minutes for a shuttle to breakfast, to the beach, or back to your room. Walking is possible from some villas, but not to the beach from the main part of the resort. If we had not had our 6-year old along we could have rented the (adult-sized) bikes, and all would have been well, but as it was we felt fairly hassled from the constant waiting. Only two tennis courts available, and make sure they nail down the reservation details. Racquets & balls (& water!) should be borrowed from the front desk, not at the pro shop. The townhouses are the only good value, and work well for families. The private pool was not heated, but was a great temperature. Wished we had stopped at a store on the way in and brought snacks & drinks so we didn't have to use the minibar. Napkins also would have been handy as there were none!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Saffron restaurant, although expensive, was worth every penny. Delicious food, very special atmosphere.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
washdcgetaway
Family
washington dc
Feb 19, 2013

amazing

do not worry about some recent reviews. had an excellent stay at the townhouse. Service was phenomenal. Townhouse was a lot of fun and the resort and food were fabulous. highly recommend! and even with a wedding there and the resort totally booked, we did not feel that it was busy, overcrowded or that we were overlooked in any way. definitely go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Urbanite used to pricy
Family
New York, ny
Jan 7, 2013

Nothing Special

Our vacation was fine, but nothing special. The amenities were average at best for a beach resort and the food presented a real problem. No where in the resort could I just buy a snack. There was no convenience shop and,all the restaurants were absurdly expensive. This was especially a problem with kids. Do you really want to spend $35-$50 for lunch for a,14 year old?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brendabender14
Family
Mexico City
Jan 7, 2013

Something for everyone

The Banyan Mayakoba is perfect for families with diverse interests, as there is something for everyone. The service far exceeded our expectations, and the activities functioned perfectly. We are already thinking about when we can return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Diablito Cha Cha Cha

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nat co
Couples
Brooklyn ny
Jan 1, 2013

Very relaxing

Great service,nice people. Food was so so. Rooms are very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top