$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Windward Passage Hotel

3 stars
Veteran's Drive, PO Box 640, St Thomas, 00802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
50 reviews
paradise

My hotel stay was awesome the bed was soft and relaxing the rooms is very clean the hotel service... See full review

  • joyccediva
  • Jun 16, 2014
I enjoyed it, immensely.

This hotel was perfect for what I wanted. Not luxurious, but perfect for a place to stay close to... See full review

  • BShined
  • Jan 24, 2014
Full-service waterfront spot overlooking Charlotte Amalie on St. Thomas
Guests who love being in the middle of all the action will find the Windward Passage Hotel ideal. Located on a hillside overlooking the picturesque town of Charlotte Amalie, this hotel is within walking distance to inter-island ferries, shops, restaurants and a variety of nightlife. A full service dive center is located within the hotel and staff can make arrangements for scuba instruction and dive trips.
Highlights
  • Freshwater swimming pool
  • Complimentary shuttle to Magen's Bay Beach
  • Walking distance to shopping, dining
  • On-site dive center
Rooms
Every one of the Windward Passage Hotel's 150 air-conditioned rooms and junior suites has a private balcony and a view of either the surrounding hillsides or the harbor. The traditional décor, highlighted by rich gold and blue fabrics, features sturdy wooden headboards and new luxury bedding. Free Wi-FI is available in all guest rooms, along with a coffee maker and cable TV with video games. Standard amenities such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, pay-per-view movies also are included. A microwave oven is available upon request.
Features
The Windward Passage Hotel is one of the few hotels on St. Thomas where guests do not need a rental car. Within walking distance of the hotel, guests find duty-free shopping, white sand beaches, snorkeling and other water sports, fishing and even a terminal from which helicopter and sea plane tours depart. The Windward Restaurant serves classic West Indian cuisine and continental cuisine where guests dine inside or outside under the stars.
Transportation
  • Cyril E. King Airport (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
Attractions
  • Fort Christian (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Emancipation Garden (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • 99 Steps (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Blackbeard's Castle (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Havensight Mall (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • St. Peter Great House Estate & Gardens (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

Business
  • Three meeting rooms accommodate up to 350 people for business events
  • Use of standard meeting equipment such as tables, chairs, podium, flip chart, easel and microphone is complimentary
  • Additional equipment such as audio/visual gear provided for a fee
  • Full catering also available
Policies and fees
Pets are not allowed. Non-smoking property. Fitness facilities available for guests. Internet access in public areas is complimentary.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Windward Passage Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Windward Passage Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
Room offers two full sized beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, CD player, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, microwave oven ( upon request), modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view-movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail.
Harbor View Double
Room offers two full sized beds with Harbor View, air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, CD player, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, microwave oven ( upon request), modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view-movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail.
Standard King
Room offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, CD player, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, microwave oven ( upon request), modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view-movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail
Harbor View King
Room offers one king bed with Harbor View, air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, CD player, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, microwave oven ( upon request), modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view-movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Charlotte Amalie: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Christian: 0.5 mi
  • Blackbeard's Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Paradise Point Lookout Tram: 1.6 mi
  • St Thomas: 4.8 mi
  • Red Hook: 5.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Windward restaurant is renowned for Caribbean and Continental cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Windward Passage Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ajsmith
Business
RI
Dec 3, 2014

deserves higher rating

I read so many negative reviews but I knew you cant always trust that...me and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 days and it was way above my expectations! clean, looks just like the pictures- although the room view i had wasnt amazing and the pool was small it was beautiful hotel and depending on the time of day and which staff some were friendlier than others. Great location, next to plenty of food and shops and short cab ride to the near by beaches ( complimentary shuttle to Magens beach) I Still would suggest to get out and explore st thomas while at this hotel since there is not much to do while here ( amentities wise)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missielina
Business
South Carolina
Nov 26, 2014

Okay

It's is Average, but clean, and close to all......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Luella's for real Carribean cuisine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lozo
Business
St. Thomas
Aug 12, 2014

Above average hotel

Upon my arrival of the Windward Passage Hotel I didn't really have high expectations. I have been inside of the hotel a few times but never stayed overnight. When I arrived at the hotel I was pleased with the location as well as the cleanliness of the main lobby. As I got to the main lobby I was kindly greeted by the receptionist. She helped me swiftly, and professionally. Along with that she explained to me how to get to my room and even added a complimentary wifi to my package. When I got to the room I was pleased with the overall organization of the room, but it seemed a little old fashion with the style. The main room was good however, the only real problem was the bathroom walls that seemed a little old. The walls seemed like it needed a little work done on it but overall the room was above average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

H00ters Sports Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Karanja G
Business
New York, NY
Jun 25, 2014

Really a 2 star establishment

I have no idea how this hotel is a 3 star cuz it reaaly isn't, it's a 2 star motel masquerading as a 3 star establishment. My bathroom stunk of urine, and I had to clean it myself as I got no response when I reported it. The AC seemed to keep breaking and my view was the ramshackle shacks at the back of the hotel. The towels had stains on them and the pool area was under construction, although to be fair the pool was still operational. Only saving grace, it's about a 10 minute ride to the airport so if you need a quick affordable motel to crash in the day before flying back home, it's fine. Otherwise, not a destination for your vacation. It's a $15 taxi ride from redhook which is the area that's a little more alive and interesting, and there is no beach within walking distance. The area it's in is not remotely pretty - not even the harbor directly across from the hotel is attractive. it's closer to all the duty free shopping of which there is surprisingly a huge selection, so if you're just in STT for shopping it may also be an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A SILVERBACK
Business
CHICAGO SUBURBS
Jun 25, 2014

CLEAN AND SECURE

The staff was helpful and courteous. On sight restaurant served decent food that was reasonably priced. The hotel was convenient to the ferry boat landing which is helpful if going to one of the other islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beautiful Soul
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 21, 2014

Overnight stay

My stay at this hotel was pretty good. The lobby looked great and so did the room. The staff was very helpful and friendly and they didn't make you feel like you were bugging them if you asked lots of questions. My stay was very short, so, I didn't get to check out the services that the hotel had to offer, but overall, I give it a 4/5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Catch a safari. They only cost a dollar or two, depending on the distance travelled.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joyccediva
Business
NY
Jun 16, 2014

paradise

My hotel stay was awesome the bed was soft and relaxing the rooms is very clean the hotel service was good and always on time the pool room was great my vacation was grand will be back very soon thank you the hotel rating is a five star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
m. Welsh
Business
New York
May 11, 2014

Needs some help!

Arrived in St. Thomas after several flights from Colorado and was looking forward to a restful evening at the hotel, however, it didn't happen. From the outside, the hotel has a nice feel, but the inside was something different. I got to my room about 10:30 pm and looked forward to a shower, but soon discovered that there weren't any towels in the room, not one. I called the front desk and they brought some up to me. The tub was dirty with hairs from the prior guest still on the walls and in the tub, so that wasn't a good feeling. The rooms are tired, but the a/c did work nicely which was good. When I was checking out, I questioned the clerk what the $9 and change service charge was all about and she said that it was a mandatory charge. I said, " oh really, is that like a tip for great service" and she said "yes", after I just explained that their housekeeping was in need of some improvement, not to mention the lack of towels etc., Until, I hear differently about the service and quality, the Windward will not be getting any of my future business. M Welsh, New York

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
More than 74 countries
Business
CO
Apr 24, 2014

More like a 2 star

It's OK for a night stop-over. We encountered a very long wait for check-in again (like prior stays). Another person was in the office and finally came out to find our prepaid reservation. Long wait for breakfast, but it is the West Indies after all. Staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
don lee
Business
greensboro
Apr 24, 2014

very nice hotel to stay in in a pinch

I enjoyed my stay at the Windward Passage hotel air conditioner remote control was a little bit confusing but I managed to figure it out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

right in the heart of town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top