$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Sapphire Village Resort

2 stars
6320 ESTATE SMITH BAY, ST. THOMAS, 00802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
52 reviews
Great staff

Great staff, update our room to the ocean view room without any cost! See full review

  • Chrisandsophie
  • Nov 21, 2014
Family vacation

Great location. We are in the first floor if the ocean view, it is nice. See full review

  • Chrisandsophie
  • Nov 18, 2014
Condominium style accommodations with kitchen on St. Thomas
The Sapphire Village Resort is perched on a hillside overlooking St. John, Tortola and Pillsbury Sound. Every condominium includes a fully furnished kitchenette and private balcony. Just a short walk from the resort is Sapphire Beach, renowned for its silky white sand. Recreation options abound since the village is close to golf, horseback riding, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing and waterskiing.
Highlights
  • On site marina
  • Spacious condominiums with kitchens
  • Close to golf and other activities

Rooms
After a full day of ocean fun, guests appreciate the Temper-Pedic mattresses and air-conditioned units. Each is outfitted with a full kitchen, including a dishwasher. Color TVs and telephones complete the unit. Regularly scheduled housekeeping included.

Features
Conveniently located just five minutes from Red Hook, guests of the Sapphire Village Resort easily catch a ferry to St. John. Downtown Charlotte Amalie, a visitor favorite for shopping and dining, is just 20 minutes away. A terrace, complete with freshwater pool, overlooks Sapphire Beach and invites guests to relax. At the adjacent marina, guests have access to a variety of water sports, including water skiing, parasailing and jet skiing (fees apply). The resort also is close to golf and horseback riding.

Transportation
  • Cyril E. King International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)

Attractions
  • Red Hook (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Coral World Marine Park and Observatory (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Mangrove Lagoon (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Magen's Bay Beach (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Blackbeard's Castle (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Fort Christian Museum (5.3 mi/8.5 km)

Policies and fees
Complimentary parking. Cribs and roll-away beds available (fees apply). No smoking rooms available. Babysitting and childcare services available (fees apply). On site car rental. Safe deposit boxes available at front desk. Cash deposit required.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sapphire Village Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Sapphire Village Resort Rooms

Studio
One queen bed, one full bath, air conditioning, private balcony or patio. Full kitchen including refrigerator, microwave, and dishwasher. Living and dining areas, cable and satellite TV.
One Bedroom Suite
One queen bed, one full bath, air conditioning, private balcony or patio. Full kitchen including refrigerator, microwave, and dishwasher. Living and dining areas, cable and satellite TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Red Hook: 0.2 mi
  • St Thomas: 1.7 mi
  • Paradise Point Lookout Tram: 4.3 mi
  • Fort Christian: 5.3 mi
  • Blackbeard's Castle: 5.3 mi
  • Charlotte Amalie: 5.8 mi

Dining

Grapevine Grill
Open air restaurant serving West Indian amd american cuisine. Lunch and dinner daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Sapphire Village Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sapphire Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrisandsophie
Business
Loa angeles , ca
Nov 21, 2014

Great staff

Great staff, update our room to the ocean view room without any cost!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sapphire Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrisandsophie
Business
Loa angeles , ca
Nov 18, 2014

Family vacation

Great location. We are in the first floor if the ocean view, it is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sapphire Village Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nouska
Business
NC
Nov 15, 2014

Quick getaway

Sapphire is a great place if your not looking for a luxury resort. Great location, close to Red Hook & ferry. Nice beach and staff was very helpful. Second time staying here so we knew what to expect. Room could have used a new mattress but overall room was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sapphire Village Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fred Road Warrior
Business
Wheaton, IL
Aug 6, 2014

Disappointed

Very disappointed. When my wife and I arrived at the resort we were told they had no rooms and that we should have called the resort directly. We talked the manager in charge into giving us a room they were holding for someone else. The confirmation # I had didn't mean anything to them. The telephone in our room didn't work for 2 days and there were many power outages. Very disappointed especially when I paid over $600 for 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sapphire Village Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
juju1980
Business
NY
Feb 9, 2014

cheap smelly resort

first of all you can not find office/reception when you get to resort, there is no sign or anything... room was smelly, there was no beach towel, blow drier did not work and I asked them 2 times to replace it, they never did, beach chairs was locked and you could not find anyone to unlock it for you...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sapphire Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valentines Traveller
Business
TX
Feb 18, 2013

Great Last Minute Trip

This was an awesome trip to the USVI. This particular hotel is close to the best part of St Thomas and within walking distance to the ferry for St John and St Croix. the beds are a little uncomfortable but it was a great view and a very nice area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Duffys on a Wed night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sapphire Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
working me
Business
Puerto Rico
Dec 15, 2012

when working

Being in the island to do some work goes easier when you have the commodities that you have back home. It could only be topped if the check out time could be in the afternoon so you can take a good bath before getting on a plane to go back home. The place is perfect for those people that work til late and can have their supper and/or leftovers warmed up at any evening hours. Village has full size fridge, stove top, kitchen, just perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sapphire Village Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JVRich
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 6, 2012

Average hotel

The holel was in a good location, but not as close to the beach as we would have preferred. We had about a 5-7 minute walk to the beach. With it being the off-season, I would have expected to be a little closer to the beach as occupancy was down. The room could definitely use some updating, particularly in the bathroom/shower. Also the dining choices were disappointing, especially for breakfast. But Sapphire beach itself is wonderful with great snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the local safari bus ($2/person) to Red Hook where you can get a much better selection of restaurants. You'll have to take a taxi back, since the safari bus only runs one way, but it is not a far drive and will be worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sapphire Village Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SashaDaisy
Business
Orlando, fl
Sep 4, 2012

Amazing view and relaxing atmosphere

The customer service was great. Ask for a bottle of rum and the are happy to oblige when checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you go to Duffys Love Shack!! Great atmosphere and good drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sapphire Village Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chickensallovertheplace
Business
New York, NY
May 3, 2012

Only if you love old project apartments and hiking on empty stomachs should you stay here!!!!

Positives – none Negatives - the lodging is totally misrepresented, the pictures and description are very misleading. The accommodations are old and in desperate need of an upgrade. The beach is less than inviting, littered with rocks and coral. The only real food option is the Sapphire Bar & Grill which is far more bar than grill. Not to mention the kitchen closed at 9 PM with no options after, especially since the telephone in our room did not work which made it difficult to call a cab to get to Red Hook or to get any information whatsoever. There was only five working television channels, the distances given to the beach and other accommodations didn't include the steep almost vertical hills required to climb to get around the complex. This should be taken off every site. It's not a resort nor a condo rental complex. This is the "Projects/Trailer Park" at best in need of re-gentrification.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top