$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of Estate Davis Bay, P.O. Box 3031, St Croix, 00850

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
st croix couple
Business
little rock, ar
Jul 2, 2009

very very nice

it was the best time i have ever had. the location was perfect. we snorkled and relaxed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NC Family
Business
North Carolina
Jun 29, 2009

Great beach, great time!

Our first trip to a Caribbean island. We took our three daughters, ages 23, 21, and 15. Carambola is in a quiet, isolated location with a gorgeous setting and great beach. Staff was friendly. Accommodations were spacious with heavy mahogany plantation shutters, screened porch, vaulted ceiling, and lots of Mexican tile. But furnishings and bedding needed updating, and maid service was poor. Our rooms were air conditioned, but the unit could not cool efficiently since the shuttered windows were not air-tight. Our trip was in June, so this was an issue. The poolside restaurant was very good. Cane Bay Dive Shop has a shop at the resort with very friendly, helpful staff and we rented snorkle equipment...Very good snorkling on the beach. We also took a short scuba lesson at Cane Bay and had a fantastic time! A car is needed to drive to Christiansted and other St. Croix attractions, but driving is very difficult due to lack of road signage, poor road conditions, and driving on the left. A GPS is recommended. Overall--Carambola was a very unique place with cool architecture on a beautiful beach, but needs maintenance and updating. Our girls had a fanatastic time snorkling, scuba diving, night kayaking, enjoying local entertainment in Christiansted and touring the rum factory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great staff at Cane Bay Dive Shop! Accommodates wide range of experience. Very friendly and fun!

Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
York, PA
Jun 22, 2009

Beautiful Resort

The Carambola Resort was beautiful and I am glad we decided to stay here. The room was perfect for our family. We used the kitchen to make breakfast every morning. The screened in porch was a wonderful bonus. The kids slept out there most nights. The staff was very helpful. The beach was the nicest one I saw on the island. We took the Big Beard Full Day trip and had a fantastic time. I highly recommend doing this. A car is a must on this island. We wanted a Jeep Wrangler but the woman from the car rental didn't have any and said we wouldn't need it. If I had to do it over, we would have rented one for the fun of driving all over the island. We had trouble with our flights and American Airlines was not extremely helpful but when I called the customer service from Orbitz, the gentleman was very willing to try to help our situation. I would book with Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book the Big Beard Full Day Snorkling Trip. It was worth the money.

Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The St. Croix Couple
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 18, 2009

Perfect Baby-moon

My wife and recently found out we are having our first child so I wanted to surprise her with a little baby-moon. I looked at other islands and other packages, but I knew that we wanted a more quiet, restful, kind of personal trip. This was the perfect place. Great Beach with unblievable snorkeling. Very friendly staff. It is a slower seaon on St. Croix starting around now, which was great. The hotel and beach or a ways out so we had plenty of water, sand, and sun to oursleves. We were there only 5 days but it felt like two weeks by the end. We are rested, relaxed, and very grateful for our little baby-moon to St. Croix and the Carambola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Buck Island snorkeling trip is a must! There are full day with BBQ on the beach and 1/2 day without food but plenty of snorkel and beach/water fun. The reef is unbelievable. My wife is a little timid when it comes to snorkeling and this was her favorite part of our trip.

Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jun 5, 2009

Quiet and complete

Pleasant, quiet, and in great location on the beach with no roads or loud cities nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chehalis WA
Jun 2, 2009

Great 11 days in Paradise

We arrived at about 4 pm checked in we stopped on the way at Larennes Chicken Shack! Had our meal in room and died 14 hours to get to paradise! Clean rooms and great ladies keeping it that way. rode a golf cart to room friendly staff. Food is good Some times better some times not. The Macko Jumbie show on Friday nights is a must see!! If your one who is always on your cell this is not your place cells don't work here OUTSTANDING I work at home not on vacation was great not having these mordern marvels going off all around. ST Croix has good att coverage but not here! I will stay here again only fault was the king size bed was a rock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Everywhere is a short drive a rental car is a must to see and explore a jeep is even better!Bacus is great as is Rumrunners. Cheeseburgers is some great food as well

Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dealseeking Solo Traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
May 23, 2009

Perfect getaway for the price

The Carambola Beach Resort was a great getaway to relax and enjoy the beach. The room was spacious and included a screened patio with an ocean view. Waitstaff were pleasant and the pool was large and clean. The hotel wouldn't offer a late checkout although the hotel appeared very vacant, which was annoying. Other than that, a great stay, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The rooms offer a small fridge, I would take advantage of this and stop at a grocery /convenience store before arriving for snacks, water, etc.

Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IndyTravel
Business
Indianapolis, IN
May 12, 2009

Ready to go back now!

My husband and I spent a week here for our honeymoon May 2-9, 2009. Other than the fact that it rained almost every day (which we hear was quite unusual), we had a great time. We stayed in one of the remodeled rooms on the second floor. The room was wonderful - updated, clean and spacious. There is a small kitchen - however, don't plan on making any gourmet meals as there is just a small two burner cook top and no stove. It is great for breakfasts and snacking. We enjoyed the Friday night buffet with the Mocko Jumbie show - however, the service was sooo slow - took us over 45 minutes after we were done eating to get our check. Remember that most of the native islanders are on "island time" and nothing is done quickly - but if you are prepared for that and can just sit back and relax, its not a big deal...The scenery is beautiful. We spent many hours on our screened in porch, just taking in the view. If you are up for a good workout, take the trail by the tennis courts which will take you to another secluded beach and some tide pools. The hike is not for the faint of heart, but the awesome veiws of the resort and the sense of accomplishment after getting back to the resort was worth it! As noted, there is no cell phone reception and you should definitely get a rental car so you can explore outside of the resort. We paid $37 to rent a car from Avis for the entire week - definitely worth it. If we ever go back to St. Croix, we would stay here again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel food is good - but there's not a lot of variety. Drive down the street to Cane Bay and eat at Off the Wall - a little beach bar that has an excellent view. Good food - quick service - good prices.

Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taxgal
Business
Washington, DC
May 8, 2009

Nice place!

A very nice place on the ocean, but we were originally given a room very far from the water with practically no view. After 1 day, we noticed that the hotel was practically empty and thought surely there was a room with a better view than the one we were given. When we asked about a change at the front desk, we were told that we would have to take a "tour" to determine whether there was a room we would be happier with, but the man who took us knew immediately which building and room would be the best. Once we moved, we were very happy with the new room and wonderful oceanfront view, but it was too bad that the person who had originally assigned us the other room couldn't have given us something better in the first place. It is frustrating to have to ask and then pack all of your belongings to move when they could have given you an obviously better room in the first place, since there were so few people in the hotel. The food in the hotel restaurant is also very expensive. Overall, though, we were happy with Carambola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"Nise
Business
Kansas City, Kansas
Mar 3, 2009

Beautiful Resort on a beautiful island

We stayed in one of the rooms that had not been refurbished. It was very charming. We stayed on the second floor with beautiful views of the ocean. There is a lovely screened in porch off the bedroom area with french doors that we were able to leave open and listen to the surf all night. The room was very spacious and clean. The refrigerator was very small if you wanted to keep drinks cold in your room. We rented a car for the week to explore the island and different restaurants. The main dinning room for dinner at the hotel had a prefixed menu which was alright for one night, but it never changed all week. But that was alright because we found some charming places to eat off the property. I also used the SPA facilities which were amazing. I had the most wonderful facial. We would defiantly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Off The Wall was a great beach bar with great food. The customers entertain themselves in the evening. We all played Wheel of Fortune by passing a chalk board around and picking a phrase. All had a great time.

Back to menu Return to top