$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 11, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of Estate Davis Bay, P.O. Box 3031, St Croix, 00850

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new england
Aug 15, 2009

wonderfully relaxing & secluded

Carambola is very secluded from the rest of the island, which makes it very quiet and relaxing. Its location on Davis Bay is quiet, beautiful, and each suite has a very private feeling. I could have sat on our screen porch or hammock for hours! You may want to rent a car, as it is not located near either city on St Croix and cab fare adds up rather quickly! The fine dining restaurant was closed the entire time we were visiting. Breakfast was first class, but dinner was sandwiches and salads at the bar, and no local fare was offered. Our dinners were decent but nothing exceptional... however the dining service at the resturant was seriously lacking. Thank goodness the view of the bay was so great. The power went out several times and that also affected what was available for cuisine. Also, the phone message system was not working, and there is NO cell phone access at the resort. There was wireless access most of the time though so we could keep up with messages that way. The spa hours have been drastically reduced and the staff of the spa seem very stressed. However I can't say enough great things about the beach side massage! Our room was clean and spacious, and had 2 flat screen tv's. The staff replaced two light bulbs as soon as we reported them out. It should be noted that nothing is included... every meal and all the snorkeling and other equipment rentals are extra. However we went off season and the prices were no where near the published rate, and the resort was also not full, so we had better than average attention from staff. This was probably one of the most relaxing weeks of our lives and we would go back, but we would rent a car and make more of an effort to eat at local restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Island tour will pick you up at the resort, and take you to 4 or 5 museums/attractions - it is a great way to see the island. We also enjoyed a horseback ride at Paul and Jills, and thought snorkeling with Big Beard was fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Planet PlanIt
Business
Ohio
Aug 7, 2009

Hidden Paradise

The Carambola Resort offers the perfect location and amenity set on St. Croix for couples and families. The beach is perfect and remote from the rest of the island; secure and comfortable without any traffic. Staff are friendly and helpful. The Resort only fell short on two points: internet access (only available by the lobby/pool complex) and maintenance of rooms (some staining, minor mold, but NOT unusual for the island). These shortfalls are readily overcome by the many positives of the resort. So, in short, if you can accept a less-than-spotless room and poor internet connectivity, you will be VERY pleased with the many benefits of this Resort. We will stay there again if we visit St. Croix in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Bogey's Lobster Dinner night is not to be missed. A short 1 mile drive from the hotel on SR 80 with a beautiful rustic atmosphere and GREAT food. Avoid Rumrunners. Resort food is also SUPERB. Be careful about driving at night - the left lane driving can be challenging in the dark on poorly lit, windy, poorly paved local roads.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Menomonee Falls, WI
Aug 4, 2009

Idyllic setting for romance/relaxation

We absolutely loved this resort setting---the ocean and mountains made it absolutely beautiful. Even though we were a group of 9 including four children, this place proved to be an excellent fit. We did enjoy some of the island's activities such as snorkeling and kayaking, but we were there primarily for a wedding, so our time was limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The hike to the tide pools was very beautiful. However, it is not easy to find if you don't know exactly where to go. This strenuous 30 minute hike is right from the resort property. No guides but no fees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shaker
Business
Chicago IL
Aug 3, 2009

Extremely friendly & accomodating staff!

Went snorkleing off the beautiful beach,took an Atv trip arond the island and thruogh the rain forest. One of the nicest resorts I've ever been to. Great place for couples and honeymoons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to harveys in Christensted. Its A small shack that is Owned by NBA player Tim Dunkan's parents. three or four local menu items per day like goat stew.Unbelievable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PayPay
Business
Houston Texas
Jul 31, 2009

Beautiful resort

The resort was beautiful and remote. Very laid back. Not many choices of restaurants. Same menu each meal. You will need a rental car because it is so remote unless you just want to stay on the beach and not see the island. Electricity and A/C went out last 1 1/2 days of our trip. No apoligies or compensation from the resort. One parking lot in the front of the resort. You are walking everywhere you go. Cannot pull up to your bungalow. Wear comfortable shoes and plan for lots of walking. No night life. Most restaurants close by 9 p.m. No drinks brought to you on the beach or pool. You have to walk and get them yourself. No pampering by the staff at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

there is diving and snorkeling available at the resort. All other activities have to be off site. Depending on your interests, you will need to travel to find activities. Again, rental car needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 30, 2009

so beautiful and peaceful

My husband and I went on a "late honeymoon" and we had a blast! The scenery was so beautiful that we couldn't stop taking pictures. The beach was very nice and clean. There were 2 scuba diving shops and we got a discount on a "discover scuba" deal for being guests at the resort. We had never done any diving in the past and had no experience. They picked us up from the resort and drove us the the diving beach (cane bay). Got instructions and training. We had on an amazing scuba diving experience with an instructer. The restaurant and bar was very nice. Great restaurant staff and tasty food, but just a little bit pricy. One other positive thing for us was that there was no cell phone signal, which we didn't mind. There was wifi, but we didn't bother to bring any laptops since we wanted to get away from work and just relax and enjoy our vacation. Location: was quiet and pieceful. Far away from downtown. The taxi fares were a little high but there was a shuttle with a lower fare for the resort guests. Don't bother going to the downtown on sunday because everything is closed! Some guests rented cars which seemed to be more economical. Just make sure you can drive on the opposite side of the street (like London) Overall, we loved it so much that we would go back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Scuba diving and snorkling

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOHN & KELLY
Business
Chatsworth, Los Angeles, CA
Jul 16, 2009

The real TRUTH in reviews!!!

This spot is amazing! Even though Orbitz made mistakes in our reservations, Carambola accomodated us like royalty! We got the superior room w/stove. It was beautiful! Mahogany, travertine, shutters, A+! You can listen to the waves all night long from ALL rooms! The entire staff from bell to bartender were warm and friendly. This resort is far from the city, so rent a car(they drive on the lef!) or bring a little extra $ for shuttle service. It's seclusion is it's beauty! Yes there are rocky spots on the beach, but there is also a lovely area that ISNT rocky! Pay no attention to the bad comments about that, they are overstated! The food is reasonably priced and good. The bar is great and BE SURE TO TRY THE BANANA BAILEY COLADA!! There are mongoose on the loose (cute!), and it is green, lush and peaceful! NOT party central.. just relaxing and gorgeous! NO ONE gets cell phone service here, but you get free internet @ the restaurants, bar and poolside. If you need to make a call, try loading skype on your laptop and make calls from that. DO NOT miss the full day Buck Island Snorkel tour! It is a life changing experience! Seriously! We will DEFINITELY go again. This was an AMAZING trip for the $! Carambola was just perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You MUST do the Buck Island snorkel tour! You MUST do the full day! You MUST wear sunscreen no matter how well you tan! Big Beard's Adventure Tours... amazing! If you do NOTHING else, do this! Ask the other guests... they will confirm this! Also, try the local Cruzan rum in over 10 flavors!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AR0212
Business
New York, NY
Jul 11, 2009

Very Beautiful & Relaxing!

Great resort for anyone looking to relax. We arrived on a Monday. The grounds, including the beach are clean & well-preserved. There are a good amount of hammocks and lounge chairs for everyone. The standard room that we stayed in was nice and clean, although it could use some refurbishing and temperature control in the bath area, which was muggy compared to the living and sleeping area. The food was good, even-portioned, and not too expensive for resort prices (I'm from NYC & I don't think that I've spent more on dining here so I was not surprised). I just wish they had more local Carribean selections on the menu. Oh, the complimentary rum punch every afternoon didn't hurt either. If you are going to Christiansted (the closest town), you have to go to KIM's! It's a small local dining establishment that serves really delicious Carribean comfort food --recommended to us by a local resident we met in one of the shops. The resort staff are VERY friendly, helpful, and efficient enough---considering the relaxed culture of the Carribean. It's in a secluded area on the island but getting to town is not really difficult. If you are not renting a car (like my friends and I), you can arrange for a roundtrip shuttle service at the front desk for either Christiansted or Fredriksted. If you want the most peaceful atmosphere ---I suggest booking a weekday trip if you can ---there tends to be alot more people on the weekend, obviously. There is no cellphone reception but i didn't mind it as much as I thought I would. There's free wi-fi in the lounge and bar area if you want to bring your laptop. the hotel computer in the lobby only has dial-up connection. Overall, it was a pleasant experience. If I were to go back to St. Croix, I would consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

KIM's. Great Carribean comfort food in Christiansted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
westfield indiana
Jul 6, 2009

Carambola Beach Resort

Hung out in the pool...there needs to be a better selection of food options...the rooms are in desperate need of a makeover, however, compared to other hotels on the island it is superior, with the exception of the buccaneer..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

hotel food is expensive and there are no options close...make sure to eat out in christiansted and give yourself enough time to get to the hotel because driving back at night is a nightmare...This is probably still the second best hotel on the island..Staff was very nice...Beach is very clean..pool is awesome...make sure to enjoy the show on friday nights, it is unbelievable... location is decent, it is secluded and you can make it anywhere within 30-45 minutes...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
st croix couple
Business
little rock, ar
Jul 2, 2009

very very nice

it was the best time i have ever had. the location was perfect. we snorkled and relaxed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top