$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

4 stars
Estate Davis Bay, P.O. Box 3031, St Croix, 00850
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
78 reviews
50th Birthday for my wife

We had an fabulous time and the everything was perfect. Can't say enough about how happy we were... See full review

  • Darryl Jill
  • Jun 19, 2014
Very great place!!

very comfortable and nice people, I will recommend this place to all my friends. Thanks for your... See full review

  • MA.MO
  • Jan 6, 2014
Enjoy spectacular dive sites, scenic hiking in St. Croix
The Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa is the ultimate spot for diving, hiking, golf and, of course, relaxation. The resort is situated on 28 acres of lush native St. Croix landscape where guests enjoy trail access, diving in a secluded reef area and every type of boating adventure one could desire. St. Croix is the largest of the three inhabited U.S. Virgin Islands and the two main cities on the island, Frederiksted and Christiansted are an easy drive away. The resort is pretty as a picture, thanks to buildings with Dutch-inspired red roofs.
Highlights
  • Premium dive sites within 200 yards of beach
  • Full service spa
  • Swimming pool
  • Adjacent to Robert Trent Jones Sr. designed golf course
Rooms
Spacious rooms (garden view and ocean front rooms with kitchen have been recently renovated) are decorated in classic Caribbean style, bright and sunny, with rich mahogany beam and dark wood furniture. Rooms at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa are fitted with TVs (some flat-screen), air conditioning and ceiling fan, walk-in closet and refrigerator. Rooms also feature British-inspired private screened in porches. All the amenities one would expect are here, too, including hair dryer, safe, clock radio and direct-dial phone.
Features
Ocean-inspired activities are the main attraction at this resort, from scuba and snorkeling to kayaking and windsurfing. Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa is the only resort in the U.S. Virgin Islands where guests can scuba right from the beach. At one of the resort's two restaurants the menus include classic Caribbean fare such as citrus grilled shrimp or mahi mahi with pineapple mango chutney or more typical American food, including burgers and fresh salads. Guests who desire the ultimate in relaxation will want to visit the Spa at Carambola for a signature massage. Popular keratin hair treatments also are available.
Transportation
Henry E. Rohlsen Airport (5 mi/8 km)

Attractions
  • Carambola Golf Resort (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Cane Bay (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Carl and Marie Lawaetz Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Fort Christiansvaern (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Buck Island Reef National Monument (19.2 mi/31 km)
Business
  • 8,000 square feet of flexible indoor meeting and wedding event space
  • Terrace and poolside space of more than 5,000 square feet
  • Accommodates groups of up to 200 guests
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet in all meeting spaces
  • Audio/visual equipment available
  • Meeting and banquet staff available
Policies and fees
Pets are not allowed. On site car rental. Fitness center on property. Free parking. Babysitting services available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Tennis
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Dining

Saman
Saman offers exquisite ocean views from the open air dining terrace or indoor seating. Join us for our Sunday Champagne Brunch with Bloody Mary Bar.
Flamboyant Beach Bar
Featuring casual dining paired with stunning ocean views and a seasonal inventive menu. Outdoor terrace seating available.
Mahogany
Continental Cuisine combined with fresh Caribbean ingredients create delicious and innovative dishes.
Friday Night Pirate Buffet
Caribbean cultural show and dance. Reservations required (340) 778 3800

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOHN & KELLY
Business
Chatsworth, Los Angeles, CA
Jul 16, 2009

The real TRUTH in reviews!!!

This spot is amazing! Even though Orbitz made mistakes in our reservations, Carambola accomodated us like royalty! We got the superior room w/stove. It was beautiful! Mahogany, travertine, shutters, A+! You can listen to the waves all night long from ALL rooms! The entire staff from bell to bartender were warm and friendly. This resort is far from the city, so rent a car(they drive on the lef!) or bring a little extra $ for shuttle service. It's seclusion is it's beauty! Yes there are rocky spots on the beach, but there is also a lovely area that ISNT rocky! Pay no attention to the bad comments about that, they are overstated! The food is reasonably priced and good. The bar is great and BE SURE TO TRY THE BANANA BAILEY COLADA!! There are mongoose on the loose (cute!), and it is green, lush and peaceful! NOT party central.. just relaxing and gorgeous! NO ONE gets cell phone service here, but you get free internet @ the restaurants, bar and poolside. If you need to make a call, try loading skype on your laptop and make calls from that. DO NOT miss the full day Buck Island Snorkel tour! It is a life changing experience! Seriously! We will DEFINITELY go again. This was an AMAZING trip for the $! Carambola was just perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You MUST do the Buck Island snorkel tour! You MUST do the full day! You MUST wear sunscreen no matter how well you tan! Big Beard's Adventure Tours... amazing! If you do NOTHING else, do this! Ask the other guests... they will confirm this! Also, try the local Cruzan rum in over 10 flavors!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AR0212
Business
New York, NY
Jul 11, 2009

Very Beautiful & Relaxing!

Great resort for anyone looking to relax. We arrived on a Monday. The grounds, including the beach are clean & well-preserved. There are a good amount of hammocks and lounge chairs for everyone. The standard room that we stayed in was nice and clean, although it could use some refurbishing and temperature control in the bath area, which was muggy compared to the living and sleeping area. The food was good, even-portioned, and not too expensive for resort prices (I'm from NYC & I don't think that I've spent more on dining here so I was not surprised). I just wish they had more local Carribean selections on the menu. Oh, the complimentary rum punch every afternoon didn't hurt either. If you are going to Christiansted (the closest town), you have to go to KIM's! It's a small local dining establishment that serves really delicious Carribean comfort food --recommended to us by a local resident we met in one of the shops. The resort staff are VERY friendly, helpful, and efficient enough---considering the relaxed culture of the Carribean. It's in a secluded area on the island but getting to town is not really difficult. If you are not renting a car (like my friends and I), you can arrange for a roundtrip shuttle service at the front desk for either Christiansted or Fredriksted. If you want the most peaceful atmosphere ---I suggest booking a weekday trip if you can ---there tends to be alot more people on the weekend, obviously. There is no cellphone reception but i didn't mind it as much as I thought I would. There's free wi-fi in the lounge and bar area if you want to bring your laptop. the hotel computer in the lobby only has dial-up connection. Overall, it was a pleasant experience. If I were to go back to St. Croix, I would consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

KIM's. Great Carribean comfort food in Christiansted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
westfield indiana
Jul 6, 2009

Carambola Beach Resort

Hung out in the pool...there needs to be a better selection of food options...the rooms are in desperate need of a makeover, however, compared to other hotels on the island it is superior, with the exception of the buccaneer..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

hotel food is expensive and there are no options close...make sure to eat out in christiansted and give yourself enough time to get to the hotel because driving back at night is a nightmare...This is probably still the second best hotel on the island..Staff was very nice...Beach is very clean..pool is awesome...make sure to enjoy the show on friday nights, it is unbelievable... location is decent, it is secluded and you can make it anywhere within 30-45 minutes...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
st croix couple
Business
little rock, ar
Jul 2, 2009

very very nice

it was the best time i have ever had. the location was perfect. we snorkled and relaxed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NC Family
Business
North Carolina
Jun 29, 2009

Great beach, great time!

Our first trip to a Caribbean island. We took our three daughters, ages 23, 21, and 15. Carambola is in a quiet, isolated location with a gorgeous setting and great beach. Staff was friendly. Accommodations were spacious with heavy mahogany plantation shutters, screened porch, vaulted ceiling, and lots of Mexican tile. But furnishings and bedding needed updating, and maid service was poor. Our rooms were air conditioned, but the unit could not cool efficiently since the shuttered windows were not air-tight. Our trip was in June, so this was an issue. The poolside restaurant was very good. Cane Bay Dive Shop has a shop at the resort with very friendly, helpful staff and we rented snorkle equipment...Very good snorkling on the beach. We also took a short scuba lesson at Cane Bay and had a fantastic time! A car is needed to drive to Christiansted and other St. Croix attractions, but driving is very difficult due to lack of road signage, poor road conditions, and driving on the left. A GPS is recommended. Overall--Carambola was a very unique place with cool architecture on a beautiful beach, but needs maintenance and updating. Our girls had a fanatastic time snorkling, scuba diving, night kayaking, enjoying local entertainment in Christiansted and touring the rum factory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great staff at Cane Bay Dive Shop! Accommodates wide range of experience. Very friendly and fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
York, PA
Jun 22, 2009

Beautiful Resort

The Carambola Resort was beautiful and I am glad we decided to stay here. The room was perfect for our family. We used the kitchen to make breakfast every morning. The screened in porch was a wonderful bonus. The kids slept out there most nights. The staff was very helpful. The beach was the nicest one I saw on the island. We took the Big Beard Full Day trip and had a fantastic time. I highly recommend doing this. A car is a must on this island. We wanted a Jeep Wrangler but the woman from the car rental didn't have any and said we wouldn't need it. If I had to do it over, we would have rented one for the fun of driving all over the island. We had trouble with our flights and American Airlines was not extremely helpful but when I called the customer service from Orbitz, the gentleman was very willing to try to help our situation. I would book with Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book the Big Beard Full Day Snorkling Trip. It was worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The St. Croix Couple
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 18, 2009

Perfect Baby-moon

My wife and recently found out we are having our first child so I wanted to surprise her with a little baby-moon. I looked at other islands and other packages, but I knew that we wanted a more quiet, restful, kind of personal trip. This was the perfect place. Great Beach with unblievable snorkeling. Very friendly staff. It is a slower seaon on St. Croix starting around now, which was great. The hotel and beach or a ways out so we had plenty of water, sand, and sun to oursleves. We were there only 5 days but it felt like two weeks by the end. We are rested, relaxed, and very grateful for our little baby-moon to St. Croix and the Carambola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Buck Island snorkeling trip is a must! There are full day with BBQ on the beach and 1/2 day without food but plenty of snorkel and beach/water fun. The reef is unbelievable. My wife is a little timid when it comes to snorkeling and this was her favorite part of our trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jun 5, 2009

Quiet and complete

Pleasant, quiet, and in great location on the beach with no roads or loud cities nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chehalis WA
Jun 2, 2009

Great 11 days in Paradise

We arrived at about 4 pm checked in we stopped on the way at Larennes Chicken Shack! Had our meal in room and died 14 hours to get to paradise! Clean rooms and great ladies keeping it that way. rode a golf cart to room friendly staff. Food is good Some times better some times not. The Macko Jumbie show on Friday nights is a must see!! If your one who is always on your cell this is not your place cells don't work here OUTSTANDING I work at home not on vacation was great not having these mordern marvels going off all around. ST Croix has good att coverage but not here! I will stay here again only fault was the king size bed was a rock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Everywhere is a short drive a rental car is a must to see and explore a jeep is even better!Bacus is great as is Rumrunners. Cheeseburgers is some great food as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dealseeking Solo Traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
May 23, 2009

Perfect getaway for the price

The Carambola Beach Resort was a great getaway to relax and enjoy the beach. The room was spacious and included a screened patio with an ocean view. Waitstaff were pleasant and the pool was large and clean. The hotel wouldn't offer a late checkout although the hotel appeared very vacant, which was annoying. Other than that, a great stay, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The rooms offer a small fridge, I would take advantage of this and stop at a grocery /convenience store before arriving for snacks, water, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top