$529 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

The Westin St. John Resort

4 stars
View map of 300A Chocolate Hole, 300A Chocolate Hole, St. John, VI 00830

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
124 reviews
Fabulous!

Had a wonderful, relaxing time at the Westin. Wonderful service and helpful, friendly staff. Loved... See full review

  • Mark S.
  • Jan 9, 2015
just great. highly rec

fantastic. more food options will be even better. just great. highly recommend! See full review

  • puffer fish
  • Sep 15, 2014
Experience everything this tropical paradise has to offer, in style
Grand palm trees line the shores of the Great Cruz Bay, home to the Westin St. John Resort. The bay is the perfect diving off point for water adventures, including kayaking, sport fishing, windsurfing, snorkeling and scuba adventures. A full-service spa offers the ultimate pampering experience. Guests who play tennis enjoy the lighted courts and even take a lesson. The Westin Kids Club keeps younger guests entertained indoors and out (fees apply). Scuba lessons and excursions are available (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Adjacent to Virgin Islands National Park
  • Scuba diving instruction available
  • Kids club and babysitting available
Rooms
Spacious rooms are decorated in island colors, vibrant turquoises and sunny yellows, and include the Westin signature Heavenly Bed. Each room has individual climate control, cable TV, marble bathrooms, in-room safe and refreshment center. Phones are direct dial with voice mail and data ports.
Features
Upon arriving at the Westin St. John Resort, guests have everything they need to enjoy this tropical paradise to its fullest. From catamaran outings for snorkeling and scuba diving, to sport fishing excursions and powerboat rentals, to pure relaxation, it is all right here. A daily resort fee includes toll-free and local calls, Wi-Fi access, on property transportation, shuttle to island shopping, fitness room and activities, water toys and tennis courts.
Transportation
  • Cyril E. King International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)
Attractions
  • Elaine Lone Sprauve Library and Museum (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Trunk Bay (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • St. John Virgin Islands National Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Virgin Islands National Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Annaberg Plantation (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting spaces range from 3,500 to 10,000 square feet, for conferences or weddings
  • Facilities equipped with T-1 high-speed Internet, satellite connections and videoconferencing
  • Executive meeting specialists available to help with planning
  • Full catering available
Policies and fees
  • Pet friendly (restrictions and fees apply). Smoking allowed in designated areas only. A resort fee is charged daily.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin St. John Resort Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Dining

Snorkel's Bar & Grill
The sound of crashing waves and laughter from the nearby pool filter through the air at Snorkel's Bar & Grill. Stop by for salads, sandwiches, and tropical drinks served in a casual, breezy beach and poolside setting.
The Marketplace at Great Cruz Bay
If you’re in a hurry to hit the beach or need a bottle of wine to take back to your villa, stop by The Marketplace at Great Cruz Bay for beverages, snacks, meals, and more.
Lemongrass Restaurant & Bar
An upscale take on beachside dining, Lemongrass Restaurant & Bar serves creative and tasty small plates inspired by a global palette of flavors with a breathtaking Great Cruz Bay backdrop.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. John Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 124
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cicker
Business
Texas
May 28, 2012

Our celebratory St John Getaway

We were greeted at the ferry by friendly, curteous and quite helpful staff members,along with a very pleasant rum punch. This started out our week on a very nice note. We were pleasantly surprised by the property, the rooms, the extraordinary pool and cabanas. The tennis courts were very nice and easily accessed. Playing around the sneaky little iguanas was a new experience. We were able to enjoy so much of the free amenities at the hotel. There was sailing, paddle boarding, sea biking, kayaking, trampolining, free access to pool floats to boot. And of course by Westin standards, the staffers at the beach hut were very capable and friendly. We took a dinghy out for a day and sailed a sunset cruise. Everything we did, we enjoyed. We would love to however been able to windsurf at your facility instead of traveling to Cinnamon Bay. We loved the open taxis that you had available to take us un to town and dinner. The easy accessibility of finding one in town to get back to the Westin was very easy. All in all we thought the place was over and above our hopes and would return only with more family members as we realized how family friendly the place was. I do have to say we got shorted towels in our room twice but you are forgiven. And we would have loved live music on the beach at night. Other than that Yaaaaaayyyyyyyy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There was some in town live music but wished we would have been able to enjoy it on our own Westin Property. Something Islandy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angie.
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Wonderful family resort

We had a great stay at the Westin St John! It's a beautiful resort with tons of children's activities! The rooms (bathrooms in particular) are in need of updating but it was clean, comfortable and spacious. It was not the prettiest beach on St John but we rented a dingy on site and rode around to the nicer beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drsib
Business
Plainfield, IL, USA
Sep 13, 2011

first class accomodation

from the moment we arrived, the staff at the hotel made a fantastic impression. the facilities are clean and well-kept, with attention to detail. upgrades to ocean-view rooms were made automatically since there was availability. the staff was helpful and extremely pleasant. the accommodations were lavish and tend to spoil you immediately. the location and landscaping is very picturesque and it helps that the resort is well-kept. overall, it is excellent value for the money when it comes to accommodation and luxury. the only drawback is that the food is average for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

expensive to eat in, and not really worth the money. if you can manage to dine outside the resort it may work out better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maso
Business
Portland Oregon
Jul 26, 2011

Westin went well

The pool was wonderful. The staff very helpful. They do charge for just about EVERYTHING, but the food is good at the restaurants and the place is run very well. The shuttles to beaches are quite handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TXT
Business
SoTexas
Jun 23, 2011

Westin St. John

Beautiful place, very expensive food/drinks. Rooms are o.k. Staff-some friendly, some not so much. Nice pool and beach. AC did not work very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

BUY Your food at the grocery store 1 block up the street from the hotel entrance. You will save hundreds$!over the hotel meals/drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chef'nNavysailor
Business
San Diego, CA
May 12, 2011

Worst expensive place I've stayed!

Please keep in mind, we are just regular people, who are really easy going, we don't fuss, we don't criticise but this one experience I had, I feel obligated to say something. My first impression was the beginning of a downslope, the room wasn't ready and we waited 2.5 hours before getting into our room after a long tiring trip with our 2 year old. Then the key card to get in the room didn't work, we then waited for it to get replaced for another 20 minutes. The room smelled of dirty wet rags, although the room looked nice, bed was super comfy, all down comforter and pillows. We were tired, we just sucked it up. Then later the soap holder/hand hold in tub fell off while I was taking a shower(the cement was still wet); the I found a big wet spot on the floor next to the bed which smelled ; the sink drain handle didn't work, so I had to fix it myself as we need to use it; the bath tub drain clogged; toilet only got clean two times in seven days that we were there! My wife was so grosed out she cleaned it herself because we have a baby and didn't want her to touch it. We've notified house keeping, front desk and several other people but none of thse got fixed the entire time we were there. On our third day we all had food poisoning (which lasted 3 days later but did not get sick from eating at Westin)and we didn't have the energy to fuss about it anymore and just want to rest! And the Concierge guy always calling to bug us about some stupid time share they are trying to sell, even after we told him we've got plans, on his third time he got kinda pushy. The front desk lady didn't seem to have much info for what I asked for; the cafe when I called to ask if she can tell me what kind of pizzas they have since we don't have a room service menu either, she said it's better if I came down and take a look myself!!! And one night I went to get food at the Mango Deli, I got there 20 minutes prior to them closing but the clerk told me she closed the kitchen! It's not even a sit down place. For paying over $300 a night..this is by far the most horrific experience I've ever got!!! I called the general manager, left a message..but he had someone else call me back to see what the fuss was. And I had to repeat the same stuff I had told the GM, but not resolutions. I guess we don't mean anything, just $ sign and numbers. I never liked or wanted to write about this to complain, but if there was one or two issues, people make mistakes,it would have been forgiven. But when there are so many issues; one after another, and none got fixed when we pay so much money to come and stay here. They could at least have some decency to treat their guests like they are important. I told them I don't want compensation (although they didn't offer), I just want them to fix the problems. And Act like professionals! We all have a job to do. PS: At the end, they gave me $50 off for the room not being ready on arrival! On the good side: They have a lot of amenities, spa; kids stuff (nice play ground, etc); they rent out snorkel gear; nice grass tennis courts; nice pool (but poolside lay chairs' cushions are mostly dirty); club cart which takes you around when they come around; The landscaping is nicly done; people are friendly and helpful (except a few). There's a gym (but seriously, you're on a vacation, you want to run on the beach, swim in the clear blue sea, see the beautiful views, island hop, eat island food, who wants to work out in the gym?! They have 3 Restaurants on property. Food were fine but just nothing that stood out. Menus lack in variety, you get the same stuff you are used to seeing in the US (fried stuff, Burgers, Pizzas, Fries,fish tacos and just the usual). Nothing local or different. And everything is very expensive. I would recommend to the resort to have more Native Island foods, something that suits warm weather/tropics. More different seafood (none of that Salmon, Mahi Mahi we see so much of in the US), more of Shrimp, Lobsters, other loc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rookieorbiter
Business
Northern Virginia
Apr 30, 2011

Great hotel for a chain experience

This was my first stay at a hotel on St John. Stayed with my 15 yr old son in one room with 2 double beds. I have previously stayed in Cinnamon Bay campground and a couple of different rental homes on the island. Pros: The Westin was very nice for a sort of mid-range "pampered" experience. I would definitely stay again. Everything is available and accessible at your fingertips. Bay is beautiful. Beach is nice, though manicured and has a line of lounge chairs. Good for sunbathing while you watch your children play. There is a trampoline and climbing structure in the water, which is warm and nice. Beautiful pool with waterfall type feature. Towels included. Non-motor water sports are included. Can rent various water craft and arrange trips to snorkel, dive, or fish. I didn't try these. Activities are arranged. A couple of shops on the grounds. Gorgeous landscaping. At time we were there, the hotel offered taxis to different beaches because the hotel's beach was diminshed by a storm (although I didn't notice, the beach looked fine to me, same as when I briefly saw it about 4 yrs ago). Onsite restaurants with pretty good food, although expensive, but so is all food on the island. Tried the Beach Cafe - liked dining semi-outdoors with view of bay and sailboats; and Snorkels by the pool. Our room was clean, nice, with comfortable beds. Staff I encountered were all very courteous and pleasant (I read that the island way is to always start with a pleasantry, such as "good morning". I like this and it seemed to work.) Cons: Hot tub by pool not hot, but didn't really mind. Room was missing mini-fridge but they did give us a little money back for this. Room missing safe but could lock things at front desk. Cats on grounds (could be a Pro, if you like cats). Location is slightly farther away from other beaches, but only by a few minutes and one huge steep hill. You can't really walk to town from the hotel unless your fit and fairly adventurous (cars zip by on the narrow and steep road). Not for you if you like having a truly "genuine" experience or one more in-tune with nature (try camping at Maho Bay instead); instead you will have a westin-type experience, but you definitely can, and should, explore the island outside of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leahchicago
Business
chicago
Mar 6, 2011

Great place!

i thought this hotel was great! Wonderful for kids and a beautiful place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jan 2, 2011

Christmas vacation in St. John

Hotel is very pretty. Staff is friendly. Totally booked for christmas week. not enough staff. both restaurants were very good. snorkels for lunch & Cruz Bay Prime for dinner.Mango deli take out lunch & breakfast great. Workout room good, Little Switzerland on the premises. Dive shop store very good for incidentials for sun & water. Excursions staff not the best.weather wasn't great for this week this year. Unable to go to the Baths for full day excursion swells to high. Many pretty beaches on the island. Fun restaurants in town. upon check-in room wasn't ready for two hours. Housekeeping staff in our bldg very poor. Our room wasn't made up every day until 5pm and once never made up until we called front desk. Great hotel to go to other than christmas week. Grounds impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many fun restuarants & bars in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the prices
Business
joliet,illinois
Jul 6, 2010

price party of 12

this was a great resort. the carts made it easy to get around. my family had a cobana and the service was inpecable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top