$302 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

The Westin St. John Resort

4 stars
View map of 300A Chocolate Hole, 300A Chocolate Hole, St. John, VI 00830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. John Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the prices
Business
joliet,illinois
Jul 6, 2010

price party of 12

this was a great resort. the carts made it easy to get around. my family had a cobana and the service was inpecable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jun 29, 2010

Just Okay...

We were in St. John for a destination wedding. Overall the Westin was good place to stay. We like the golf carts that drive you around the resort. The pool area was beautiful and the beach was nice. We used the Westin ferry which was convenient. The service at the restaurants was okay, but not great. I think this has to do with "island time". We stayed in an ocean view king bed room. It was nice, but nothing special. There was a desk and a chair in the room as well. Our ocean view was blocked by a big tent most of the trip. I have to say that the staff is very friendly and answer any questions you may have. One thing that was great was the taxis at the front so you don't have to wait for them. When using the Westin ferry check in was very easy at the airport. Also we received drinks when we got to the resort which was a nice treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Providence RI
Jun 20, 2010

Hot and cold

The grounds are beautiful and the service staff are friendly. The hotel however is in disrepair and needs to be updated. The menu at the restaurants (with the exception of Snorkles) is limited. The office staff have no interest in helping and serving. I would stay here again but my expectations are certainly reduced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cinnamon Bay!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC1
Business
South Carolina
Jun 2, 2010

Great vacation hotel

Wonderful hotel in one of the best vacation destinations in the US. St. John is spectacular. While the beach at the Westin does not compare to some of the other north shore beaches, the pool and other amenities make up for it. Still a great location, close to town. Staff is very friendly and helpful, but consistently on "island time."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elmerfud
Business
DFW, Texas
May 12, 2010

Westin Resort St. John Resort & Villas

My wife and were on our 2nd Honeymoon. It was our first vacation every without children. We stayed 2 nights at the Westin. The first night was troublesome, no room electronics worked and room number on phone did not match room number on door, which made breakfast 45 min late in the room next morning. Second day was much better. We were compensated by a room upgrade , ocean view to right on the beach. Everything worked well. Staff were polite and helpful. Food had room for improvement for $$$$. Location was outstanding with best hotel landscaping. Would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

At the beach you can sign up for many water activities. Of course all activities are individually priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elmerfud
Business
Grapeving, TX
Apr 28, 2010

The Westin Resort St. John Resort & Vill

Most beautiful landscaping of any hotel ever in a most beautiful location. Rooms were clean. First night none of the electronics worked: TV snowy, Internet none, Phone could barely hear the static was so bad, room number on phone and room number on door did not match. When we ordered breakfast it was delivered to the wrong room. The second night they did compensate us by up grading our room to the beach and everything worked as it should. They also had hand towels, for my wife, which were missing in the first room. Food at restaurants was good, but not exceptional considering the price, knowing that island food costs are at a premium. Overall the staff was attentive. Would we visit again, yes. A shack at that location would have been great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many beach and water activities available from lounging, diving, and sunset sailing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Apr 26, 2010

Beautiful St John, USVI

A Family resort good for children. Nice pool. Rooms were okay, we had a 3rd floor garden room which was nice since it was quiet and we still could see the water. Could use some updating. Food was okay but expensive. Grounds are well kept. Beach at resort is not that great although other beaches on St John are fabulous. Great snorkeling! Car is recommended if traveling around. Had a spa manicure which was in a room the size of a closet and not anything like a spa manicure should be. Would stay at the Westin again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beautiful Beaches a short ride from hotel. Rent or bring snorkeling gear. Charter a boat for a day trip to Yost Van , BVI. Restaraunts on St John were good, dress is very casual with open air dining. Most places have no AC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield County, CT
Apr 23, 2010

Great trip

St. John is a great destination, and from what we could tell, the Westin is hands-down THE place to stay. That said, being familiar with other Starwood properties, the service and facilities lacked that aura of mandated perfection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the guided tour the first day to scope out where you would like to spend more time. Pick out at least one hike during your trip because the island merits the attention. There are tons of shops in Cruz Bay - take your time to check out everything, from the harbor section to Mongoose Junction, before settling on your larger purchases.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bchmtngrl
Business
Va. Beach
Apr 9, 2010

Overall nice

There were pros and cons as with any resort. Overall the room was nice and clean, the property and landscaping was beautiful and the location was convenient. The ferry service is a bit expensive and we did not utilize it for anything other than the transport to and from the resort - I would use it again however, just for the convenience factor. The on-site restaurant (Cruz Bay Prime)was nice for fine dining and the food was good. I suggest Mango Deli for lunch, or if you want to pick up a few items...very good. Some of the cons - Our room was not ready upon arrival. We were checked in without linens on the bed and it took several hours to rectify. Towel and coffee replenishments were inconsistent. Some of the staff seemed eager to please while others seemed inconvenienced by requests. I would not suggest ordering room service...our food was not hot and they left off some items from our order. I would definitely stay at the Westin again. Most everything is at your fingertips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to snorkel, I would suggest going over to the Wyndham on St. Thomas and taking the boat "Coconuts". It was more relaxed (and the staff was nicer) than the tour offered from the Westin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunning with our son
Business
New York, NY
Apr 6, 2010

Perfect for families!

Just a wonderful first trip to the islands for our 11 month old son. Perfect having pool and beach so close to the room. Good food on the resort property. Easy to get to town for a night out. Reliable babysitting service. The only real draw-back were the golf carts bringing supplies around the resort on the same paths as people. Otherwise, a perfect vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Share the breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top