$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

The Westin St. John Resort

4 stars
View map of 300A Chocolate Hole, 300A Chocolate Hole, St. John, VI 00830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. John Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leahchicago
Business
chicago
Mar 6, 2011

Great place!

i thought this hotel was great! Wonderful for kids and a beautiful place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Mar 5, 2011

Great Experience

The grounds of this property are beautiful and filled with activities. Everything on site is very convenient to access - including tennis courts and gym. Taxis are plentiful and provide easy transportation to downtown, restaurants and beaches. In addition, the hotel offers a free shuttle service to 3 additional beaches aside from Cruz Bay. All in all a very relaxing place with lots of activities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a grocery store right outside of the Westin property - a short walk away. You can easily save money by stocking up on necessities there!

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ColdClimate
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 1, 2011

Great resort...beware of the resort fee

This hotel had a lot to offer! The grounds were beautiful, the staff was friendly, and the on site restaurant was delicious (a bit pricey though). If you stay here take at least one day to use the free water toys they have. The drawbacks to the stay were the following: We didn't find out about the resort fee until we checked out and got another $160 on top of what we already paid. Additionally, the rooms were not all that impressive, especially considering the high price tag per night. Aside from that, our stay was great and the only reason we wouldn't go back is to try a different place like the Ritz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Right in town by Cruz Bay there are a few really great places to eat. Instead of asking the hotel though, I'd ask some of the local shop owners for advice.

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jan 2, 2011

Christmas vacation in St. John

Hotel is very pretty. Staff is friendly. Totally booked for christmas week. not enough staff. both restaurants were very good. snorkels for lunch & Cruz Bay Prime for dinner.Mango deli take out lunch & breakfast great. Workout room good, Little Switzerland on the premises. Dive shop store very good for incidentials for sun & water. Excursions staff not the best.weather wasn't great for this week this year. Unable to go to the Baths for full day excursion swells to high. Many pretty beaches on the island. Fun restaurants in town. upon check-in room wasn't ready for two hours. Housekeeping staff in our bldg very poor. Our room wasn't made up every day until 5pm and once never made up until we called front desk. Great hotel to go to other than christmas week. Grounds impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many fun restuarants & bars in town.

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Dec 20, 2010

Kid Friendly - Honeymooners Stay Away

We saved up for this trip for a year - a belated honeymoon. Here are some points:- We were downgraded to a room with two double beds instead of a king. Westin put the blame on [...]stating rooms are not guaranteed. We had special requested this as well. We probably will not be booking with [...]again for special vacations after this experience.- The main restaurant was closed for at least two days of our stay due to a power outage.- Slow service, not enough staff at all at the front desk area. Other servers and hotel staff had no recommendations at all for other restaurants or things to do on St. John. - We were not given activity sheets upon arrival letting us know about free shuttles tot he beach. We had to request this later in the trip when we heard about it from another couple.- There were big flies in our room (at least 20) and we NEVER left the doors or windows open. Upon arrival the remote to the TV was also broken and the sink was broken (not draining at all). Staff did arrive for the remote and sink and those were fixed.- We also came home to our room after dinner to find a rat in the room. We called the service desk and no one came to the room. I went up to the front desk and all they could do was move us to another room (where we would have to move again on a nightly basis since again... they said they were sold out). We passed and wanted to speak to a manager - but no manager was available to help. We had to wait until the next day and had to come back ourselves.- Rain one day left the room leaking in four different areas. Staff did arrive - but there was nothing they could do since the hotel was supposedly sold out.- Kids everywhere. This is an extremely family friendly hotel. Tons of activities for them - and almost NOTHING for two adults coming on their own to do on-site at the resort. The pool and beach are loud and there are no private areas for adults only.- Our room was not cleaned until very late in the afternoon - one day it after 4pm and our room had still not been cleaned after a full day away from the resort. We had to leave again for them to tidy the room up.- Major construction/restoration going on everywhere since the hotel had some major floods this October. There were "construction" workers everywhere.The Westin offered to make u for some of these issues with a $150 credit for a "nice dinner". I had to request a bit more be done than that after spending more than $300 per night at their hotel.Some positives:Beautiful pool area.Glad to have the gym included as a part of the resort fees.Great food (and service) at Beach Cafe (the restaurant that was closed a couple nights).Seems great for families.Free shuttle to local beaches - fantastic benefit that they did not tell us about upon arrival.Great healthy dining options!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
30 somethings
Business
New York City
Dec 20, 2010

Very good vacation for the price

The hotel was nice although they were still rebuilding after a hurricane had passed a few months earlier. The building we were supposed to stay in was still under construction so we were put into one of the villas. The villa was very big and spacious but it was up the hill which was a pain since you have to call a shuttle every time you want to go to the lobby, restaurant, bars or pool. I would ask for a room in the main area of the hotel near the pool. Also we were hoping for a better view of the ocean but instead got a view of the hotel valley. Regardless we got a great deal through [...]and the location of the hotel and its amenities made up for all of the downsides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurant Zozo's was by far the best restaurant we ate at. It was a place I would go back to even in NYC. For a less obstructed view, eat at the upstairs bar.

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, California
Nov 3, 2010

Reconstruction on Westin

The Westin St. John was under construction when we arrived. I had no idea that this hotel had been damaged by a tropical storm 3 weeks before. There was no notification to us. The hotel and its setting is beautiful. However, 7 days a week, at 8am, the buzz saws, hammers, trucks, etc. began and so relaxing in your own room was impossible. We were on a 2nd story room with a pool view, which was surrounded by chain link fence and filled with construction workers attempting to ready it by the Thanksgiving season. The rooms below us were all effected by the water that had flooded them during the storm. Hence, noise and reconstruction. The highlight of the trip was that the Westin provided buses to the snorkeling beaches daily 3x a day. The staff was pleasant as were the drivers. The beach restaurant and bar were closed. The main restaurant was open and the food was good. I wish someone would have contacted us about this construction because it made the trip much less than what was expected. The hotel should have shut down until construction was complete and should have at least made contact so travelers could have made a choice of cancelling, postponing or just coming to the hotel. My trips to Hawaii and Jamaica were far superior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like snorkeling, the trip to Leinester (spelling?) Bay is the choice.

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the prices
Business
joliet,illinois
Jul 6, 2010

price party of 12

this was a great resort. the carts made it easy to get around. my family had a cobana and the service was inpecable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jun 29, 2010

Just Okay...

We were in St. John for a destination wedding. Overall the Westin was good place to stay. We like the golf carts that drive you around the resort. The pool area was beautiful and the beach was nice. We used the Westin ferry which was convenient. The service at the restaurants was okay, but not great. I think this has to do with "island time". We stayed in an ocean view king bed room. It was nice, but nothing special. There was a desk and a chair in the room as well. Our ocean view was blocked by a big tent most of the trip. I have to say that the staff is very friendly and answer any questions you may have. One thing that was great was the taxis at the front so you don't have to wait for them. When using the Westin ferry check in was very easy at the airport. Also we received drinks when we got to the resort which was a nice treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Providence RI
Jun 20, 2010

Hot and cold

The grounds are beautiful and the service staff are friendly. The hotel however is in disrepair and needs to be updated. The menu at the restaurants (with the exception of Snorkles) is limited. The office staff have no interest in helping and serving. I would stay here again but my expectations are certainly reduced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cinnamon Bay!!

Back to menu Return to top