$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 29, 2015

The Westin St. John Resort

4 stars
View map of 300A Chocolate Hole, 300A Chocolate Hole, St. John, VI 00830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. John Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pwmg
Couples
NY,NY
Feb 6, 2012

GREAT VACATION SPOT

The Westin is a beautiful resort with some of the best villas on St. John. You can not ask for anything more from the staff very helpful with what ever it is that you may need. Great food on location and store within walking distance. Taxi available from hotel to town or beach at all times or even rent a vehicle right there. (remember drive on the right side of the road). Would recommend this location as a family trip or a group tirp with friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cruz Bay has beautiful places to eat and a lovely town to walk around to go and try out some of the great island drinks. Fresh fish all around town.

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ELLasol
Couples
South Bend, IN, USA
Nov 6, 2011

Wonderful couples vacation spot

We arrived after sunset and were greeted with drinks and a tour of the beautifully lit resort. Food and drinks were pricey, but the pool and beach was amazing. Our room could use some updating, but overall was a great vacation away from crowds and commercial life. Don't forget the bug spray! We got bit up but enjoyed the wandering iguanas and friendly stray cats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a market just a half of block away where drinks and food are much cheaper than the resort market.

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Forrest64
Couples
Rochester, MI, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Loved the Westin, St. John

We went there for our anniversary and stayed 7 nights at this lovely resort. The room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable king size bed. The concierge was very helpful and had great recommendations. CruzBay Watersports at the resort offered a fantastic snorkeling day trip to the British Virgin Islands. After spending each day at a different gorgeous beach, we refreshed in the lovely Westin pool. Transportation was interesting, bus/taxi's are plentiful (but the price adds up!) and are a great option for travel on the very steep and winding roads - and driving on the left. If you take a family renting a car would be more cost effective.Highly recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get breakfast and lunch groceries at a small market down the road - pack lunches for day trips to the beaches.

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennybug30
Couples
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Best place to stay on St. John

Requested an ocean view room & ended up with a beach front room (apparently an upgrade??). Room was nice, just steps from the beautiful beach & pools. The resort is very large so expect to walk. Very rarely were we patient enough to wait for a shuttle. When we really needed one they were nowhere in sight. Be careful as well because some cart drivers do not share the road with walking guests. This resort caters to children - would love to bring our grandchild back. :-) Ladies at the pool bar were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Food at snorkels was also very good. I lost track of how many times we ate there. Breakfast was over priced & nothing to write home about. $4.00 for iced tea?? Seriously?? Oh ya, had to pay for the view of the westin employees arriving for work. We stayed for 5 nights and nearly each afternoon I stopped by the resort help desk & they graciously called to set up dining reservations. We never had dinner at the Westin - too many great restaurants to try. One other drawback - the cleaning staff BANG loudly on the door to get you up. Quite rude before 9:30. You must call the front desk for specific cleaning times. We rented a car from the agent located at the Westin. I could write a novel about my experience..but won't. I was TOLD several times 1. Enjoy the beach, leave the beach out of our car. 2. Stay to the left 3. Fill up the tank before you bring it back (no brained). 4. There is a $250 fee for lost, stolen or damaged keys. BEST PART???? I was given 2 minutes to inspect & verify the fuel level. Before walking out the door...I had to hear rules 1-4 again. Each time was a little louder and more direct. They could have saved even more time by using a bull horn. Husband enjoyed his 80 minute massage with Todd...just be prepared to listen to his political ideals, his trip to India to study other healing practices and lovely discussions regarding his views of current events. Relaxing?? Really? Overall we enjoyed the resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Morgan Mangos down near mongoose junction. Excellent food, great ambiance, live music, friendly staff. Also try "Deli Grotto" - it's a MUST for sandwiches, baked bread, snacks, salads & the owner is the best! "High Tide" was pretty good - their chicken parmigiana was top notch for a beach bar. Try "Gastro Grug" at the starfish market. It's upstairs, sort of hidden but well worth the experience. Feeling adventurous??? Have lunch or dinner at Skinny Legs in Corral Bay. Best darn cheeseburger I have ever had & I've had my share. Low key, low prices, cool people. Great place to see donkey's and goats.

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bckywoo
Couples
Florida, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Perfect Location, but you pay the price

Hotel was ok, nothing special in my eyes, but you are paying for the location. From the flight to the shuttle to the the ferry and check in was very organized. We appreciated that. We were upgraded for our honeymoon and received an amenity which was nice. The rooms needed a lot of work, but the view was priceless. Majority of the staff was accomodating, but found a lot of them a little "lazy" for what I am use to for a 4 diamond. I think the food was a little outrageously priced. $20.00 for eggs, toast, and bacon? However, with that put aside, the location was ideal and they litterly offer everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drsib
Family
Plainfield, IL, USA
Sep 13, 2011

first class accomodation

from the moment we arrived, the staff at the hotel made a fantastic impression. the facilities are clean and well-kept, with attention to detail. upgrades to ocean-view rooms were made automatically since there was availability. the staff was helpful and extremely pleasant. the accommodations were lavish and tend to spoil you immediately. the location and landscaping is very picturesque and it helps that the resort is well-kept. overall, it is excellent value for the money when it comes to accommodation and luxury. the only drawback is that the food is average for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

expensive to eat in, and not really worth the money. if you can manage to dine outside the resort it may work out better.

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHRO
Couples
Stamford, CT, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Westin at St. John

Beautiful grounds, friendly staff. Garden view room nice size. All food and drink very expensive at the resort but there is a market within walking distance. Nice pool and fitness center. Accommodations were average for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
World Travelers
Couples
US
Sep 8, 2011

Could (Should) be better

The location is great, but the beach is less inviting due to the boat (pollution) activity. The hotel ferry to St. Thomas is VERY convenient, but also over-priced. Moreover, by offering a ferry with more than 4 daily trips available, the beach is more of a depot than an inviting paradise reserved for hotel guests - which it could be. There are many other boats in this water as well. It was low season and overall service shold have been polite and prompt, but it was often neither. With the exception of a 'few' exceptionally great employees. This property is maintained well, but the accomodations are sub-par for the Westin standard that I am fond of (as a SPG Platinum member). Not as clean, poor A/C, bland decor and less than 'heavenly' beds. We left wondering what justified the daily $40 resort fee. Perhaps the management expects this to be a once-in-a lifetime experience for most as I'm not sure we are compelled to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boozer
Couples
Bedford, PA 15522, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Wonderful Getaway

The Westin staff was truly accomadating from the time we landed by Westin's personal ferry until leaving. The food was excellent. Our main purpose was to attend a wedding on Hawksnest Beach. I would recommend a later time in leaving since the last was 1:00pm and the wedding wasn't until 4:00pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Use the hotel taxi to go to town. Then take one of the guided tours of the island. Great information and pictures!

Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
NYC
Aug 7, 2011

August 2011

The hotel pool and gym was good. The room was fine. The TV out of service was not great. Hotel did offer a free movie each day, but it didn't work, so that was useless on the days it rained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

food at the restaurants outside of the resort was very good and less expensive. ask the locals or other guests that have been there multiple times for suggestions.

Back to menu Return to top