$308 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Westin St. John Resort

4 stars
View map of 300A Chocolate Hole, 300A Chocolate Hole, St. John, VI 00830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. John Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TONY AND KATHY
Business
BELLMORE NY
May 19, 2013

WONDERFUL TROPICAL EXPERIENCE

THE STAFF COULDN'T DO ENOUGH FOR US---VERY CORDIAL---STRATEGIC LOCATION---EXCELENT RESTAURANT---

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cable Char
Business
Arlington, VA
Mar 17, 2013

Paradise at a Price

The Westin St. John has a beautiful location and is a wonderful family friendly resort. The staff is super helpful. The welcome at the St. Thomas airport, shuttle and ferry is amazing. Well organized and effiecient. Shuttles to/from Cruz Bay and around the island are cool. Water sports are plentiful. This isn't a property for people watching their pennies or dollars as everything is pricey. Our room was a little dated and smelled of disinfectant. But, I'd go back just for the snokeling which was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Westin ferry is pricey at $128 round trip but an extremely pleasant way to start and end the journey. Worth it in my book to have them organize and deliver the luggage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jeksya
Business
NYC
Dec 27, 2012

Must be nice place 15 years ago.... not anymore

We stayed at room 2112. Room had a bad smell of mold odor like wet basement. They try to "deep clean" it but odor stayed the same. It must be nice place 10-15 years ago but now everything is outdated. Some staff were nice some were not nice at all. No discrimination guys but i noticed all men staff were happy and were willing to help, women showed their attitude every time we asked about odor in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Market Place cheap and very good food. Regular cafe would charge $30-$40 for lunch at Market place you can find same things for $10.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob and Kelly
Business
Chicago
Sep 5, 2012

Great Honeymoon

Our honeymoon at the Westin in St. John was great. We stayed in a studio villa and even though it was up on the hill, was awesome. So clean and up-to-date. The Concierges were great (especially Terri) and showed us all the amazing places to eat around the island. The restaurant staff were great. My only complaint about any of the staff would be the front desk where they definitely gave off a vibe of entitlement. I just avoided going to them as much as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rhumb Lines!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
speedracer
Business
Texas
Aug 30, 2012

Great trip, great location

The hotel is just a short drive from the ferry and was easy to find. The property is quite large, but they have golf carts that are constanly riding around that will take you wherever you need to go. Our room was nice and large and well appointed. The bathroom could have used some updating, but was comparable to most beach hotel bathrooms ive seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berkaw
Business
Long Beach
Aug 27, 2012

Great place for a getaway

I stayed at the Westin St John for 5 nights. We had a beach front room with a beautiful view. The room was getting old and was showing its age, but overall it was a great place. The staff were some of the most friendly people that I have met, which made the trio that much better. I plan on going back as soon as I get a chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bostonrose
Business
boston
Aug 23, 2012

Romantic Night

Myself and my boyfriend treated ourselves to romantic night here for our last evening in St. John! The location was really wonderful only a few minutes from Cruz Bay the center! The pool was great and it was so nice to relax with the bar close by that made great cocktails and the food was wonderful! I am a starwood member so we got an upgrade on our room to a villa and it was amazing!!! So beautiful with great views! Everything was great the only thing we both were highly disappointed in was the water at the beach!! Its really murky and dark not like the beautiful tropical water everywhere else! It had a lot of seaweed and the boats made a lot of pollution! It was a HUGE let down and for this I wouldn't go back but for one night it was OK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

woody's has amazing cocktail hour drinks! Great spot in center of town~

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VI Traveler
Business
Tortola, Virgin Islands
Aug 16, 2012

Great Property

The Westin is a Great Property just a bit pricey. I stayed in the off season and it was still expensive. The staff could be a bit more responsive as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
freakymatt
Business
florida
Aug 11, 2012

dont have expectations

This was my honeymoon with just me and my wife. The hotel was good, however computers were down our 1st 3 days, so NO honeymoon greeting or anything. Then at 6:30 am, they are outside on gas powered golf carts awakening EVERYONE.. I called several times to complain, but there are no managers there that early. So.. I had high expectations and thought it would just be sooo wonderful, not so much.. Then a $40 a day resort fee at the end of your stay + $120 per person for the ferry which takes u from St. Thomas to St. John and back. Other than that, I LOVED St. John..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lime Inn and Bad Kitty tours..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FoodieTravelover
Business
Midwest
Aug 1, 2012

Awful Staff

It was a constant battle. No one wants to work at the Westin St. John. And when they do work they don't understand basic customer service principles. I cannot recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not eat at the hotel, food is terrible. Best is to go and try Cruz Bay restaurants. My favorite was Zozo's Asolar(pricey) and Donkey Diner(best breakfast on the island).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top