$593 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 16, 2015 Check-out: Mar 17, 2015

The Westin St. John Resort

4 stars
View map of 300A Chocolate Hole, 300A Chocolate Hole, St. John, VI 00830

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
125 reviews
Great Experience - Going Back

First floor walk out on to the beach. Unbeatable views of the bay & sunsets. Staff friendly and... See full review

  • Michael T.
  • Feb 25, 2015
Fabulous!

Had a wonderful, relaxing time at the Westin. Wonderful service and helpful, friendly staff. Loved... See full review

  • Mark S.
  • Jan 9, 2015
Experience everything this tropical paradise has to offer, in style
Grand palm trees line the shores of the Great Cruz Bay, home to the Westin St. John Resort. The bay is the perfect diving off point for water adventures, including kayaking, sport fishing, windsurfing, snorkeling and scuba adventures. A full-service spa offers the ultimate pampering experience. Guests who play tennis enjoy the lighted courts and even take a lesson. The Westin Kids Club keeps younger guests entertained indoors and out (fees apply). Scuba lessons and excursions are available (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Adjacent to Virgin Islands National Park
  • Scuba diving instruction available
  • Kids club and babysitting available
Rooms
Spacious rooms are decorated in island colors, vibrant turquoises and sunny yellows, and include the Westin signature Heavenly Bed. Each room has individual climate control, cable TV, marble bathrooms, in-room safe and refreshment center. Phones are direct dial with voice mail and data ports.
Features
Upon arriving at the Westin St. John Resort, guests have everything they need to enjoy this tropical paradise to its fullest. From catamaran outings for snorkeling and scuba diving, to sport fishing excursions and powerboat rentals, to pure relaxation, it is all right here. A daily resort fee includes toll-free and local calls, Wi-Fi access, on property transportation, shuttle to island shopping, fitness room and activities, water toys and tennis courts.
Transportation
  • Cyril E. King International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)
Attractions
  • Elaine Lone Sprauve Library and Museum (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Trunk Bay (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • St. John Virgin Islands National Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Virgin Islands National Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Annaberg Plantation (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting spaces range from 3,500 to 10,000 square feet, for conferences or weddings
  • Facilities equipped with T-1 high-speed Internet, satellite connections and videoconferencing
  • Executive meeting specialists available to help with planning
  • Full catering available
Policies and fees
  • Pet friendly (restrictions and fees apply). Smoking allowed in designated areas only. A resort fee is charged daily.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin St. John Resort Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Dining

Snorkel's Bar & Grill
The sound of crashing waves and laughter from the nearby pool filter through the air at Snorkel's Bar & Grill. Stop by for salads, sandwiches, and tropical drinks served in a casual, breezy beach and poolside setting.
The Marketplace at Great Cruz Bay
If you’re in a hurry to hit the beach or need a bottle of wine to take back to your villa, stop by The Marketplace at Great Cruz Bay for beverages, snacks, meals, and more.
Lemongrass Restaurant & Bar
An upscale take on beachside dining, Lemongrass Restaurant & Bar serves creative and tasty small plates inspired by a global palette of flavors with a breathtaking Great Cruz Bay backdrop.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. John Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bubba Travel
Business
San Jose, California
Apr 9, 2014

Pretty Scenery

well the island was really gorgeous definitely plan on returning to the usvi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girls week
Business
Ohio
Feb 25, 2014

Wonderful

Everything was perfect. Remodel was amazing. New pool was beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elysee
Business
North Carolina
Dec 17, 2013

First Trip to St John

The villas are very nice and spacious, on top of a small hill. I believe the second and third floor villas have ocean views. Ours was on the first floor so no ocean view, but it was very quiet and we rarely hear people coming and going. Good for people traveling with family. Staff are overall friendly and helpful at the hotel. We didn't get to enjoy the pool because of the construction. I hear it is near completion though. This Westin is at a good location. The ocean is right there. Easy drive into town and the north shore beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suzeee
Business
massachusetts
Oct 30, 2013

Westin Villa's

The staff is lovely, especially security. I was disappointed that the staff and or management did not manage the trash that was left outside the villa rooms thru out the day and evening. When we awoke each day, a cat or other animal had started eating the trash and it was a mess all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Water Front Bistro is the best food and service in town. Skip La Tappa unless you enjoy very overpriced and just so so tasting food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
non swimmer
Business
Omaha ne
Oct 28, 2013

Not enough time

It was under renovation and you need much more time than a few days to really enjoy the place.. I felt some of the staff were impatient. Either put on your walking shoes or you need to be island "patient" .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a car to get around, but parking is limited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRESZCZ
Business
ALBANY,NY
Oct 14, 2013

last minute retreat

BOOKED THIS RESORT LAST MINUTE, LIKE THE DAY BEFORE. THERE IS CONSTRUCTION GOING ON AT THE RESORT SO THE POOL IS CLOSED,BUT THE BEACH IS OPEN,THE WEEK BEFORE THAT WAS ALSO CLOSED DO TO GOVERNMENT SHUTDOWN.FOOD IS VERY GOOD BUT EXPENSIVE. MANGO DELI IS ON THE PROPERTY AND IS GREAT. THERE IS GROCERY STORE RIGHT OUTSIDE THE RESORT AS A ALTERNATIVE. FERRY DOCK IS AT THE RESORT SO IT'S VERY NICE , SPECIALLY IF YOU GOING DIVING, WATER SPORTS STAFF IS WONDERFUL ,HIGLY RECOMMENDED. THE REASON I GAVE 3 STARS FOR THE RESORT STAFF IS BECAUSE THEY ARE VERY SLOW AND IT TAKES THEM LONG TIME TO RECOGNIZE THAT YOU ARE STANDING OR SITTING AT THE BAR WITHOUT ANY ONE ELSE BEING THERE, AND THAT REPEAD IT SELF EVERY DAY. MAKE SURE THAT YOU DO A ISLAND TOUR WITH JAMES PENN ENTERPRISES ,HIS THE BEST. LEAVE'S FROM THE RESORT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

5 MINUTE DRIVE TO DOWNTOWN.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Erin111
Business
New York
Oct 3, 2013

Perfect honeymoon!

My husband and I loved our stay at the Westin St. John. We stayed in one of the hillside studio suites. It was so nice to have a pool up there, especially with the main pool closed for renovations while we visited. We loved the beach and lounge chairs and made use of the complimentary hobie cat and paddleboard rentals during the week. O'Connor Jeep rental is right on site which made renting a car very convenient, although we did hear the rentals in town were cheaper. Overall it was a great stay and we'd definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eblm
Business
New York
Sep 27, 2013

Last minute getaway

This was a very nice vacation. We enjoyed our stay, the weather was amazing and for the most part it was a beautiful week. What we didn't ENJOY was the surprise of a $40.00 a night fee. We were never informed or told upon check in! But we were certainly made aware by the check out. This kind of business leaves a bad taste in our mouth. Not sure we would go back, seems like a very underhanded way of doing business, especially for an upscale resort/ hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CJSnorkeler
Business
Cumming
Aug 31, 2013

Big Birthday Celebration

This was my best birthday trip ever! St. John's snorkeling was wonderful. We saw turtles, stingrays, and many beautiful fish. The Westin was excellent--beautiful room, very convenient, great service! The view from my room was as beautiful as anywhere on the island. We loved all 6 days! We highly recommend and will definitely be going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Westin staff gave us excellent advice on dining--we loved each restaurant. They also gave great advice on snorkeling sites. We used the Westin taxi for all trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DP Gipson
Business
Olathe KS
Jun 3, 2013

The Westin

Although the hotel is aging, they have done a fantastic job of maintaining the property. Rooms were clean and comfortable, the grounds of the property were in wonderful condition, and the staff was very polite and helpful. The only downfall was at checkout I was charged $40/per day just for basically being there. I hardly used and services (towels, room service, etc). Other than that I will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

In Cruz Bay along the beach in front of the restaurants you can rent small boats and tour the beautiful beaches from the water at your own pace. A must do! We traveled to isolated islands beaches, snorkeling was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top