$495 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

The Westin St. John Resort

4 stars
300A Chocolate Hole, 300A Chocolate Hole, St. John, VI 00830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
123 reviews
just great. highly rec

fantastic. more food options will be even better. just great. highly recommend! See full review

  • puffer fish
  • Sep 15, 2014
A great Home base for St. John

This was our second trip to Westin St. John. It is a perfect place to stay and use as a base for... See full review

  • frenches
  • Aug 31, 2014
Experience everything this tropical paradise has to offer, in style
Grand palm trees line the shores of the Great Cruz Bay, home to the Westin St. John Resort. The bay is the perfect diving off point for water adventures, including kayaking, sport fishing, windsurfing, snorkeling and scuba adventures. A full-service spa offers the ultimate pampering experience. Guests who play tennis enjoy the lighted courts and even take a lesson. The Westin Kids Club keeps younger guests entertained indoors and out (fees apply). Scuba lessons and excursions are available (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Adjacent to Virgin Islands National Park
  • Scuba diving instruction available
  • Kids club and babysitting available
Rooms
Spacious rooms are decorated in island colors, vibrant turquoises and sunny yellows, and include the Westin signature Heavenly Bed. Each room has individual climate control, cable TV, marble bathrooms, in-room safe and refreshment center. Phones are direct dial with voice mail and data ports.
Features
Upon arriving at the Westin St. John Resort, guests have everything they need to enjoy this tropical paradise to its fullest. From catamaran outings for snorkeling and scuba diving, to sport fishing excursions and powerboat rentals, to pure relaxation, it is all right here. A daily resort fee includes toll-free and local calls, Wi-Fi access, on property transportation, shuttle to island shopping, fitness room and activities, water toys and tennis courts.
Transportation
  • Cyril E. King International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)
Attractions
  • Elaine Lone Sprauve Library and Museum (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Trunk Bay (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • St. John Virgin Islands National Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Virgin Islands National Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Annaberg Plantation (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting spaces range from 3,500 to 10,000 square feet, for conferences or weddings
  • Facilities equipped with T-1 high-speed Internet, satellite connections and videoconferencing
  • Executive meeting specialists available to help with planning
  • Full catering available
Policies and fees
  • Pet friendly (restrictions and fees apply). Smoking allowed in designated areas only. A resort fee is charged daily.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. John Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin St. John Resort Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Dining

Snorkel's Bar & Grill
The sound of crashing waves and laughter from the nearby pool filter through the air at Snorkel's Bar & Grill. Stop by for salads, sandwiches, and tropical drinks served in a casual, breezy beach and poolside setting.
The Marketplace at Great Cruz Bay
If you’re in a hurry to hit the beach or need a bottle of wine to take back to your villa, stop by The Marketplace at Great Cruz Bay for beverages, snacks, meals, and more.
Lemongrass Restaurant & Bar
An upscale take on beachside dining, Lemongrass Restaurant & Bar serves creative and tasty small plates inspired by a global palette of flavors with a breathtaking Great Cruz Bay backdrop.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. John Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Engineer from Purdue Univ.
Business
Wilmington, DE
Jul 25, 2009

Westin in need of re-engineering itself

Hotel charged fees that Orbitz did not disclose ($40/day for workout room). Hotel food was mediocre. Prices for food were 3 times what they were just 4 blocks away in town and hotel staff told us their prices were the same as they were in town. Ants were everywhere in the room and even in the beds. Disgusting!! And we did not have any food in the room. A crazy young white woman house keeper started pounding on our door to clean our room at 8:00 a.m., then every 1/2 hr thereafter until 11:00. Each time we told her to come back at 11:00...which she ignored. When she knocked for the umpteenth time and it was 11:00 a.m., we opened the door and she told us we have 5 minutes to get ourselves together so she could clean our room or she wasn't going to clean it. She had issues! and no business working as a housekeeper. She didn't even clean the shower or sink. (By the way the Black housekeepers that we had on other days were fine...in fact, [...] was excellent.) The Hotel staff at the Reception desk were not warm inviting personalities like I encounter at most hotels. They seemed like they didn't want to be working most days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens
Jul 24, 2009

Westin St John

Great hotel conditions. Can't say enough about the friendliness and hospitality of the staff. Ferry price is really too expensive at a $100 per person, and hotel should include breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kelly Bride
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 20, 2009

Beach Wedding

We took our parents there for our private beach wedding (total six people). The hotel staff was rude, hateful, extremely and unhelpful. None of us will EVER go back to the Westin Resort on St. John again. Plus, the hotel is over priced for what you got and the beach was disgusting. The six of us plan to return to St. John next year, but we will NOT be staying at the Westin! I'm so disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel. The food is terrible and overpriced. Walk to the market and buy groceries for your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed from park slope
Business
Brooklyn new York
Jul 13, 2009

Never ever again...never...ever!

The westin was an extreme disappointment whether we had paid $100 or $1000. We walked into our room, and the burnt out lightbulb was a sign of things to come. We entered the room, carrying the majority of our bags ourselves as the golf cart driver guy looked on, and found it to have chipped paint, colorful molds on the bathroom ceiling and tub, a broken phone, broken curtains.... Too much to list!! Charging this amount of money for such a neglected stepchild of the westin chain should be against some law!! So, we decided to hit the beach. And as we sat down on the filthy beach chairs with umbrellas with broken and cracked cupholders, we knew we needed to get off resort grounds to enjoy our vacation. Not to mention that it was like the daycare of the Caribbean, as there were literally hundreds of kids. Pool service does not exist. So, we decided that we would leave for the st john beaches and went to put our things in the safe... Not open. So we called to have someone open the safe. After he came in, he turned to my pregnant wife and asked if she could grab a chair for him to stand on... I have never seen such laziness. I grabbed the chair, and when he finished he had the nerve to ask if we wanted him to put the chair back...amazing!! We decided to enjoy our trip and left the resort for the beaches...what a beautiful island!!! Best beaches in the world!! When we checked out, I asked the front desk if they could hold our bags as we ate breakfast...she smiled and said it wasn't a problem. She then asked a women to get the bags, and the women told her she didn't have some key. Frustrated, the front desk started to call to get someone that had a key... But in the meantime, the other woman magically found her key and waved me over with my 5 large pieces of luggage... She did not move an inch to help me. I was struggling so much that the front desk woman had to come out and assist me!!!! The woman with the key still did not move... What is her job exactly ??!! In a nutshell, the nonexistent rude service, dirty run down resort with expensive tasteless food is not worth it at any price...avoid it and rent a villa or go to caneel bay. On top of it all, a resort fee of $200 is tacked on your bill at check out for god knows what. I'm guessing it's the fee you pay to get out of this nightmare property, and if that's the case, it was worth every penny!!! (I do have to say, the parrots were extremely friendly though)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Paradiso, la tapa, donkey diner, da lavio for food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta,ga
Jul 11, 2009

luxury resort

The Westin is just around the corner from where we got off the barge from St. Thomas. On arrival at the resort, we were driven to our room and informed of the amenities offered.The staff was helpful and courteous. Every morning we took off for a different beach to enjoy the snorkeling. It was amazing. The Mango Deli located on the Westin property was great for sandwiches and breakfast items. A small grocery store not far from the resort was also beneficial for soft drinks,etc. The Westin is also convenient to the downtown shops and restaurants. All in all our vacation was super!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Renting a car through Orbitz gave us lots of flexibility and opportunity to see all of the wonderful beaches on St. John Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Missing St. John!
Business
Lexington, KY
Jul 6, 2009

Truly Paradise!

The Westin is a wonderful place to stay. The grounds are very lush, green, tropical, and you feel like you have been dropped in the middle of a tropical rainforest. We stayed in a hillside villa which was basically a small apartment with an amazing view. The villa was very modernized and exceptionally clean. When they say "Heavenly Bed" they mean it. It was incredible. The only bad thing was that the resort is located on a bay that is populated by boats, so there isn't much of an ocean "view." The water is still amazing, but when you look out all you see is sailboats everywhere. The Westin is a great place to stay, and if you have kids it's even better. My husband and I do not and would probably have preferred a resort more focused on adults only. The staff goes over the top to make your stay comfortable and we never had to ask for anything. Overall, our trip was as close to perfection as one can get!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cheasepeake, VA
Jun 29, 2009

Great work trip

your hotel was beautiful, clean, friendly and a great location. I was very pleased and would recomend it to anyone I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 26, 2009

the good and the bad

My wife and I were there own a vacation. We snorkeled and sailed around the islands. The location of the Westin was great and we enjoyed it very much but they do throw in some charges that are not mentioned at check in. There is a resort fee everyday. The price of the food and drinks at the Westin were very high also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

ZOZO'S!!!! One of the best places to eat on the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jun 10, 2009

bad service

very bad staff. bad bug bites. bad maid service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

zozo's restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 3, 2009

survey on Westin Resort

We relaxed at the beach and took a boat ride from 8 AM to 4:30 PM. Had breakfast, lunch and plenty of drinks on the boat. Also, we went snorkling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top