$529 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

The Westin St. John Resort

4 stars
View map of 300A Chocolate Hole, 300A Chocolate Hole, St. John, VI 00830

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
125 reviews
Great Experience - Going Back

First floor walk out on to the beach. Unbeatable views of the bay & sunsets. Staff friendly and... See full review

  • Michael T.
  • Feb 25, 2015
Fabulous!

Had a wonderful, relaxing time at the Westin. Wonderful service and helpful, friendly staff. Loved... See full review

  • Mark S.
  • Jan 9, 2015
Experience everything this tropical paradise has to offer, in style
Grand palm trees line the shores of the Great Cruz Bay, home to the Westin St. John Resort. The bay is the perfect diving off point for water adventures, including kayaking, sport fishing, windsurfing, snorkeling and scuba adventures. A full-service spa offers the ultimate pampering experience. Guests who play tennis enjoy the lighted courts and even take a lesson. The Westin Kids Club keeps younger guests entertained indoors and out (fees apply). Scuba lessons and excursions are available (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Adjacent to Virgin Islands National Park
  • Scuba diving instruction available
  • Kids club and babysitting available
Rooms
Spacious rooms are decorated in island colors, vibrant turquoises and sunny yellows, and include the Westin signature Heavenly Bed. Each room has individual climate control, cable TV, marble bathrooms, in-room safe and refreshment center. Phones are direct dial with voice mail and data ports.
Features
Upon arriving at the Westin St. John Resort, guests have everything they need to enjoy this tropical paradise to its fullest. From catamaran outings for snorkeling and scuba diving, to sport fishing excursions and powerboat rentals, to pure relaxation, it is all right here. A daily resort fee includes toll-free and local calls, Wi-Fi access, on property transportation, shuttle to island shopping, fitness room and activities, water toys and tennis courts.
Transportation
  • Cyril E. King International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)
Attractions
  • Elaine Lone Sprauve Library and Museum (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Trunk Bay (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • St. John Virgin Islands National Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Virgin Islands National Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Annaberg Plantation (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting spaces range from 3,500 to 10,000 square feet, for conferences or weddings
  • Facilities equipped with T-1 high-speed Internet, satellite connections and videoconferencing
  • Executive meeting specialists available to help with planning
  • Full catering available
Policies and fees
  • Pet friendly (restrictions and fees apply). Smoking allowed in designated areas only. A resort fee is charged daily.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin St. John Resort Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Dining

Lemongrass Restaurant & Bar
An upscale take on beachside dining, Lemongrass Restaurant & Bar serves creative and tasty small plates inspired by a global palette of flavors with a breathtaking Great Cruz Bay backdrop.
The Marketplace at Great Cruz Bay
If you’re in a hurry to hit the beach or need a bottle of wine to take back to your villa, stop by The Marketplace at Great Cruz Bay for beverages, snacks, meals, and more.
Snorkel's Bar & Grill
The sound of crashing waves and laughter from the nearby pool filter through the air at Snorkel's Bar & Grill. Stop by for salads, sandwiches, and tropical drinks served in a casual, breezy beach and poolside setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. John Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW, Texas
Sep 21, 2009

Great vacation getaway

The trip was wonderful. All of the staff except the lady at the airport was very helpful and polite. We played at the pool, rented a car to drive around the island, rented a boat to visit snorkle sites and snoozed on the beach. It was one of our better trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Blues in Coral Bay was a wonderful place to eat and sit by the water for a drink.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paradise Hunter
Business
Phillips Ranch, CA.
Aug 21, 2009

Westin St. John beautiful grounds

Here is the down low. We stayed for a week. We paid the extra $100 each for the shuttle service, which was convenient albeit expensive. I think the hotel should provide this service for free. The hotel grounds were gorgeous. We had a garden view room, which was nice but not too clean. They will be tearing down this section of hotel rooms and rebuilding. The customer service at the hotel is below average. On the other hand, I am a stickler for customer service. The Concierge Desk was great. Chloe and bernards was delicious! Beautiful beach, great pool and the quiet and beauty of St. John. What more could you ask for? All in all, it was a good time. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelmom
Business
Austin, Texas
Aug 18, 2009

Needs some improvements

Hotel location/layout is good. Has it's own beach in a small bay but the bay is also a harbor, so boats are anchored there. Snorkeling isn't an option at the hotel's beach. Rooms are nice sized. Not particularly clean, though. Mattresses/bedding are comfy, but no FITTED sheets! Food is horrible...all fried and tasteless. NO healthy choices available at the food/bar around the pool area. Had the buffet in the on-site restaurant one night (Italian) and everything tasted the same. It was expensive and offered little imagination in it's preparation. Gotta go into the small, messy little town of Cruz Bay to get a decent meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The island of St. John is beautiful! Take any of the many open-air taxis to the surrounding SCENIC beaches. Snorkeling is fabulous...water is clear and warm. The scenery is just lovely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valparaiso, IN
Aug 17, 2009

Good and Bad

The overall experience was good, most of the staffs are so nice and helpful but some of them are so rude. The ferry charges is unacceptablely high $50 per trip per person and on our way to the resort, the ferry took 45 mins; on our way back, the ferry just took 15 mins and drop us off at the other side of the island and we went to the airport by road. I think this is not honest to the guest at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 16, 2009

"Over Priced and Over Used"

Went to beaches every day to escape hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STJOHNFANATIC
Business
PHILADELPHIA
Aug 14, 2009

Great Vacation! Great Price!

This is a great hotel. Lots of activities and services for Adults and Kids. The staff was all very friendly and willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Zozo's is an italian restaurant in Cruz Bay. It is delicious and has great Ambience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
manalapan, nj
Aug 13, 2009

nice room and good atmosphere

we were there for a wedding and had a nice experience overall. Some things did bother me.. like when our reservation said we would have a balcony or a patio and we didn't have either so i requested a room change. the westin granted us a room change but it was a bit annoying after a long journey to the island. another things was I saw a waitress eat a fry off of someones plate before passing the meal to the hotel guest.i kid you not - i saw this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the food at Asolare as amazing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texlonghorn
Business
Atlanta
Aug 7, 2009

Ok

The maids didn't do a good job at all! the beds had bed bugs and never cleaned the room. We arrived and the lamps were messed up and shower head was partly broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taxis are 5$ per person per trip. After a while it really adds up

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bluebetty
Business
OKC OK
Aug 1, 2009

Westin was not bad at all!

We rented a car on St. Thomas and took a car ferry over to St. John. We arrived on a Sunday and there was only 1 ferry working. Bad, as we had to wait at least 2 or 3 hours to get across. Loved having a car on the island, and will probably rent on St. John next time, as the passenger ferries were in abundance. The trip back to St. Thomas went great! No waiting this time, so it got me wondering if it is common to have only one ferry operating on Sundays. The resort was better than I expected after all the negative comments I have read recently about it. It could use some updating, for sure, however, the grounds and the location of our rooms was perfect for us. We had 2 ocean view rooms and were literally on the beach as we were in building 16. Yes, the beach is not too wonderful as it is man-made, but it is okay as it is still the ocean and the wonderful clear, turquoise water that we went to enjoy. We had our car, so we drove all over the island to all the beautiful beaches that are everywhere. We didn't really need to spend much beach time at the resort, only to relax at the end of our days. Fun toys are in the water at the Westin, like trampolines, swim dock, and a climbing toy. Fun even for an old lady like myself. I found all the employees of the resort very friendly and helpful. Food is expensive but is of good quality, what you would expect from a resort of this caliber. We took advantage of the beach toys available, if they are not motorized they are free. My sons liked sailing on the Hobies. The pool is very kid friendly. My teens enjoyed playing volleyball with other teens who were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Star Market is right at the entrance to the Westin and you can stock up on goodies there and use your room-fridge to cut down on expense for breakfast or snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moorpark, CA
Aug 1, 2009

Beautiful Resort

A great place to stay on St. John! We had a room with a small kitchen and washer/dryer. Though it didn't have an ocean view, the "jungle" view was amazing and the extra features of the room made it well worth it. Plus, these villas had their own private pool. This pool even had several BBQs for doing your own grilling. We spent several hours each afternoon just reading on the beach and playing in the beautiful water! Taxi services were easy. Many cute (but pricy) places to eat in town. Every need was taken care of by the staff immediately. My boyfriend especially loved the jet ski tour and snorkle tour we took. For two teachers, this was by far the best hotel we've ever stayed at!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is market one block from the resort; we found it was easy to get snacks, breakfast cereal, fresh fruit, etc. and were able to avoid paying a resort price for every meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top