$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel

3 stars
3 Yen Thai Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, 10000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
21 reviews
Wonderful service

From the moment I arrived to the moment I departed, I was pampered by the staff at this hotel. A... See full review

  • ratbagp
  • May 28, 2014
Excellent hotel

We couldn't fault this hotel. The staff were excellent and went the extra mile to make us... See full review

  • Len and Lesley
  • Mar 25, 2014
Conveniently located in the very heart of the charming historic Hanoi Old Quarter, at No. 3 Yen Thai street, linked to the bustling Hang Manh street, hotel is situated in a quiet peaceful corner which offers you a perfect retreat from the vibrant and buzzing Old Quarter. All shopping and banking facilities, as well as eating and entertainment options are located conveniently on hotels doorstep or just a few minutes walk away. Hanoi Elegance 4 hotel provides you with a comfortable and relaxing stay in well appointed rooms furnished with the latest facilities and hotel maintain their renowned world-class customer service. Whether you are on a business trip or a leisure vacation, proeprtys 24-hour on duty courteous, professional and friendly hotel staff will take the utmost care during your stay to ensure you have a memorable time in Hanoi. Amenities providing by the property are Airport transfer, Baby sitting service, Bar, Business center, Concierge, Currency exchange, Doctor on call, Dry cleaning, Internet access High-Speed, Internet access Wireless, Laundry service, Lift / Elevator, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Reception, Restaurant, Room service, Safe deposit box, Secretarial services and Tour desk. Breakfast Included.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Rooms

Superior Double Room
Room with one double bed equipped with Welcome drink & basket of fresh fruits, Daily breakfasts, Daily bottles of mineral water, Quiet, double-glazed window, Wooden floor, Dual split-type Air-conditioning, LCD television with cable, IDD telephone, Electronic safe deposit box, Refrigerator & Mini bar, Writing desk & Dressing table, Free ADSL & Wireless internet access with a private PC, Tea bags & coffee making facilities, Security peephole Bathroom with standing glass shower, Hair-dryer & Bathroom Amenities and Shaver outlet (220 volts).
Superior Twin Room
Room with two twin beds equipped with Welcome drink & basket of fresh fruits, Daily breakfasts, Daily bottles of mineral water, Quiet, double-glazed window, Wooden floor, Dual split-type Air-conditioning, LCD television with cable, IDD telephone, Electronic safe deposit box, Refrigerator & Mini bar, Writing desk & Dressing table, Free ADSL & Wireless internet access with a private PC, Tea bags & coffee making facilities, Security peephole Bathroom with standing glass shower, Hair-dryer & Bathroom Amenities and Shaver outlet (220 volts).
Family Suite
Room with 2 queen beds equipped with Welcome drink & basket of fresh fruits, Daily breakfasts, Daily bottles of mineral water, Quiet, double-glazed window, Wooden floor, Dual split-type Air-conditioning, LCD television with cable, IDD telephone, Electronic safe deposit box, Refrigerator & Mini bar, Writing desk & Dressing table, Free ADSL & Wireless internet access with a private PC, Tea bags & coffee making facilities, Security peephole Bathroom with standing glass shower, Hair-dryer & Bathroom Amenities and Shaver outlet (220 volts).
Junior Suite
Room with one king bed equipped with Welcome drink & basket of fresh fruits, Daily breakfasts, Daily bottles of mineral water, Quiet, double-glazed window, Wooden floor, Dual split-type Air-conditioning, LCD television with cable, IDD telephone, Electronic safe deposit box, Refrigerator & Mini bar, Writing desk & Dressing table, Free ADSL & Wireless internet access with a private PC, Tea bags & coffee making facilities, Security peephole Bathroom with standing glass shower, Hair-dryer & Bathroom Amenities and Shaver outlet (220 volts).

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • St Joseph Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Thang Long Water Puppetry Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Hoan Kiem Lake: 0.4 mi
  • Hanoi Citadel: 0.4 mi
  • Hanoi Towers: 0.4 mi
  • Hoa Lo Maison Central Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Hoa Lo Prison: 0.5 mi
  • Vietnam Military History Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Vietnam Women's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Le Nin Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lenin Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Temple of Literature: 0.8 mi
  • Geology Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum: 0.9 mi
  • St Joseph Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Thang Long Water Puppetry Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Hoan Kiem Lake: 0.4 mi
  • Hanoi Citadel: 0.4 mi
  • Hanoi Towers: 0.4 mi
  • Hoa Lo Maison Central Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Hoa Lo Prison: 0.5 mi
  • Vietnam Military History Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Vietnam Women's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Le Nin Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lenin Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Temple of Literature: 0.8 mi
  • Geology Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum: 0.9 mi
  • One Pillar Pagoda: 1 mi
  • President Palace Memorial Site: 1 mi
  • Ho Chi Minh Museum: 1 mi
  • Thong Tin Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Thong Nhat Park: 1.3 mi
  • Vincom City Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Hoang Cau Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Van Gallery: 2.4 mi
  • Tay Ho Pagoda: 2.6 mi
  • Thu Le Park and Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Ethnology: 3.3 mi
  • Tan Mai Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • 3D Creative Center: 4 mi
  • Dai Tu Pagoda: 4.4 mi
  • Vietnam Asian Indoor Game Stadium: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jun 16, 2010

Perfect Fit

I came back to Vietnam, partly as a tourist and partly as a visiting professor at the medical school. I do not like 5 star hotels where the staff is not allowed to actually have a conversation with you and where Vietnamese friends feel out of place in their own country. This is not a 5 star hotel for those who do not want to actually be in Vietnam. For those who are comfortable with a family shrine tucked inconspicuously off the corner of the hotel lobby and appreciate being able to actually talk with a university student working the night shift at the desk, this hotel is the perfect fit. Inside is clean, quiet and relaxed in a friendly atmosphere. The distinctively Vietnamese backstreet outside the door is safe but filled with street vendors and small shops that sell everything from haircuts to fresh produce to the neighborhood. A few steps further down the backstreet (but just far enough to reduce the noise at night) are the main shopping thoroughfares and attractions of the old city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take time to just walk in the area in the early morning as the shops are opening and children are making their way to school. Many people of all ages go to the nearby park to do what appears to be Tai Chi in the morning. This is the best time to observe life in the city that is not centered on buying and selling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gregandkumiko
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Aug 10, 2010

Amazing hospitality

We are residents of Japan and so are accustomed to excellent service, but must say that the Hanoi Elegance 4 (Ruby) offered the most friendly and thorough hospitality we have experienced in our travels to date. The location of the hotel is right in the center of old Hanoi, the hotel is small and spotless, and the staff are amazing. Kudos to the owner for training/approach to hotel management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The dining at the top of the sister hotel, Elegance 5, is superb. Excellent view of the city, great service, and best crispy spring rolls in Hanoi (the Vietnamese beef dish was amazing too).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 11, 2010

Hanoi Elegance 4--a fantastic choice

The elegance is probably the best deal we have ever had in years of travel to Latin America, Europe, Asia and a bit of Africa. Immaculate rooms, incredibly friendly, warm, and skillful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
3rd gen Russ
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 30, 2009

Five Star Service in poor side of town.

My wife and I received some of the best service ever. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. Many of the employees spoke fluent English and were more than willing to help us enjoy our stay. [...] was especially articulate and helpful. Take note that this hotel is located in what is called the "Old Quarter". In other words, it's in an older, rustic part of Hanoi. The moment you walk out of the hotel, you will be immersed in the culture and every day lives of the people. If you want to see how other people live, this is the place to visit. Complimentary breakfast, comfortable beds, clean room, fantastic service. If you plan to visit Hanoi, this is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget to "bargain" with sellers. They expect it. Be careful of taxis that are not certified. Ask the Hotel which taxis are good. The streets can get noisy and smelly (from exhaust). Take a taxi when possible. You'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 24, 2010

Outstanding Botique Hotel

We felt very welcome as soon as we walked into the hotel lobby. The staff went out of their way to provide us with the information we wanted about touring Hanoi and arranging the pick-up for Ha Long Bay. Our double room was lovely and the breakfast good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T.I.L. Darling
Business
Danville, CA
Mar 5, 2010

One Of The Best Hotel Experiences

I've never had the level of service in any hotel, motel, or boutique in my years of traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
49 weeks to go
Business
Portland, Oregon
May 16, 2010

As good as it says

The staff were just excellent: warm, friendly, informative and helpful. For example, our ATM card got held by the machine down the street (because we were responding too slowly and it kept the card for security reasons, just like the sign above warned us that it would do). The hotel front desk staff not only made us feel less stressed out, "this happens all the time...there is nothing to worry about," they also had the phone number of the person who checks that local machine, and that person's boss. Instead of having to wait several days until the next scheduled machine maintenance, they arranged for us to pick up the card from the main bank headquarters the next day. (This was around 4:30 pm in the afternoon. They also helped us get a credit for the one-day tour we had already booked for the next day, and made arrangements for alternative travel to our next stop.) We picked up the ATM card on our way out of town, and headed out to our next location. When we arrived, there was a phone call waiting for us at the hotel. The front desk at Hanoi Elegance 4 wanted to make sure everything went well at the bank, and to make sure our vacation was progressing smoothly. They really made us feel that they cared about our entire experience in Vietnam, not only the four days we spent at their hotel. We will absolutely come back to Hanoi Elegance 4 the next time we are in Hanoi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 16, 2009

An affordable gem

The hotel staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Tucked away in a small street in the old town, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring Hanoi. Inside it is quiet luxury, out the door it is the bustle of the old town. Most of the sights are within walking distance or a short cyclo ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A wonderful small restaurant is around the corner - the Gecko. It was so good we went twice. And don't forget to buy some Highlands coffee to take home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alteredego
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Better than the Hilton or Metropole!

Do not waste your money at the Hilton or the Metropole--this hotel is reasonably quiet, clean, very friendly staff, great breakfasts in the morning, and an excellent location in the Old Quarter that is off the main streets. The rooms are not large but they are more than adequate for sleeping and resting during the day. The entire hotel is very clean and quiet considering the urban setting. 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. Save your money--this is a perfectly adequate and lovely hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from this hotel to Khazzana Restaurant--one of the best Indian meals you will eat anywhere in the world: [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
Jun 3, 2010

fantastic!

we were greeted with welcome drinks, and excellent service throughout our entire stay. the location is great--right in the heart of the old quarter. the staff was exceedingly nice and helpful. rooms are a little bit small, that is our only caution. breakfast was great--a choice of vietnamese or western foods (and you could order as many items as you wished). we considered some of the fancier hotels, but this hotel was perfect and 1/3 the price of some of the bigger names. overall fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the water puppet show is totally unique to hanoi and worth it. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top