$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

LOS ANGELES

3 stars
AV.18 DE JULIO 974, --, MONTEVIDEO, -
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
11 reviews
A Faded Beauty

Soaring ceilings, moldings in the old grand tradition, street-side rooms with tall "French" doors... See full review

  • Isurfguy
  • Nov 23, 2011
Decent hotel, moderate price

The owner helped me to find a rental furnished apartment. See full review

  • redmanrt
  • Dec 21, 2009
Definitely a budget Hotel, clean and in good conditions, very well located. (03.09 MQ) From outside the hotel is a traditional Uruguayan style building. This Hotel is located in the city centre of Montevideo, on the main street 18 de julio, few meters from the Main square.
Note : Non-Uruguayan residents are exempted from VAT (Value-Added Tax) payment on room prices upon check out. Uruguayan residents are subject to VAT; a 10% tax will be added to the room rate upon check out.

Hotel Map

-34.8233 -56.1733
Area served
Montevideo, Uruguay.
Nearby airports
Carrasco Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed LOS ANGELES also booked these hotels.

LOS ANGELES Rooms

Guest Rooms
Rooms are modestly decorated, all different in size, all with tv and private Bathroom.

Amenities

General
Elevators
Dining
24 hour room service

Nearby points of interest

  • Legislative Palace: 4.8 mi
  • National History Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Port Market: 6.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
There is no restaurant but only a Bar just in front of the reception.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for LOS ANGELES

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 11
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of LOS ANGELES

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isurfguy
Honolulu, Hawaii
Nov 23, 2011

A Faded Beauty

Soaring ceilings, moldings in the old grand tradition, street-side rooms with tall "French" doors opening to the exctement of the city below. Sure, the carpets are horribly dated and well used, and the doors are a bit shakey (use the lock boxes provoided in the office), but at these prices how do you expect more? The bathrooms are typical Uruguayan style and kept sparkling by a well supervised staff. If you want alot of fancy then pay quadruple to stay elsewhere.Still, you could not beat this location.The staff, headed up by El Patrone de las Puertas (the manager who personaly came and spent his time fixing the 30 year old lock on my door) is great! I'm not a social person but by the time I left after 14 days I felt like they were family. I'm an artist so I admit my criteria may be a bit different than the norm. Soft fluff and polish means nothing to me... but the true Uruguayan splendor, worn and noble exists here.(yeah, yeah, the lobby is small, sometimes crowded with Argentine budget travelers and the coffee sucks).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street in one of the many plazas is the outdoor cafe La Passiva, sit under the umbrella and have a cappuccino (52 pesos) or a beer and watch it all. The twilight hour, with the people all about, is a charm.

Review of LOS ANGELES

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redmanrt
Montevideo, Uruguay
Dec 21, 2009

Decent hotel, moderate price

The owner helped me to find a rental furnished apartment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to historic center

Review of LOS ANGELES

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redmanrt
Montevideo, Uruguay
Dec 21, 2009

Decent hotel, moderate price

The owner helped me to find a rental furnished apartment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to historic center

Review of LOS ANGELES

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 17, 2009

Los Angeles Hotel

Overall it's a nice place to stay for budget travelers. Room was very clean though furniture is kind of outdated. Perfect for backpackers and young people with tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of LOS ANGELES

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 17, 2009

Los Angeles Hotel

Overall it's a nice place to stay for budget travelers. Room was very clean though furniture is kind of outdated. Perfect for backpackers and young people with tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top