$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Esplendor Montevideo

4 stars
Soriano 868, Montevideo, 11100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
12 reviews
Good option in Montevideo

Clean rooms with a lot of space, friendly staff. I'll get back there. See full review

  • William Cassemiro
  • Jul 15, 2014
Very close

Close to the city centre, but still peaceful. Great views of the city or Rio de la Plata from the... See full review

  • Rolf V
  • Jul 2, 2014
A legendary hotel, a completely new experience. In the heart of the recently inaugurated Barrio Literario stands out this hotel of Florentine style. Each of the 84 rooms of hotel Esplendor Cervantes Montevideo maintains the mystique and the history of the place and offers all the conveniences necessary for guests to enjoy their stay. This Hotel offers a variety of services just to give comfort to its guests: Wi-Fi access in all public areas and rooms, American buffet breakfast in a beautiful lounge, Sauna, Dressing rooms, Swimming pool, meeting rooms, gym, Lounge Bar, Theater, Restaurant, Spa and Massages and lot of other services. The hotel also offers lobby, reception, Sauna and theater.
Note : Non-Uruguayan residents are exempted from VAT (Value-Added Tax) payment on room prices upon check out. Uruguayan residents are subject to VAT; a 10% tax will be added to the room rate upon check out.

Hotel Map

-34.9079 -56.1897
Area served
Uruguay.
Nearby airports
international Airport Carrasco Puerta del Sur (MVD).
Area description
The Hotel is located at Soriano 868, in the beautiful city of Montevideo, near major tourists attractions, such as The Presidential Palace, Museum of the Gaucho, Playa de Pocitos, Independencia Square, Central Train Station General Artigas, Matriz Chuch, Casa Rivera Museum, Rodo Park, Municipal Palace, Punta Carreras Shopping and The City Zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Esplendor Montevideo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Esplendor Montevideo Rooms

CLASSIC - ROOM
Classic Room offers one queen bed or two twin beds air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, internet access, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone. The hotel is located in Montevideo. It features 84 rooms of three categories: Concept, Suites and VIP Suites. All of them were remodeled to create an artistic and sophisticated setting while maintaining reminiscences of old times, such as hardwood floors and very high ceilings typical of stylish residences of the time.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • National History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port Market: 1.1 mi
  • Legislative Palace: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Hotel has a Restaurant and it offers Buffet Breakfast included.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (12)

Ratings and reviews for Esplendor Montevideo

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Esplendor Montevideo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William Cassemiro
São Paulo
Jul 15, 2014

Good option in Montevideo

Clean rooms with a lot of space, friendly staff. I'll get back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Esplendor Montevideo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Graciestudio
Miami, FL
Jul 5, 2014

Dirty and poor location

Had to change rooms upon arrival due to dirty sheets. Food was not great and location average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Esplendor Montevideo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rolf V
Bergen, Norway
Jul 2, 2014

Very close

Close to the city centre, but still peaceful. Great views of the city or Rio de la Plata from the restaurant. Helpful staff who fixed minor problems very quick, but forgot to report about calls from outside having come to reception, and one day room was not cleaned during. Breakfast is good with various alternatives. All in all, would recommend it, and if possible would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk along Sarandí and turn right for Mercado del Puerto - many attractions on that walk - but try a Sunday morning walk for quietness.

Review of Esplendor Montevideo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expat Wannabe
Pennsylvania
Apr 7, 2014

Good location

This Hotel has a good location close to just about everything. The area at night can be a little dicey, but that is true for quite a bit of Montevideo. But with that said, I had no problems at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Esplendor Montevideo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
charlie blue
Business
florida
Sep 30, 2013

BAD EXPERIENCE

LOCATION FOR THIS HOTEL NOT VERY GOOD. REQUESTED TWO DAYS LAUNDRY SERVICE THEY NEVER SHOWED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Esplendor Montevideo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
politurs
Bologna, Italy
Jun 24, 2013

Great spot

Very good and I will be back soon. Thank you very much. Saludos!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Corte in Plaza Matriz

Review of Esplendor Montevideo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joepr
Dallas, TX
May 24, 2013

Comfortable and centrally located

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The spa and breakfast room were nice. The hotel was conveniently located near Plaza Independencia and Ciudad Vieja. The only issues I had was that my phone did not have a tone, and they were not able to fix it. Every time I needed something from the desk I had to go in person. I did not like the elevators, so I always used the stairs. My safe was not ready to use when I arrived and they had to come to unlock it. Overall, good hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Esplendor Montevideo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cujodu
Portland, OR
Jan 2, 2013

Almost Perfect! 4.75 stars!

The staff were friendly and accommodating. The decor was modern and looked recently renovated. The room was well furnished. The included breakfast was sufficient and included fresh juices and an awesome view. There were two iMacs in the lobby for guest use along with gym, pool, and lounge. Wifi worked perfect in our room (5th floor corner) and was free. They let us check out late on our final day with no hassle or charge. They arranged a day tour to Punta del Este for us. Elevators were operational. Overall very clean, quiet, and comfortable. We spoke with the maid for our room and she worked hard to make everything perfect. However, on the second day of our stay, a Monday holiday, apparently there was a different maid who did not clean the bathroom very well. Also, the location was a little shady at night but we had no problems, Montevideo is a pretty small town. On New Year's Eve they opened the terrace atop the hotel so the guests could view the fireworks. Overall, I give it 5 stars and recommend it to anyone visiting Montevideo. The staff works hard to make sure you have a good visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Pasiva is my favorite part of visiting Uruguay (aside from the peacefulness of the country). It's a sit-down casual restaurant with great frankfurters (along with a more hearty fare) and there are a couple within walking distance of this hotel. Ask at the front desk.

Review of Esplendor Montevideo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent TravelerNYC
NY, NY
Dec 19, 2012

Had a very good stay

I had a very good stay at the hotel. The rooms were very nice, and clean. The location was good for Montevideo, as it was close to the port. I had to extend my stay, so remained at the hotel for 3 additional days. A very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Esplendor Montevideo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jack Nightingale
Santiago, Chile
Aug 6, 2012

Just OK

It was only OK. No real amenities. Bathroom was really small. The gym was not in operation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The old market is a must visit, specially for meat lovers. They have the burning firewood and the ambiance is very special. Panini was also nice for pasta.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search