$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

Painted Buffalo Inn

2 stars
View map of 400 West Broadway, JACKSON HOLE, Jackson Hole, WY 83001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
25 reviews
nice hotel stay

It was my first trip to Yellowstone area, the hotel was conveniently close to airport 30 min ride... See full review

  • Aleksander Z.
  • May 26, 2015
Great Value

Could not be a better location. Good for a long ski stay. Great value. Right in town. If you want... See full review

  • Rachel S.
  • Mar 12, 2015

Painted Buffalo Inn is an independently owned 137-room hotel that captures the spirit of Wyoming in its friendly service standard. Located in downtown Jackson on West Broadway near a shuttle stop, guests enjoy a relaxed and hassle-free accommodation where the sights and attractions of the Grand Teton region are within easy reach. Free perks such as parking, breakfast, an indoor pool and Wi-Fi make Painted Buffalo Inn a good value for National Park road trips and Jackson Hole adventure vacations.

Rooms

Painted Buffalo Inn is a two-story hotel with a large second floor shared sundeck for pleasant sunny days. Standard motel accommodations include air conditioning, cable TV, free Wi-Fi Internet access, coffee-makers and hair-dryers. Larger family suites have sofa sleepers. Refrigerators and microwaves can be requested.

Property features

Guests who spend their time in Jackson Hole hiking, mountain biking or skiing will look forward to returning to the large heated indoor swimming pool and dry sauna at the end of an eventful day. Additional features at Painted Buffalo Inn include a gift shop, on-site beautician, luggage hold, dry cleaning services and babysitting services (fees apply).

 

Restaurants, art galleries and a movie theater are nearby. Start with the nearest lunchtime eatery, Betty Rock Café, for soups, salads, sandwiches and popular milkshakes.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast plus tea and coffee throughout the day
  • Walk to Betty Rock Café and many other downtown restaurants within 3-4 blocks
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Indoor swimming pool and sauna
Nearby attractions
  • Jackson Town Square (4 blocks)
  • Snow King Ski & Summer Resort (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • National Elk Refuge Road (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Grand Teton National Park south entrance (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Jackson Hole Mountain Resort (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Grand Targhee Resort (44.6 mi/71.8 km)
  • Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park (96.9 mi/156 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet
  • Guest computer in lobby
  • Secretarial services
  • Free faxing and photocopying
Transportation
  • Jackson Hole Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • START shuttle route (1 Block)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Painted Buffalo Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Painted Buffalo Inn Rooms

Standard Room
We want to provide our guests with rooms that fit their needs and provide only the best customer service. With a wide range of rooms, we offer more choices and features to better serve you. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TV, complementary WIFI, mini fridge, coffee maker and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Bar T-5
Horse-drawn covered wagon rides, Dutch oven dinner, live stage cowboy shows and hand clapping music.
The Blue Lion
Features a full service bar & reservations are strongly recommended. Only 1 1/2 blocks away from the Painted Buffalo Inn.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Painted Buffalo Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aleksander Z.
Business
N/A
May 26, 2015

nice hotel stay

It was my first trip to Yellowstone area, the hotel was conveniently close to airport 30 min ride on shuttle. And right across from the car rental. Couple cafe nearby. Breakfast was on a stingy side, but they have a nice pool and sauna which is good during cold month

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel S.
Business
New York
Mar 12, 2015

Great Value

Could not be a better location. Good for a long ski stay. Great value. Right in town. If you want to save a few bucks, I would recommend this hotel. No frills but affordable and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayD
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 4, 2015

Quaint and great value for the money

I was looking for a clean room in a good location for a great deal. Mission accomplished! Great for travelers who want a room but don't need frills. Walkable to bars, restaurants, the bus, etc....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronald B.
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Went skiing by myself

While parking my car on the first night, I saw a moose cross the road not 20 meters from me. That's a good way to start a ski trip in Wyoming! They need more parking spaces but everything else was way better than I expected. The continental breakfast was more than adequate to start the day. The bus to Teton Village stops right next to the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants within a 1-2 minute walk and the town square is about a 5-10 minute walk. The room had everything I needed. Not only was it clean but it was also decorated nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Von J.
Business
Carlisle
Jan 22, 2015

Was a great place to stay during hiking trip to Wyoming Great value to the price

Easy walk to everything needed. Stayed 2 nights, before and after hike

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brian B.
Business
Dubois
Dec 31, 2014

We won't be staying here again.

I am not usually one to complain but very little went right with our recent stay at the Painted Buffalo. The website said that the hotel was pet friendly and I didn't see any added fees on the website for a pet. When I told the girl at the front desk that I had a dog she charged me a $20 pet fee. The parking lot was full even though the hotel had vacancy and the only parking spot I could find was in a snow drift. The continental breakfast was mediocre at best. There was no coffee available in the lobby when I went down for breakfast. We did not have hot water for showers. A maintenance man did come apologize for the hot water situation but said it could be several hours before he got it fixed. To top it off the cleaning lady came into our room while we were still in it before 9:00 in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Love Grand Teton
Business
Cordova, IL
Aug 17, 2014

I guess you get what you pay for

Our bedsheets kept falling off because they were so old and worn. everything was a little worn. The breakfast was a cold one. donuts, muffins, cereal... You could here your neighbors very well in the rooms. Location was great. that was it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Jackson Hole has tons of shopping.

Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Mom and Pop
Business
Artesia NM
Jul 12, 2014

Road trip

There was nothing special about this room. There were nicer looking rooms there but we were in the old section and it looked a little rough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It was close enough to walk to the downtown area.

Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GrammyRose
Business
Ooltewah, TN
Jun 19, 2014

Disappointing Rooms

We felt like this would be a decent mid-priced hotel but found the room to be very musty and smelly. We tried having the fan on full to bring in fresh air and that helped some. The linens were quite threadbare but seemed clean. The pool was warm and the kids enjoyed it after a long trip. Breakfast was sparse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bluk07
Business
Grand junction, co
Sep 25, 2013

It was ok

Hotels in this area are pricey but at $120/night I expected a little more. The room was ok, the parking was horrible (we had to park on the street), and the free breakfast was no more than toast and bagels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top