BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

3 stars
1601 8th Street, P O Box 1720, Cody, WY 82414-4134
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
25 reviews
Great location and well maintained.

Older motel but has been re-done and is well maintained. Hotel is just a few blocks from the... See full review

  • biztraveler98
  • Sep 6, 2014
Cute town

This was an overnight stop as we travelled on through to Yellowstone. The staff were friendly and... See full review

  • Vacationer from Canada
  • Jun 20, 2014
Budget Cody hotel just steps from Buffalo Bill Historical Center
The Best Western Sunset Motor Inn is located within walking distance to one of the most popular attractions in Cody -- the Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Hotel amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, indoor and outdoor pools, a whirlpool, a fitness center and a playground. The Best Western Sunset Motor Inn is completely nonsmoking and high-speed Internet access is complimentary. An on-site restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.
Highlights
  • Located within walking distance to Buffalo Bill Historical Center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Indoor and outdoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center and playground
  • Complimentary continental breakfast and on-site restaurant
Rooms
The Best Western Sunset Inn provides 120 nonsmoking guest rooms and suites all located on a ground-level floor with exterior access. Standard room amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access, a cable television with premium channels, a spacious desk, a hair-dryer, an iron/ironing board, a coffee/tea-maker and air conditioning.
Features

The Best Western Sunset Inn has been given a three diamond rating by AAA. Pets are welcome at the hotel, with certain restrictions (fees apply). For guest convenience there is a coin-operated laundry facility on-site as well as a business center. The on-site restaurant, the Sunset House Restaurant, is open daily from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. and serves American-style fare. Guest parking is free at the hotel.

 

Within walking distance to the Best Western Sunset Inn is the Buffalo Bill Historical Center. It is comprised of five different museums -- a natural history museum, a gallery of Western art, a Plains Indian museum, a Buffalo Bill museum and a firearms museum. The center also features rotating special exhibitions, educational programs and an extensive research library for all things Western. Visitors can spend a few hours to a few days exploring all the historical center has to offer.
Transportation
  • Yellowstone Regional Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
Attractions
  • Buffalo Bill Historical Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Downtown Cody (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old Trail Town (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Cody Nite Rodeo (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Buffalo Bill State Park (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Yellowstone National Park (50 mi/80.5 km)
Business
  • Multiple meeting rooms
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn Rooms

1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMKNG,HI SPEED NET,MICROWV,REFRIG,DVD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING 1 QUEEN
1 KING 1 QUEEN,NSMKNG,HI SPEED NET,MICROWV,REFRIG,DVD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,MICR,FRIG,SEP LVG AREA,SOFABD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2 BEDRMS,HI SPEED NET,MICRWV,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,PET FRIENDLY,HI SPD NET,MICFRG,DVD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,3 QUEEN BEDS,2BATHRMS,MICRFRG,HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,3 QUEEN BEDS,1BATHRM,MICRFRG,HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,SMALRM,SHWONL,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMKNG,HI SPEED NET,MICROWV,REFRIG,DVD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMKNG,HI SPEED NET,MICROWV,REFRIG,DVD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPD NET,PATIO, MICRO FRIG,OVRSZD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPD NET,MICRO FRIG,SMALL RM,DVD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPD NET,MICRO FRIG,SMALL RM,DVD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPD NET,MICRO FRIG,SMALL RM,DVD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPD NET,PATIO, MICRO FRIG,OVRSZD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-3 ROOMS 5 BEDS
SUITE-3 ROOMS 5 BEDS,NSMK,2 STORY SUITE,2 FULL BATH,KITCHEN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Play ground
Horseback riding
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Ironing board

Dining

Sunset House Restaurant
Sunset House Restaurant, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Summer Hours: (June - August) 7:00am-9:00pm Breakfast 7:00am-11:00am Buffet Brunch on Sunday's 10:00am-2:00pm Lunch 11:00am-5:00pm Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
biztraveler98
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 6, 2014

Great location and well maintained.

Older motel but has been re-done and is well maintained. Hotel is just a few blocks from the Buffalo Bill Cody museum and on the road to Yellowstone. Free WiFi and hot full breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shailesh2014
Business
Rapid City,SD
Jun 28, 2014

Good

Good place, it is like a small village on its own. Free internet, good breakfast. Lot of parking space. Rooms are clean. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationer from Canada
Business
Okotoks, AB
Jun 20, 2014

Cute town

This was an overnight stop as we travelled on through to Yellowstone. The staff were friendly and the hotel had the amenities we needed like a fridge, microwave and pool facilities. We stopped at Buffalo Bill Dam (free admission)the following morning just west of town which I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Buffalo Bill Dam

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tired and Sick Traveler
Business
Nebraska
Sep 18, 2013

Yellowstone bound

We checked in, got dinner downtown at the place owned by a friend of Buffalo Bills (Irma's?), returned for an evening watching the news on developments towards a possible war with Syria, and went to bed early. The morning was similarly uneventful with basic get ready, grab breakfast (I got a plate of muffins to go being last ready), and hit the road. It was different, but kind of handy that a bench was at the foot of the bed I slept in. Also, there was another built in by the bathroom that was handy for luggage. Otherwise the room was pretty normal, clean, and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy47
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 17, 2013

central location

The location was perfect, easy walking distance from the Buffalo Bill Cody Museum. Not far away and also walkable was historic downtown Cody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff's Corner
Business
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Sep 13, 2013

Vacation Getaway

I thought the room overall was clean and nice but was overpriced for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HMikrot
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Aug 21, 2013

Best western review

The hotel was a very nice one, the front desk is great, very helpful and prompt. However my only complaints was the bed wasn't as comfortable as i was hoping it would be. But all in all the hotel was a good one to stay at for our road trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lumi
Business
phoenix, az
Aug 2, 2013

vacation

The room was not very clean, smelled bad, no hair conditioner, lousy coffee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wein
Business
Cody Wyoming
Jul 28, 2013

average

wife did not like the old style drive up and park next to your room. She was expecting more of a high rise modern type. we were charged to much for that type of accommodations. average price for military was 120.00. We were charged . 175.00 per night. They claimed it was the best rate. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hanabifan
Business
Houston
Jul 26, 2013

Average level

Nothing perfect, Nothing bad. Breakfast is not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top