$57 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

Super 8 Morgantown

2 stars
603 Venture Dr, Morgantown, WV 26503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
44 reviews
Nice Hotel

Staff was friendly, Hotel was clean and in good location. See full review

  • Jennifer Great Vacation
  • Oct 10, 2013
if you must go to morgantown...

Right off the interstate. Shopping and food right outside your door. Clean rooms. Friendly staff.... See full review

  • wvtravler
  • Jun 3, 2013
Older hotel is convenient to interstate and West Virginia University

The Super 8 Morgantown in Morgantown, West Virginia, just off the interstate, is a convenient place to stay for those visiting nearby West Virginia University. The hotel's parking lot provides plentiful space for trucks, busses, and RVs. However, the hotel has limited amenities. Those free amenities include free high-speed Internet, free breakfast, and free local calls. The hotel welcomes pets for a fee. 

Highlights

  • Pet-friendly property
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Free parking for trucks, busses, and RVs

Rooms

The 58 guestrooms at Super 8 Morgantown have outdated furnishings with bedding that could use an update. High-speed Internet access is available in guestrooms, and pets are welcome for a fee.

Features

The Super 8 Morgantown in Morgantown, West Virginia, is located just off Interstate 68, in a shopping center with national chain stores, such as Lowe's and Books-a-Million. The hotel is a convenient place to stay for those visiting nearby West Virginia University. The parking lot provides plentiful space for trucks, busses, and RVs. Pets are welcome for a fee.

The hotel offers minimal amenities. Those free amenities include free high-speed Internet and free local calls. The free continental breakfast here is called the Super Start Breakfast, which has baked goods, juice, milk, and coffee. The hotel does not have an on-site restaurant, but Ruby Tuesday and Outback Steakhouse restaurants are nearby.

Transportation

  • Morgantown Municipal Airport (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (90 mi/144 km)

Nearby attractions

  • West Virginia University (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Downtown Morgantown (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Mountaineer Mall (6.7 mi/10.7 km)

Business

  • One meeting room can accommodate approximately 15

Hotel Map

39.6484 -79.897
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Morgantown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Mountaineer Field: 3.1 mi
  • WVU Coliseum: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Morgantown

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 44
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Morgantown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
G mon
Business
Hanover, pa
Nov 18, 2014

checked out as soon as we walked in room

Our room smelt like animal urine and the bed spread looked like it had been on bed since 1970. On the queen size bed were only two pillows. The whole hotel looked run down and poorly managed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location, just poorly run.

Review of Super 8 Morgantown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
meistercac65
Business
Inwood, WV
Nov 4, 2013

Super 8? Super 5.5, maybe.

Bathroom not up to our cleanliness standards. Breakfast on Saturday morning from 5:30-9:00? Really? Any other hotel I've stayed in has breakfast until 10:00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Morgantown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nytehawk
Business
Northern Virginia
Aug 13, 2012

Not Bad For The Price

Considering it was one of the cheapest hotels in the West Virginia University area, it's hard to complain about much. You get what you pay for. I guess what stood out was how thin the walls were. You can hear muffled conversations, TV's, doors slamming and crying babies relatively easily. Fortunately the noise died down when we were ready for bed. The towels we had were dirty but they exchanged them for cleaner ones. My daughter is attending WVU and we came up a day early to get the "lay of the land" so to speak. We got a good night sleep and had decent wifi service and that's what counted for me. Not sure I would stay here longer than a couple of nights. Lots of places to eat within walking distance like Outback, Ruby Tuesdays, Bob Evans and IHOP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Morgantown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
State Honor Chorus
Business
Denver, Catawba Springs, NC, USA
Mar 19, 2012

State Honor Chorus

The staff was warm and friendly. They also provided a very useful map to the various locations on WVUs campus. It was a very pleasant stay will be visiting again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Morgantown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis
May 16, 2011

Nice for the Price

Visited our kids at WVU . . . hotel was a good value for the price . . . near restaurants and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Morgantown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staunton VA
May 16, 2010

Truly Super!

I was traveling to my son's graduation from West Virginia University with my 75-year-old mother who doesn't climb stairs very well. When I learned we were on the second floor, I though "uh oh!" No problem! There was an elevator. The non-smoking rooms were clean and fresh--no lingering smoke odor--the beds and bathroom were big and there were many amenities I didn't expect (microwave, fridge, in-room safe, alarm clock, etc.) The desk staff were very pleasant and the continental breakfast was much more than we expected. The location was ideal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of dining options available within walking distance--the restaurant we ate at was a five-minute drive.

Review of Super 8 Morgantown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
seniorchick
Business
WV
Dec 14, 2009

Nothing fancy

If you're looking for a very basic place to just sleep and not much else, then this would be a good choice. The staff was friendly & they did accommodate our request to check in one hour early. (I had called ahead a few days to ask.) It very basic - bed, tv, good lighting, clean bathroom, comfortable bed. This is definitely a stop-over-to-rest hotel. We were in town for a wedding followed by our daughter's graduation the next day & it met all of our needs. If you're looking for plush robes, an exercise room, etc - then this isn't for you. But if you need a clean, basic room to sleep for the night, it's a good, economical choice. Also, there are several family-style restaurants less than a mile away which is also very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several restaurants and a grocery store are within a half-mile radius of the hotel.

Review of Super 8 Morgantown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Dec 13, 2009

Good accommodation at a reasonable price

The Super 8 is pet friendly and just off I-68. There are lots of restaurants and shopping nearby with a Ruby Tuesday just across the street. The motel also serves a refreshing continental style breakfast and has free hi-speed Web access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Morgantown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College bound...
Business
Huntington, NY
Oct 21, 2009

Nothing fancy but great value

The hotel was adequate for our stay. Nothing fancy but overall a good value for the money. Breakfast included!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Morgantown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rosemary - WVU Mom
Business
Collingswood, New Jersey
Oct 7, 2009

OK Hotel for the price

This hotel is great if you are not planning on being in the room a lot. Did have a room with a recliner and that was nice. Our son is attending WVU so it was fine for a place to sleep. Breakfast was ok, did not have an extra employee re-filling the items so you had to wait for some items. Housekeeping came to clean the room at 9am and we were not ready for her so our room was never cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants in the same Center were great. If you are in Morgantown during a busy time (Move in, move out, parents weekend, big games) using these restaurants has less wait, the ones closer to the center of the school are very crowded. There is an Outback and a Ruby Tuesday as well as an IHOP.

Back to menu Return to top