$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

2 stars
15 Lawless Road, Morgantown, WV 26505
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
33 reviews
Travel with Mountaineers

Newer motel by Wyndham, lives up to their standards, clean fresh, cookies and soup in the evening... See full review

  • turkey neck
  • Aug 23, 2014
one night stay

super value and very helpful staff.. No additional comments about stay. Is this long enough ? See full review

  • red rider
  • Mar 6, 2012
Relax at the consistently enjoyable Microtel Inn and Suites by Wyndham Morgantown hotel conveniently located off Interstate 79. Walk to Morgantown Mall, or take a tour of nearby West Virginia University. Try award-winning wine at Forks of Cheat Winery, and enjoy biking and leisurely strolls along the Caperton Trail with a great view of the Monongahela River. Find delicious meals at restaurants less than a mile from this lodging. Enjoy modern comfort at affordable rates at this lodging with a complimentary 24-hour self-service business center with computer. Wake up to a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, and connect to the complimentary high-speed Internet to plan your day. Refresh in your stylish guest room with hairdryer and coffee-maker. Suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging, and there is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Hotel Map

39.6302 -79.9934
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • WVU Coliseum: 1.5 mi
  • Mountaineer Field: 2.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 33
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nic Fury
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Mar 12, 2014

Average stay

While the room was clean and met my needs, that is all it did. The staff - while extremely friendly at first - showed incompetence on several occasions and refused to give me change so they "could have change in case someone else needed it." The breakfast offered was almost non-existent. Half of the items they offered were either broken or out. The waffles were pre-made and left sitting out in a container from the day before - saw them on the counter when I checked in at 6pm and it hadnt moved the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in WV
Business
New Jersey
Aug 7, 2012

Poor Choice

The management at this hotel moved our personal belongings into another room without our permission, while we were out. My iPOD was missing after this move, but they seemed unconcerned that they either lost it or it was taken. Still in the process of trying to get some restitution. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for other reasons as well - it was less than mediocre. Beds are uncomfortable (cheap mattresses), rooms are not very clean, breakfast is extremely limited, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WV sightseer
Business
WV
May 29, 2012

Wow, great value, clean room!

I was very leary of this hotel because of the reviews. I took a chance anyway because it was more affordable for me. I was very impressed with Brandon, the attendee at the front desk. There was a computer glitch, and he upgraded my room to a suite at no additional charge. When I got up to my room, about 5 minutes later, I got a call and Brandon was checking in to make sure the room met my expectations. I was very impressed. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is minimal and basic, such as cold hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, cereal and muffins and bagels, but it was plenty for my tastes.The hotel was located right off the exit and directly across from the mall, which came in handy I wi when I wanted to go shopping. ll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

In order to skip heavy lines, try sitting at the bar instead. The service is great and your wait time is decreased dramatically. Not recommended for families with children/teens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mack
Business
Michigan
May 5, 2012

A little noisey

The room was very nice, and the staff was very friendly, the only complaint was that the room was not very sound proof .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ejulse
Business
Nunda, NY, USA
Apr 25, 2012

One night stay.

We received excellent service while we stayed. its was only overnight but the staff was courteous and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
red rider
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Mar 6, 2012

one night stay

super value and very helpful staff.. No additional comments about stay. Is this long enough ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

easy on/off for interstate

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shiree
Business
Ramona, CA 92065, USA
Nov 7, 2011

///Visiting Relatives

Hotel kept very clean including breakfast area. Staff friendly. Able to get to and from hotel easily. Shopping Mall right above on the hill. Maybe to convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WVUmom
Business
New Jersey, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Great price, below average hotel

Positives: Great location,beside Morgatown Mall, Right off Hwy 79, 8 minutes from WVU. Free Continental Breakfast, Hot water for tea and hot chocolate always available in lobby, fresh fruit in lobby. Nice window seat in room. Negatives: Absolutely don't even try to check in before 3 pm - they are not accomodating about this. Some disrespectful guest left a trail of mud from the entrance to the hotel, down the first floor hallway, up the stairs and on to the 4th floor. This was never cleaned up the whole weekend. Pillows on the bed were lumpy. The maid barely cleaned our room the second day, comforter was just thrown over the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Overlook at Cooper's Rock - worth the 15 minute drive from WVU. Spectacular view of the river and fall foliage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerVJD
Business
Springfield, MA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Clean and Comfortable

If all you need is to get a good nights sleep in a clean, comfortable hotel for a low price, this is the place. We had a double-queen room which included a mini refrigerator and microwave. The room was definitely on the small side which, if you are staying for more than a few nights, might start to feel a bit claustrophobic (we stayed 1 full week; too long in such a small space). However, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and having the refrigerator was great. We noticed some guests had pets but we had no issue with noise. One area that could use some improvement is the complimentary breakfast. It was mainly cold options: cereals, bagels, muffins, yogurt, etc. Frozen waffles and envelopes of oatmeal were available which you could heat up. We've stayed at other hotels (equal in price and quality) that have provided eggs, freshly made waffles, home fries, etc....so we were expecting the same at Microtel. If you are looking to get a good "hot" breakfast in the morning, you won't get it here. There was also very limited seating available in the breakfast area (literally 2 tables), so you may find yourself taking your cold bowl of cereal to the couch in the hotel lobby or to your room to eat. This hotel is definitely a good value for the price. It was right near the highway, next door to a mall and very close to various restaurants. I would recommend this hotel for a brief 1 or 2 night stay. Any longer than that, you might start feeling the affects of being in such a small room and/or grow tired of the flimsy breakfast choices. I would also recommend to singles or couples but probably not to families since the rooms are so small and there is no pool or workout facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 17, 2011

Microtel, Morgantown, W. Virginia

Our stay at the motel was very enjoyable [...]. The walls were a little thin and we could hear the people in the next room talking. All-in-all, it was a nice motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Bob Evans and a Burger King right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top