$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Pullman Plaza Hotel

3 stars
1001 3rd Ave, Huntington, WV 25701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
101 reviews
Great experience

We arrived earlier than expected and were just planning on parking in the hotel garage and checking... See full review

  • sharkbaitdz
  • Aug 18, 2014
Amazing visit!

The room was amazing! The staff was very amazing thought and courteous!!! I will be staying there... See full review

  • Samanthap
  • Mar 18, 2014
Few hotels in Southern West Virginia compare with our convenience service and amenities. The guest rooms and suites at the Pullman Plaza Hotel are each designed with your comfort in mind. In-room movies coffee makers plus voice mail and data ports are provided for your enjoyment and convenience. In addition to the magnificent view of the Ohio River from our upper floors we offer privately keyed Business Class Rooms or Suites featuring two phone lines micro-fridges and tubs with jets on the side. There is also an outdoor swimming pool and Health Center featuring Nautilus machines to keep you fit and.Our convenient location gives you easy access to the areas business centers and popular attractions. We are just twenty minutes away from the Tri-State Airport and offer fast interstate access to downtown Huntington. Marshall University the home of several championships is just minutes away.

Hotel Map

38.4222 -82.4425
Nearby airports
Tri-State/Milton J. Ferguson Field, (HTS), 15.00, MI, E; Yeager Airport, (CRW), 50.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pullman Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Pullman Plaza Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
1 King Sleep Number Bed or Two Double Sleep Number Beds.
Standard
King Pool View-Rooms include all of the amenities to make your stay feel like a home away from home with a plush king bed. High speed wired internet. A full size iron/board. Coffeemaker. Bathrooms include a full bath.
Executive
Executive King Pool View-Includes free internet both through data port and WiFi. Kick back after a hard days work to a comp-in-room movie offered through your tv system and be sure to try our comp- full breakfast in the patio room the next morning.
Executive
Executive Double River View-Room includes free internet both through data port and wireless and free local calls. Comp-in-room movie offered through your tv system and be sure to try our complimentary full breakfast in the patio room the next morning.
Executive
Executive Double Pool View-Room includes free internet both through data port and wireless and free local calls. Comp-in-room movie offered through your tv system and be sure to try our complimentary full breakfast in the patio room the next morning.
Executive
Executive King River View-Includes free internet. Both through data port and wireless and free local calls. In-room movie offered through your tv system and be sure to try our complimentary full breakfast in the patio room the next morning.
Standard
1 King or Two Doubles
Standard
Double Pool View-Rooms include all of the amenities to make your stay feel like a home away from home. Including plush double beds. High speed WiFi. Iron/board. Coffeemaker. Bath includes a full bath with vanities stocked with luxurious bath essentials.
Standard
King River View-Rooms include all of the amenities to make your stay feel like a home away from home with plush king bed. High speed wired internet. Iron/board. Coffeemaker with complimentary coffee. Bathrooms include a full bath.
Standard
Double River View-Our deluxe rooms include all of the amenities to make your stay feel like a home away from home. Including a plush king bed. High speed wired internet. Iron. Coffeemaker with complimentary coffee. Our deluxe bathrooms include full bath.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Joan C. Edwards Stadium: 1.2 mi

Dining

The Patio Room
The patio room serves a variety of tempting favorites for breakfast and lunch in an atmosphere of casual elegance. Private dining also available.
Coach Bobby Pruetts Steakhouse
Relax in Coach Bobby Pruetts Steakhouse for your favorite cocktail and indulge your palate with exciting creations by our chef. We specialize in the finest cuts of USDA choice beef

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for Pullman Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pullman Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WV
Mar 20, 2011

Blast from the Past

Stayed at this hotel while traveling to a wedding. It was nice, but very outdated. Definitely needs a remodel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pullman Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Mar 14, 2011

Helpful staff

Nice small, quaint downtown area with plenty of dining options and shops just steps away from hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marshall Hall of Fame restaurant offers good food at reasonable prices, especially during happy hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pullman Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Mar 14, 2011

Convenient locale

Friendly a d helpful desk staff. Hotel provided shuttle service to and from Amtrak station as well as free parking while we were elsewhere for several days. Free cocktail and buffet breakfast a definite plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pullman Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Oh
Mar 7, 2011

Jill's Family reunion

We had the riverview room with double beds as requested. The staff was very friendly and helpful during entire stay. We each received a ticket for a drink in the lounge and one for a nice hot breakfast. The beds were so comfortable. We walked across the street to Red Lobster for dinner. Afterwards we walked around downtown and were really pleased with the unique shops. There was a cinema and comedy club across the street along with other restaurants. There were clubs with live music within a couple of blocks. Could not have gotten a better deal! We will definitely stay at the Pullman again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice shop with the most unique dresses, shoes and purses with reasonable prices in Pullman Plaza but don't remember the name. It is within one block from hotel and stayed open until 11 PM. It was nice since it was just my sister and myself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pullman Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
Dec 17, 2010

dont stay here

The people were nice however it was not well kept our he'd sheets had clearly not been changed from the last guest and the blanket had burn holes. the restaurant inside was overpriced. they valet your.car which would be nice if we hadn't been worried we weren't going to get it back at the end of our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pullman Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 17, 2010

Lovely hotel

Lively bar, very accommodating staff, comfortable amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Marshall University - pretty campus!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pullman Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Virginia
Nov 11, 2010

Not Impressed

The hotel was easy to locate but was old, dirty and noisy (walls are paper-thin). I was told valet parking was required, which I found to be inconvenient. Room service took more than an hour to deliver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pullman Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 30, 2010

A hotel in need!

I'll point out the two best attributes first...a great location and the room was clean. Other than that, this hotel is pretty much a disaster. Our first encounter was with the desk clerk who informed us at check-in that they would not honor the price that [...] had given us. She said it was a rate for government employees only and that we were not entitled to receive it. She said that only a manager could change that rule for us, even though we had written confirmation from [...]. And guess what, not one manager was on duty that night. So, the clerk finally gave us the room for one night (out of 4 booked) at the [...] rate. I was then told that a valet had to park my car, that there was no parking offered to us otherwise. Great...that meant I had to tip the valet every time I wanted to get my car or leave it. Not good. My wife and I gathered up all of our belongings out of the car, but no one ever offered to help us with our luggage. So, we took a cart and rolled it up to our room ourselves. The next day, I called to inquire about getting the [...] room rate for the next 3 nights. The Front Desk Manager was quick to tell me I could not have it. Again, not good. After my wife had a bit of a round with her on the phone, she said the General Manager would call us back. In fact, he did call back and apologize for the other employees. He then gave us the rate we had originally been quoted by [...]. The GM was very nice. However, it soon became clear to us that the hotel was in a bit of disarray. Neither one of the two elevators ever seemed to work properly. We usually resorted to using the stairs. The toilet in our room would not refill and thus could not be flushed. The room door would not let you exit without inserting the key card...which they managed to accidentally cancel on our second day so we couldn't enter our room. We had to walk downstairs (4 flights) to get it fixed. Right..the elevators were still not working! This hotel makes a big deal out of promoting two free drink tickets for every night of your stay, along with a free continental breakfast. When we checked in, the desk clerk refused to give us the drink tickets because "The bar isn't open on Sunday nights." After that, we had to go to the front desk and beg for the tickets every subsequent day of our stay. Ultimately, we managed to get four out of the eight tickets that were owed us. As far as the free continental breakfast, don't bother. Unless your idea of breakfast is a cup of yogurt, stale roll, or a banana. And to get it, they require that you seat yourself at a table and be served by a waitress--which necessitates a tip. During our stay, we seemed to hear a lot of phrases from employees such as; "We're not allowed to do that" or "I guess I'll give you a bottle of water with your free drink ticket, but I'm not supposed to." It seems as though someone who owns the Pullman Plaza Hotel needs to hire a secret shopper to give management a clue as to just how void of customer service there establishment really is. Or, maybe they should benchmark ANY other chain hotel such as a Marriott or Holiday Inn to find out how you're actually supposed to treat guests. Because right now...they just don't seem to get it. As the final straw, they managed to have our bill screwed up before we left (showing us staying 5 nights, not 4). The people working behind the front counter always seemed to be yucking it up with each other, but when I told them about the toilet not working the entire time we were there, the desk clerk never said, "I'm sorry for your inconvenience" or even "thank you for telling us." She merely picked up the phone and called maintenance. Of course, I'm sure he was probably out somewhere making "Out of Order" signs for the elevator. Skip this hotel and go to the Holiday Inn down the street, or to one of the other hotels in the surrounding area. You'll be glad you did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A great movie theater and a couple of nice restaurants in Pullman Plaza, practically across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pullman Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portsmouth oh
Oct 24, 2010

great location

[...] valet terrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pullman Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
needs repair hotel
Business
all over
Oct 18, 2010

bad check-in [...]

[...] very rude, did not expain amenities,wallpaper and carpot loose inrooms and hall,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top