$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA

3 stars
800 Third Avenue, Huntington, WV 25701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
35 reviews
Great weekend getaway

We had tickets to an event at the Big Sandy Civic Center. This hotel location was next door and... See full review

  • WV Jim
  • Nov 10, 2013
Good, practical place in Huntington

I think this hotel is about as good as it can get in the Huntington area. The location is its... See full review

  • Maria from VT
  • Aug 26, 2014
Huntington Hotel's Location is near Marshall University Home to the Thundering Herd, the town of Huntington sits along the scenic Ohio River near the West Virginia, Ohio and Kentucky border. At the all-suite Holiday Inn® Hotel & Suites Huntington - Civic Arena, the hotel's guests enjoy a convenient downtown location next door to Big Sandy Superstore Arena. Situated in the heart of downtown Huntington, this hotel places you within walking distance of most of the city's major attractions, including Marshall University. With Pullman Square right next door, you can enjoy shopping or grab a bite to eat. Enjoy the outdoors at beautiful Ritter Park or see the incredible glass collection at the Huntington Museum of Art. In addition to the Big Sandy Superstore Arena, this Huntington hotel is also near a number of companies, including CSX, Steel of West Virginia and Special Metals. Corporate travelers find the Business Center and free Wi-Fi access make staying productive easy, and there is an on-site meeting room that seats up to 20 people for small conferences. Modern amenities and comfortable accommodations await our hotel's guests in Huntington, WV. This full-service hotel has outstanding amenities, such as a state-of-the-art Fitness Center, indoor pool and a free shuttle to Tri-State Airport with advance notice. We offer room service through our restaurant, River Cafe. Experience the best at the Holiday Inn® Hotel & Suites Huntington!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Joan C. Edwards Stadium: 1.4 mi

Dining

Rivercafe
American Breakfast Buffett at 7.95 per person kids 12 and under eat free with a paying adult up to 4 kids you can also order from our menu. Dinner is also served by menu only with a large variety to choose from.
Max & Erma's
American fare
Uno's Chicago Grill
American and Italian
Marshall Hall of Fame Cafe
Very nice, restaurant, sports bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wvcountrygirl
Business
summersville, wv
Feb 13, 2011

terrible

terrible i will never stay there again. we were ther 3 days they didnt change the bedding my son got ketchup on the bed and 3 days later it was still there i went to the front desk the mgr said i can get you clean sheets and you can change them yourself. then they only gave us 2 towels for 4 people and no wash coths. then the third night we had drunk ppl in the room next to us they finally madew them leave at 4am they said they would refund us for that night but then the mgr said she wouldnt [...]for a dirty room an rude service. i will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Mitzi Experience
Business
KY
Jul 21, 2014

Average Hotel Far Below Average Customer Service

Old somewhat run down rooms and furniture. Wifi does not work well in rooms only in lobby area, which is common in hotels with subpar internet set ups, makes it difficult for business travelers. Customer service horrible. Upon checkout, Front desk clerk Mitzi, charged my credit card the full price of the room. I explained that I had already paid through my travel website and she looked at me like a trout. She had never heard of my travel website and had no idea how a travel website worked. I called my travel website on my cell and handed the phone to her. The website explained the procedure to her. Yaay travel website, BOOO Holiday Inn. Mitzi was rude, unprofessional and spoke to me, the customer like you would not believe. If it was my business I would have fired her on the spot. Will never stay there again and will not let my employees stay there either. Holiday Inn you have a real customer service problem with Mitzi and I am guessing this is not the first complaint that you received regarding her subpar service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
May 4, 2008

C+

This was my second stay at this Holiday Inn. I was in Huntington for a family gathering, and all family members were staying at this hotel. The front desk staff was very kind and friendly, but we had several issues. The hotel did not seem to be prepared for a full house, as our room never got cleaned - as the housekeeper came to the door at 4:30 pm, to clean, while we were getting ready to go back out for the evening. The excuse was that they had a very busy day. Another issue was that the restaurant was not prepared for 100 people coming down to the buffet at the same time, so they ran out of food. Also, our air conditioner leaked across the entire floor of the bedroom area, so the carpet was soaked, which was pretty nasty everytime you got out of bed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clear Thinking American
Business
Virginia
Dec 11, 2011

The bed was horrible.

The bed was extremely uncomfortable. You should ask for a mattress pad before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jewel City Seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clear Thinking American
Business
Virginia
Dec 11, 2011

The bed was horrible.

We got a room with one king size bed and it was horribly uncomfortable. Location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Everyone that visits Huntington should eat at Frostop Drive In. Best hotdogs ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aum engineer
Business
baton rouge, la
Oct 8, 2012

good hotel but....

This is a nice place to stay while in huntington, but thats because you do not have a lot of options! overall it isnt bad, and i will stay there again. the AC was malfunctioning which was a bit of a pain, atleast it was nice weather out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sales Traveler
Business
Charlotte,NC
Oct 19, 2012

ok Stay

The stay was ok. I didn't realize that I would be in a smoking room. Location was great and staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mghnsfrd
Business
Lexington, Kentucky
Dec 29, 2012

Great location

This is a nice clean comfortable hotel. The location was great! Located in the middle of town with good shopping and many good eating establishments nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michelle RN
Business
Ohio
Mar 11, 2013

Date night

The room wasn't bad but it's loud at night. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you go to Cold Stone Creamery for Icecream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites HUNTINGTON-CIVIC ARENA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richlands, Va
Nov 22, 2009

LOVED THIS HOTEL

This hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to many stores, places to eat, a movie theater and civic center. The staff was very friendly. Actually seemed like they liked their jobs!!! I would stay here again in a heart beat. The only thing is i wish it had free breakfast. The food prices were alittle over priced. Overall i was very happy w/ my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top