$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER

3 stars
100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
31 reviews
Great hotel

The rooms were awesome and the bed very comfortable. Nice location near the mall and the included... See full review

  • Beach guy 123
  • Jun 25, 2014
It was so easy

I had gotten a late start and knew I would be arriving late. I walked in, presented my ID and was... See full review

  • George47
  • Jun 15, 2013
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center, Charleston's Premier Hotel for both Business and Pleasure Perfectly situated in the heart of the downtown business district, we are directly adjacent to the Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Town Center and just one mile from the WV State Capitol Complex. We are also easily accessible from I-77, I-64 and I-79. Enjoy a complimentary Express Start Hot Breakfast buffet served daily featuring our Quickstart Pancake Station along with our world famous Cinnamon Rolls. Our Express Market, open 24/7, offers a wide selection of both hot and cold food and beverage items. Enjoy a workout in our state-of-the-art fitness center before or after a busy day. Keeping up with current events, family and your business needs have never been easier with our free high-speed Internet service, complimentary 24-hour business center and our guest interactive information board. Our professional meeting planners coupled with our tastefully appointed and flexible meeting space can provide all of the necessary elements to assure the success of you next meeting or social event. Charleston's finest and family friendly restaurants are within a short walk of us, and our complimentary shuttle service is available 24-hours per day for transportation to and from Charleston's Yeager Airport. For the perfect blend of contemporary elegance, comfort and convenience, please allow us to show you what true West Virginia hospitality is all about!

Hotel Map

38.3545 -81.6423
Nearby airports
Yeager Airport, (CRW), 5.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Outlet adapters
Temperature control
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
csauer
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jan 29, 2014

Convenient to downtown Charleston

In walking distance of downtown Charleston. Great 24 hour shuttle from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

24 hour airport shuttle.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JerryB1
Business
Florida
May 11, 2012

holiday inn express

Room was spacious and comfortable. The included breakfast buffet was great. At a big selection and plenty of hot items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tidewater Grille in the TownCenter Mall is a very good place to dine.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Asheville, NC
Jul 28, 2009

Noisy - too close to the road

The room that we were assigned was so close to the road that we felt like we were on the road itself. Looking out the window it was only a distance of 300 yards to the busy road! We had checked in late and did not look out the window until the next morning to check on it. I was very glad that we only spent one night there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, NY
Aug 5, 2009

Location, location, location!

I went to West Virginia to visit my daughter. The hotel is just one block off the interstate, which made it extremely easy to access. The mall is a block or two away, giving you access to shops, Starbucks, fast food and sit down restaurants. The river is one block in the other direction and is a peaceful morning walk or after dinner stroll.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To cut costs on meals you can drive to the Kroger's and buy lunches there. Put together a picnic and eat by the river for a cool breeze and quite meal.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington, WV
Jul 27, 2011

Big Tip for Holiday Inn, Charleston, WV

Conference was called off, so we never went. Holiday Inn is the best place to stay for any events in Charleston, WV. However, Holiday Inn got to keep our money. However, that is okay, we know when we use online sources, that is going to be the way it is. THank You. The Clark's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Book ahead for any major events at the Civic Center or Charleston Auditorium. Mall is also across the street. East to get to and easy to get back on I-64

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Dec 1, 2009

Okay for a travel stop

We booked this room as a resting spot during holiday travel. We booked it because it said it was pet friendly but when we got there, they said they were not. They allowed us to stay but like usual -- not to let anyone see your dog!? So anyone looking to book a room with pets should be aware that it is a mistake that they are listed as pet friendly on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sabalo, Vagabond Technician
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Sep 8, 2009

Attention to Detail Lacking

I was traveling on business, and needed a simple, easily accessible place to stay while I worked. I've had overall good luck with the Holiday Inn brand over the past couple of years, so I booked with the Express at Civic Center. Upon arrival (a late arrival at midnight) I was given a double bed room (despite indicating and paying for a King) which lacked a desk and was somewhat noisy. My priority club number was not on file (second time this happened at this hotel.) Despite the lack of attention, the stay was fine, if mediocre. I'd stay here again, but only if the other local hotels were booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Mexican restaurant on McCorkle avenue is excellent.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
coshocton ohio
May 19, 2010

bad night of sleep

the beds were hard as a rock and very noisy did not get much sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LMWestChester
Business
Monroeville, PA
May 6, 2010

Unpleasant Stay

I was in Charleston on a 3 day business trip and thought the experience was one I would like to forget. I won't stay at that hotel again. It is nothing more than a poor rework of an old Holiday Inn. When I checked into the room I noticed an 8 to 10 inch strip of mold in the tile grout the first day I was there. I told the front desk about it, it was never fixed during my stay. Probably was a 5 minute job at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mall within 300 yds of the hotel and it convenient to the Civic Center. If I was going to stay in the area again, I would go to one of the 2 other hotels nearby.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON-CIVIC CENTER

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toledo, OH
Jul 14, 2007

Not the place to go to.

Maybe it was my fault, but we arrived at this hotel at midnight. The complimentary breakfast was over at 9 AM and we did not partake in it for obvious reasons. The price that I paid here was no where near what it deserved even on a good day. This location is not recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search