$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau

3 stars
View map of 201N 17th Ave, Wausau, WI 54401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
27 reviews
Peaceful and pleasant!

i always stay here when flying in and out of Wausau. It's comfortable and convenient. Nice staff... See full review

  • Lucinda R.
  • May 7, 2015
GREAT HOTEL

This is the place to go if your staying in Wausau Wi. Its ckean comfortable with a great staff that... See full review

  • Srave
  • Aug 23, 2014
The Plaza Hotel and Suites is situated in the center of Wausau approximately two miles from downtown Wausau and 10 miles from Central Wisconsin Airport. This location is also one mile from Marathon Park two miles from Washington Square three miles from Wausau Center Mall and Leigh Yawkey Art Museum six miles from High Roller Skating Center and eight miles from Mullins Cheese. Hotel amenities include 24HR fitness center,children's pool, two indoor pool's,sauna,two game rooms, Austin's Restaurant & Lounge and complimentary continental breakfast Wireless Internet, business center, conference center, audio/visual, guest laundry, complimentary newspaper, gift shop, free parking, complimentary tolietries.The Plaza hotel is a Smoke-free property (fines apply).

Minimum check-in age is 21. Please note, our pool has been repaired and is now open.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau also booked these hotels.

★★★
$65
3.5 / 5 32 reviews
★★★
$59
5.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★
$106
4.1 / 5 14 reviews
★★
$48
3.8 / 5 41 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.3 / 5 22 reviews
★★
$49
3.6 / 5 31 reviews
★★★★
$79
3.8 / 5 9 reviews
★★★
$98
4.1 / 5 12 reviews

The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau Rooms

STANDARD -1 Queen Bed
Room offers a Queen size bed with wireless Internet,air conditioning, alarm clock Radio, cable, color TV, hairdryer, iron-ironing board, microwave oven, refrigerator,coffee maker, telephone,voice mail.All rooms are non smoking.
STANDARD - 2 Double Beds
Room offers 2 double beds with wireless Internet,air conditioning, alarm clock Radio, cable, color TV, hairdryer, iron-ironing board, microwave oven,refrigerator,coffee maker, telephone,voice mail.All rooms are non smoking.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Austin's Restaurant and Lounge
This beautifully appointed restaurant is perfect for a romantic dinner for two or entire family. Serving heartly traditional American Cuisine. Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner, Austin's energetic staff is ready to serve in style.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrea B.
Couples
Gladwin
Jul 15, 2015

Good for one night

Overall a good hotel. Very interesting historic feeling to the hotel. Beds are average for comfort. Breakfast was awful with stale/dry doughnuts. Accommodating when pool was unavailable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucinda R.
Couples
N/A
May 7, 2015

Peaceful and pleasant!

i always stay here when flying in and out of Wausau. It's comfortable and convenient. Nice staff too! Try the walleye fish dinner. Very good and good for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Up77
Family
N/A
Jan 25, 2015

It was nice

It was nice, only complaint was the ice build up on the sliding door, it was cooold outside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Srave
Business
Maryland
Aug 23, 2014

GREAT HOTEL

This is the place to go if your staying in Wausau Wi. Its ckean comfortable with a great staff that worked with me and even upgraded my room for no charge. Definitely going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SPMara
Couples
Madison
Jul 20, 2014

Gross and dirty, pay for what you get

The room was filthy and the was fecal matter on our toilet. The pool was cold but the hotel was hot and musty. Staff never apologized for the unclean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
billbo1134
Couples
ec, wi
Jan 14, 2014

one night stay

Stayed for one night. Room was clean and comfortable. Good location. Hot tub was not hot...same temp as pool. Breakfast is very plain and ordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Upset Family 2014
Family
Chicago, IL
Jan 6, 2014

Horrible Family Experience

On January 4, after driving 6 hours our family of 5 arrived at the Plaza Hotel. We were assigned our 2 rooms. While in the 1st room, we noticed the lock on the outside sliding door had been previously broken and tampered with and would not lock. Also, the door handle to our room did not catch and the door did not close behind us, so we had to make sure to pull the handle tightly each time. We called the front desk and a maintenance person was sent to our room. The maintenance person agreed that with both of these doors not working properly we should be assigned a different room. Then the 2nd room, the door would not open properly when the card was put in, we had to keep putting the card in the door many times , sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn’t. We were assigned 2 other rooms. In the 3rd room once again the door handle would not close properly and would stay open as we left the room. In the 4th room, you could not open the door after putting the card in multiple times. Once again, these 2 rooms as the previous 2 rooms were safety issues. Now we were assigned to 2 other rooms. In the 5th room, again when you put the card in the door, it would not open, and had to keep putting the card in the door multiple times and sometimes it would open, sometimes it wouldn’t. Also the main light in the room did not work, and the microwave did not work. In the 6th room everything seemed to be working okay. We went back to the front desk and asked the front desk person what we should do since 5 of the 6 rooms had safety issues. She (the front desk person) got aggravated and called in the front desk manager (there was no manager at the Hotel on this night). When the front desk manager arrived, he was already in a bad mood and did not introduce himself to us, was rude to us, never apologized to us for all the trouble and inconvenience that we went through. The front desk manager denied there were any problems and told us there was no pleasing us. We said that we are not hard people to please and that these were safety issues in the 5 of out 6 rooms that were assigned to us and we did not feel safe staying in them. The front desk manager threw up his hands, denied there were any problems and told us to leave. After all the years of traveling and going on vacations with our children (who are now young adults) we had never experienced anything like this or been treated so terrible. At this point, we were happy to leave the hotel, as this front desk manager definitely had a temper. We left and went to the Hampton Inn. When we got there the front desk person said we looked tired. We told her how terrible our experience was at the Plaza Hotel. She apologized about the Plaza Hotel and assured us our experience at the Hampton Inn would be enjoyable and stress free. And she sure was right. The 2 rooms we were assigned were great, not a thing wrong with them, everything worked properly, and they were clean. And the Hampton Inn is closer to Granite Peak Skiing too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2014 Guest
Family
Chicago, Il
Jan 6, 2014

Wish I could give zero stars

Our family of five booked two rooms this past weekend as we were going skiing at Granite Peak. The first two rooms we were assigned, one had a door that would barely open even after ten tries. While the other, had a broken lock to the sliding glass door that led outside (obvious safety hazard.) When we called the front desk to explain our fridges were also not working, the front desk lady rudely stated she would send someone up to fix them. The gentleman fixed our fridges and then explained how the room with the broken lock was a safety hazard and we should get a new room. The front desk lady explained how there were no more available rooms and we questioned what to do as we did not feel safe or comfortable in this room. To our surprise, 2 rooms "magically became available". The next two rooms we were assigned, also had "sticky doors" but no comforters on the beds and were dirty. When we called the front desk, the lady hung up on us and left us confused on what to do. We went downstairs to, once again, magically be assigned two more rooms (we are now at 6 rooms that were assigned to us. Clearly, the front desk lied as she stated there were no more rooms) these last 2 rooms set us over the limit. They had jammed doors, there were broken lights and the microwave did not work. The lady at the front desk was not apologetic or trying to help us with the situation. Finally, the manager, Robert, was called in who was quite upset he had to drive in from home. When he got there, he rudely answered to my dad who stated he only wanted a room that was a safe as he has his 3 kids with him all under the age of 25. As my dad stated we are not hard people to please, the manager threw his hands up in a rage at my family and stated that we were wrong and he was going to call the police if we did not leave. When we explained about the problems we ran into with the doors, the lock, microwave, etc. the manager shook his head the entire time. We were not rude, only explaining that these are all safety hazards at his hotel and we only wanted a safe room. Robert kept throwing up his hands yelling how we were wrong. We finally left and went to stay at the Hampton Inn where they were apologetic to how awful our experience at the Plaza was and made sure our stay was perfect. I will make sure EVERY person knows how awful this hotel was and to never, NEVER consider this hotel. It was without a doubt, a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hockeymomof2
Friends
Wisconsin
Jan 28, 2013

Layed back

This is our 2nd trip to the Plaza. While it's definately not a 5 star hotel, it served my son's hockey team GREAT. The staff were friendly and accomidating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Plaza Hotel and Suites Wausau

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NIVEN
Friends
Racine, WI, USA
Feb 27, 2012

STAtE BOWLING

We enjoyed the bar, but the pool was too cold. The staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top