$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn and Conference Center

2 stars
2101 North Mountain Road, Wausau, WI 54401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
5 reviews
Great for Skiers/Snowboarders

Staff was great and friendly. Pool was nice, hot tub was great and had a chance to meet a lot of... See full review

  • sahmed
  • May 10, 2013
Very considerate to our roudy group

I was with a large group of 20somethings that were going snowboarding, and the staff was very... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 19, 2011
Stay happy at this Howard Johnson Inn and Conference Center conveniently located near Highway 51 and Interstate 39. Spend time in the great outdoors all year at Granite Peak and Rib Mountain State Park. See stock car races at State Park Speedway, baseball at Athletic Park, or concerts and performances at the Grand Theater just minutes away. After a fun day with the family, refuel with homestyle meals at Emma Krumbees onsite. Wake up to a complimentary newspaper before energizing the 24-hour fitness center or relaxing in the indoor pool and hot tub. Host a wedding in the banquet room, or a business event in the meeting and conference rooms. Plan an exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access. Microwave and refrigerator are available upon request. Suites, handicapped-accessible and Mountain-View rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

44.9327 -89.6618
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (5)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn and Conference Center

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sahmed
Chicago, IL
May 10, 2013

Great for Skiers/Snowboarders

Staff was great and friendly. Pool was nice, hot tub was great and had a chance to meet a lot of other friendly travelers. Definitely would stay again if I was looking for another hotel near Granite Peak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Speed Skiier
Door Co Wi
Jan 17, 2013

Ski trip to Granite Peak wi

I travel to Wausau Wi 5 to 7 times per year to ski a Granite Peak and stay 1 or 2 nites from Door Co wi about 185 miles or 3.5 hours of driving , so I need to stay at a place that is close to the Mountain and has a good rate and is clean , it doesn't need to be a 5 star motel , Howard Johnson fits the bill. Since I'm retired I always want to be wise with the expense of these trips that I make , the staff at H J is very good and helpful. I will continual to stay at H J as long as the service and motel rates stay within my cost range. Dale Thorson

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast at the H J is better than most other places in Wausua wi The dinners are good here , the price range is very far .

Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Jan 19, 2011

Very considerate to our roudy group

I was with a large group of 20somethings that were going snowboarding, and the staff was very considerate. They would notify us of complaints from other guests, but that was really a minimum since they kept us together and we took up almost an entire lower wing of the hotel. They let us drink in the hot tub, conference center, etc. If you have a large group of people, this place is great. Big hot tub, friendly bar and its ridiculously close to granite peak. NO breakfast buffet however :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Adrox
Big Lake, MN
Nov 28, 2010

It's a HoJo afterall

there are many better options in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Jun 17, 2007

good but no breakfast

Everything was great - clean room, comfortable, cool courtyard, nice pool, but some kind of continental breakvast would vastly improve the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Best Buy, Fazoli's, Wal Mart, Sams Club

Back to menu Return to top

Change search