$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel

3 stars
2901 Hummingbird Road, Wausau, WI 54401-7327
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
18 reviews
Good value, comfortable room, no surprises

The room was spacious and clean, with all of the expected amenities. The overall décor is somewhat... See full review

  • Luke P
  • Jun 11, 2014
Awesome spot!

Great value, awesome amenities, very clean. Came to Wausau for a friend's wedding and honestly was... See full review

  • SLove788
  • Jul 8, 2013
At our Wausau hotel guests can enjoy skiing at Granite Peak Ski Area in the winter or motorcycle rides like the Harley Davidson Tomahawk Fall Ride in warmer weather, any time is a great time to visit. Whether its a corporate event, wedding, or sports tournament that brings you to town, there are plenty of activities to keep you entertained. From the Badger State Games, Marathon County Youth Hockey tournaments, and softball tournaments to checking out the Wisconsin Valley Fair, theres never a dull moment in Central Wisconsin. Next to Granite Peak Ski Area and Rib Mountain State Park, were the closest hotel to some of the most incredible outdoor recreation sites. Enjoy scheduled shuttle service along with bike and walking trails right off the edge of the property. Relax in our domed tropical atrium pool area with a whirlpool, arcades, ping pong table and billiards table. Nothing beats a little R&R before exploring many of the unique local attractions such as the Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum where the Bird in Art Festival is held each fall. Were located next to I-39, US-51 and WI-29, with shopping only minutes away, including the Wausau Center Mall and many stores lining Rib Mountain Drive. Truck parking is available for rigs and RVs. Enjoy Broadway shows, comedians and concerts at the Grand Theater, several micro-breweries like Great Dane Pub, Red Eye Brewing Company and Bull Falls Brewery, and who could forget about the live music on the downtown 400 block throughout the summer. For guests here on business with Aspirus Hospitals and Marshfield Clinic, youll have a fast commute. Clients and employees of Greenheck Fan Corp., Marathon Cheese Corp., Kolbe and Kolbe & Kolbe Millwork Co. Inc and many other area businesses often call us their second home. If its a meeting that brings you here, you have over 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space with on-site catering at your service. Book your BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel room now!

Hotel Map

44.9306 -89.6662
Area served
Marathon City, Schofield, Kronenwetter, Brokaw, Rib Mountain, Mosinee, Weston, Rothschild
Nearby airports
(MSP), 176.00, MI, W;
Area description
Expressway

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PETFRD,HISPD,DESK,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,POOLVW,LOVEST,EASCHR,HISPD,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,POOLSD,2RMS,WHRPL,SOFA,EASYCHR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,EXTRA LRG RM,DESK,SITTINGAREA,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,DESK,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NO SMOKE,POOLSIDE,FRIDGE,HI SPEED,DESK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NO SMOKE,POOLVIEW,FRIDGE,HI SPEED,DESK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,POOLVW,HISPD,DESK,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED,REFRIG,COFMKR,HAIRDRYER,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFBD,DESK,MICRFG,HISPD,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,POOLVW,QMURPH,MICRFG,HISPD,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,FAMYRM,SOFBD,MICRFG,HISPD,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Solarium
Play ground
Driving range
Horseback riding
Cross country skiing
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Hoffman House Restaurant
Hoffman House Restaurant, on premises, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: dinner, Offering a well-rounded menu with great steaks. Open: Monday thru Thursday, 5:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., Friday and Saturday 4:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Outdoor Café
Outdoor Café, on premises, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: dinner, Open on seasonal basis
Cali's Grille Room
Cali's Grille Room, on premises, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: dinner, Lounge serving great food and drinks! Open: 4:00 p.m. to close Monday through Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Serena
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Absolutely horrible

This was my worst hotel experience EVER. My biggest complaint was NO WAKE UP CALL!l! I would have missed my flight but lucky for me the heater CLUNKED and clanged all night long and kept me awake. It clunked away even when I turned the heat off. Airport shuttle NEVER SUPPLIED as promised so they called me a cab. Hotel room key cards were not activited, UNFRIENDLY staff, MUSTY smelling room....are just some of my other issues I had with this place. When I complained, I never even received compensation, not even a "sorry"!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
francis sawyer
eagle river
Mar 15, 2013

ok for the price

Place is ok, they have full size beds so if you're not by yourself it's a tight squeeze in bed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tired of dirty hotels...
wausau, WI
Jul 6, 2014

Ants and spiders oh my!

Room: Dirty...a floss stick in bathroom lighting fixture..housekeeping should have easily seen during cleaning...DUSTY room=yuck (literally footprints in dust on heating vent!...Dirty ice bucket...everything felt sticky...not good with young kids touching everything! Ants were crawling on desk area-had to throw out pizza we just ordered in fear that it was covered in ants...Beds are double beds...very small for 2 people...bathroom was gross...wallpaper dirty and stained and bath tiles falling apart... Pool-Hotel has nice pool area but a VERY large spider was floating in it...along with other garbage hanging out on bottom of the pool...not a great first pool experience for the young ones. The pool area was to close at 11pm but we heard loud screaming and "cannonball" coming from pool area until much later. Lots of yelling and loud music throughout the middle of the night...not a relaxing experience...music seemed to be from hotel itself...very loud if in poolside room at 2am...not sure why they had music piped in pool area at that hour... Breakfast-don't let the pictures on the website fool you...there is NOT a great looking buffet...it is simply a table with some unattractive, tasteless items on it...wait staff hovered to attempt their tip #which a sign encouraged you to leave# but coffee on buffet was empty entire time we ate...had to ask for cups for the juice that was out...no utensils available...dirty tables...maybe instead of following you around to try and get you to tip they should have been paying attention to sad buffet... Housekeeping-left a vacuum right in middle of lobby door area with cord blocking door from opening, while they went out front to smoke, so in order for me to get out door to get luggage cart I had to move the vacuum and cord while they watched me struggle to do so with 2 young kids... Bar/restaurant-we were excited to have a hotel with bar/restaurant to avoid having to leave for dinner but they said they decided to close so staff could all go to fireworks together...would have been nice to know before getting there #like check in#... Not the worst hotel I have ever had...but pretty close...for $10 more we could have stayed at The Plaza right down the road...why oh why didn't I pick the Plaza???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Jun 4, 2011

A well priced hotel

The hotel was surprisingly nice. A decent bed and large room, complemented the pool area with heated pool and hot tub. There weren't any screaming, unmonitored kids in the pool area either which I'm sure helped. It is in a convenient location right off the highway near Rib Mountain too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnapolis, MN
Oct 7, 2010

All rigth Business Getaway

Nice hotel, clean and quiet. Dinning services very poor. I would not eat in their resturaunt again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eau Claire, WI
May 3, 2011

Clean, No Frills Room

I've stayed at this hotel before because it is clean and it is cheap. The staff are pleasant. The beds were comfortable, and the room was spacious. We stayed in a room on the second floor this time and probably will avoid that in the future--there is no elevator in this hotel. Taking our luggage up and down the very steep long stairway was not fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fitzy sp
Business
St Paul
Aug 22, 2012

ok what is expected

nothing out of the ordinary, what would be expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee
Jul 20, 2010

It was ok

It was a bed and a shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Distance Driving Mom
Belleville,WI
Nov 30, 2009

Great location and price for the area!

We were there for Thanksgiving/Black Friday. Breakfast was helpful to have onsite, including it with the room was awesome! Extra bedding and pool towels were hard to come by. Staff was friendly and helpful, did the best they could under circumstances, combined with price and location, we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Midway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Nov 21, 2009

Great Hotel, Would stay there again!

Good service, clean and large room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search