$196 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

The Pfister Hotel

4 stars
424 East Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
179 reviews
The first time...

Was surprised by the old world charm and elegance of this hotel. The front desk was very helpful as... See full review

  • T and P
  • Jul 22, 2014
overnight getaway

Love this hotel. Old world elegance, friendly staff, perfect downtown location. See full review

  • cabin fever chick
  • Apr 6, 2014
Setting the standard in Milwaukee for more than a century

Pfister Hotel, built in 1893, sets the standard for gracious accommodations. The lobby's ceiling, intended to replicate the original skylight, provides guests with an uplifting, step-back-in-time experience. Guests savor dozens of 19th- and early-20th-century paintings hung in public areas of the hotel from the collection of founder Guido Pfister. Amenities include an indoor pool, fitness center, spa, and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Beautiful architecture in historic original building
  • Spa and salon
  • Indoor pool and fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • Wi-Fi access (for a fee)
Rooms

All 307 rooms come in a variety of configurations, both in the original building and the newer tower. The hotel offers rooms with double and king-size beds, as well as 82 suites with sitting rooms, wet bars, and extra luxurious bathrooms. Many rooms include flat-screen televisions and iPod-compatible alarm clocks, as well as deluxe WELL spa amenities in bathrooms.

Features

Pfister Hotel's indoor pool, modern fitness center, and stylish martini bar, Blu, all located on the 23rd floor of the tower, offer spectacular lake and city views.

 

Mason Street Grill on the ground floor offers wood-grilled steaks, private dining, and function rooms. The original hotel building includes several interesting offerings, including the stunning lobby bar and Sunday brunch in the spectacular historic dining room, Rouge. There is also casual dining at the Café Pfister.

 

The WELL Spa + Janice Salon occupy space originally filled by the hotel's Turkish baths. Guests enjoy a two-room spa suite, including a private bathroom and shower, heated floors, and iPod hookup. Treatments include a wide variety of body, mind, tanning, and wellness offerings. The salon staff handles makeup, hair, and nails.

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Public buses
Nearby attractions
  • Milwaukee Art Museum (0.53 mi/0.85 km)
  • Lakefront Brewery (1.4 mi/2.25 km)
  • Bradley Center (0.9 mi/1.44 km)
Business
  • More than 25,000 square feet of meeting space in a variety of configurations
  • Seventh-floor conference and event spaces combine high-tech and old-world elegance
  • Original artwork, marble decor, lavish draperies, and chandeliers
  • Projection booth, sound and light system, teleconferencing
  • Elevator large enough to transport a car

Hotel Map

43.0395 -87.9058
Area served
Milwaukee, WI.
Nearby airports
Mitchell International Airport.
Area description
Located just a few blocks from beautiful Lake Michigan, The Pfister is within walking distance of the city's many festivals held throughout the summer at the lakefront. In addition, specialty shops line Jefferson Street next to The Pfister, and The Grand Avenue mall is a few blocks west on Wisconsin Avenue. Milwaukee's Historic Third Ward, exciting Theater and Entertainment District are also within walking distance of The Pfister Hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pfister Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Pfister Hotel Rooms

Pfister King Accessible
A tastefully appointed guestroom celebrating the Grand Elegance and Historic Tradition of the original Pfister hotel built in 1893. Enjoy the charm of high ceilings, crown moldings, and the fine detail of an era gone by, while still experiencing the modern conveniences of today. Each guestroom is equipped with a 42 plasma TV, an MP3 compatible radio, and a work station with high speed wireless access. Your deluxe Pfister King Accessible Room features one king bed, and iron/board, in-room safe, WELL Spa + Salon robes, a hairdryer and makeup mirror.
Pfister King with Roll-in Shower
A tastefully appointed guestroom celebrating the Grand Elegance and Historic Tradition of the original Pfister hotel built in 1893. Enjoy the charm of high ceilings, crown moldings, and the fine detail of an era gone by, while still experiencing the modern conveniences of today. Each guestroom is equipped with a 42 plasma TV, an MP3 compatible radio, and a work station with high speed wireless access. Your deluxe Pfister King with Roll-in Shower Room features one king bed, and iron/board, in-room safe, WELL Spa + Salon robes, a hairdryer and makeup mirror.
Grand Tower King with Roll-in Shower
History meets modern luxury in this newly renovated section of the Pfister hotel. Spectacular city views from these naturally lit guestrooms. Grand Tower Accessible Room includes one king size bed, marble bathroom with roll-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer. Panoramic views of Lake Michigan and the city landscape are a highlight of the naturally lit home-away-from-home.
Pfister Room
The guestroom features,in-room safe and complimentary nightly shoeshine. In addition to standard amenities offered in all guestrooms, this room type includes oversized workstations.
Salon Room
The guestroom features,in-room safe and complimentary nightly shoeshine. In addition to standard amenities offered in all guestrooms, this room type includes oversized workstations.
Tower Room
This guestroom features *Feather bed toppers and blankets * LCD Flat Panel TVs * iPod/MP3 Compatible Radio/alarm * Cordless Phones * Deluxe WELL Spa toiletries * Bathrooms with hair dryer and telephone * Iron and ironing board * 24-hour movies * Wireless high-speed Internet access (additional fee)
Grand Tower Room
History meets modern luxury in this newly renovated section of the Pfister hotel. Spectacular city views from these naturally lit guestrooms. Grand Tower Room includes, marble bathroom with walk-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer. Panoramic views of Lake Michigan and the city landscape are a highlight of the naturally lit home-away-from-home.
Lake View King
Spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the lakefront from these Eastward facing King or Double guestrooms. Tower Lake View Room includes one king size bed, marble bathroom with walk-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bradley Center Arena: 0.6 mi
  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 0.6 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 0.6 mi
  • Miller Park: 3.3 mi

Dining

Lobby Lounge
For generations, The Pfister's Lobby Lounge has been the place to be seen in Milwaukee. Join us for a continental breakfast Monday to Friday from 5:30 AM to 10 AM and a variety of soft drinks, coffees and cocktails throughout the day until 1 AM. You can also enjoy Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Lounge seasonally, Wednesdays through Saturdays from 2:30 PM to 4:30 PM, September through May.
Mason Street Grill
The classic American grill features a big piano bar, an extensive cocktail and wine list, and a huge menu featuring wood roasted steaks, chicken, and seafood. Enjoy the sights and sounds of the bustling open kitchen and experience the endless array of culinary delights. Serving Dinner Monday thru Saturday 5PM to 10PM, Sundays 5PM to 9PM.
Blu
Blu, The Pfister's newest lounge located atop The Pfister tower, features International wine flights, sassy martinis and signature cocktails, all with breathtaking views of the city and Lake Michigan.
Cafe at The Pfister
This European-styled bistro has quickly become Milwaukee's most popular meeting place for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Whether you're craving a traditional dish like grilled steak and eggs, or are in the mood for something innovative like our Mediterranean burger, Cafe at the Pfister has it seven days a week open 6 AM to 10 PM. Brunch is served Saturday and Sunday 6:30 AM to 3 PM. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Cafe Rouge
For the finest Sunday Brunch in Milwaukee, wrap-up your weekend at our regal Champagne Brunch featuring over 60 unforgettable items including a variety of pastas and soups, a salad bar and decadent desserts. Brunch is served Sundays from 10 AM to 1:30 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for The Pfister Hotel

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 179
Amenities:
4.8
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveller Davy
Denver
Mar 26, 2013

Really, really nice

I stayed on the third floor of the old part of the Pfister not the new tower. Lovely large high ceilinged room just at the top of the grand staircase. Very quiet vary comfortable. The lobby hasa nice lounge with an excellent piano player almost every night. I will certainly look to stay at the Pfister again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lansing, MI
Oct 21, 2010

Great Hotel to stay.

Great location Great bed and pillows sleep like a baby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lansing, MI
Oct 21, 2010

Great Hotel to stay.

Great location Great bed and pillows sleep like a baby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Menasha, WI
Sep 27, 2009

The Pfister is the best!

The Pfister is the best! I love it every time I'm there. The service is top-notch in every way. The rooms are always spotless and comfortable. They're also very quiet compared to most other hotels. Definitely worth the extra cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Menasha, WI
Sep 27, 2009

The Pfister is the best!

The Pfister is the best! I love it every time I'm there. The service is top-notch in every way. The rooms are always spotless and comfortable. They're also very quiet compared to most other hotels. Definitely worth the extra cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WI to CA
Fresno, CA
Sep 7, 2009

Excellent and well- not so excellent

I was at this hotel to attend a wedding, and while I had previously lived in Milwaukee I had never actually been to the famous Pfister, The hotel was clean and wonderfully appointed, my room/suite was fantastic. Service was what one would expect for the price although I wish they had posted the price for valet parking! My major complaint is that my room was located in the "old" building directly beneath the banquet facilities. On Sunday morning from 6:30AM onwards all I could hear was floor noises from above me as though some major things were either being installed or moved around. It did not end for several hours! Also, anytime anyone with wheeled luggage went by in the hallway it sounded as if a freight train were passing. Perhaps this is only a flaw in the old building? I do not know- and as I only stayed two nights and was gone unbelievably early the last morning I was never able to see if the experience of the prior morning was repeated. My advice is do not sleep beneath the banquet hall and perhaps try the "tower."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WI to CA
Fresno, CA
Sep 7, 2009

Excellent and well- not so excellent

I was at this hotel to attend a wedding, and while I had previously lived in Milwaukee I had never actually been to the famous Pfister, The hotel was clean and wonderfully appointed, my room/suite was fantastic. Service was what one would expect for the price although I wish they had posted the price for valet parking! My major complaint is that my room was located in the "old" building directly beneath the banquet facilities. On Sunday morning from 6:30AM onwards all I could hear was floor noises from above me as though some major things were either being installed or moved around. It did not end for several hours! Also, anytime anyone with wheeled luggage went by in the hallway it sounded as if a freight train were passing. Perhaps this is only a flaw in the old building? I do not know- and as I only stayed two nights and was gone unbelievably early the last morning I was never able to see if the experience of the prior morning was repeated. My advice is do not sleep beneath the banquet hall and perhaps try the "tower."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
Sep 23, 2007

hotel fine, price too high

The Pfister Hotel tries its best to serve its clientele like a high-class hotel. In this it succeeds admirably. Staff are very helpful, etc. Dining options are excellent. The location was perfect for my purposes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
Sep 23, 2007

hotel fine, price too high

The Pfister Hotel tries its best to serve its clientele like a high-class hotel. In this it succeeds admirably. Staff are very helpful, etc. Dining options are excellent. The location was perfect for my purposes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top