$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

The Pfister Hotel

4 stars
424 East Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
128 reviews
Great location

This hotel did a great job. It was such a nice experience. Great location too. It is in the middle... See full review

  • Teethlady
  • Nov 14, 2014
Romantic weekend away

We came to Milwaukee for a romantic weekend and we were not disappointed! The pfsister was elegant,... See full review

  • Megsey
  • Aug 18, 2014
Setting the standard in Milwaukee for more than a century

Pfister Hotel, built in 1893, sets the standard for gracious accommodations. The lobby's ceiling, intended to replicate the original skylight, provides guests with an uplifting, step-back-in-time experience. Guests savor dozens of 19th- and early-20th-century paintings hung in public areas of the hotel from the collection of founder Guido Pfister. Amenities include an indoor pool, fitness center, spa, and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Beautiful architecture in historic original building
  • Spa and salon
  • Indoor pool and fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • Wi-Fi access (for a fee)
Rooms

All 307 rooms come in a variety of configurations, both in the original building and the newer tower. The hotel offers rooms with double and king-size beds, as well as 82 suites with sitting rooms, wet bars, and extra luxurious bathrooms. Many rooms include flat-screen televisions and iPod-compatible alarm clocks, as well as deluxe WELL spa amenities in bathrooms.

Features

Pfister Hotel's indoor pool, modern fitness center, and stylish martini bar, Blu, all located on the 23rd floor of the tower, offer spectacular lake and city views.

 

Mason Street Grill on the ground floor offers wood-grilled steaks, private dining, and function rooms. The original hotel building includes several interesting offerings, including the stunning lobby bar and Sunday brunch in the spectacular historic dining room, Rouge. There is also casual dining at the Café Pfister.

 

The WELL Spa + Janice Salon occupy space originally filled by the hotel's Turkish baths. Guests enjoy a two-room spa suite, including a private bathroom and shower, heated floors, and iPod hookup. Treatments include a wide variety of body, mind, tanning, and wellness offerings. The salon staff handles makeup, hair, and nails.

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Public buses
Nearby attractions
  • Milwaukee Art Museum (0.53 mi/0.85 km)
  • Lakefront Brewery (1.4 mi/2.25 km)
  • Bradley Center (0.9 mi/1.44 km)
Business
  • More than 25,000 square feet of meeting space in a variety of configurations
  • Seventh-floor conference and event spaces combine high-tech and old-world elegance
  • Original artwork, marble decor, lavish draperies, and chandeliers
  • Projection booth, sound and light system, teleconferencing
  • Elevator large enough to transport a car

Hotel Map

43.0395 -87.9058
Area served
Milwaukee, WI.
Nearby airports
Mitchell International Airport.
Area description
Located just a few blocks from beautiful Lake Michigan, The Pfister is within walking distance of the city's many festivals held throughout the summer at the lakefront. In addition, specialty shops line Jefferson Street next to The Pfister, and The Grand Avenue mall is a few blocks west on Wisconsin Avenue. Milwaukee's Historic Third Ward, exciting Theater and Entertainment District are also within walking distance of The Pfister Hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pfister Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Pfister Hotel Rooms

Pfister King Accessible
A tastefully appointed guestroom celebrating the Grand Elegance and Historic Tradition of the original Pfister hotel built in 1893. Enjoy the charm of high ceilings, crown moldings, and the fine detail of an era gone by, while still experiencing the modern conveniences of today. Each guestroom is equipped with a 42 plasma TV, an MP3 compatible radio, and a work station with high speed wireless access. Your deluxe Pfister King Accessible Room features one king bed, and iron/board, in-room safe, WELL Spa + Salon robes, a hairdryer and makeup mirror.
Pfister King with Roll-in Shower
A tastefully appointed guestroom celebrating the Grand Elegance and Historic Tradition of the original Pfister hotel built in 1893. Enjoy the charm of high ceilings, crown moldings, and the fine detail of an era gone by, while still experiencing the modern conveniences of today. Each guestroom is equipped with a 42 plasma TV, an MP3 compatible radio, and a work station with high speed wireless access. Your deluxe Pfister King with Roll-in Shower Room features one king bed, and iron/board, in-room safe, WELL Spa + Salon robes, a hairdryer and makeup mirror.
Grand Tower King with Roll-in Shower
History meets modern luxury in this newly renovated section of the Pfister hotel. Spectacular city views from these naturally lit guestrooms. Grand Tower Accessible Room includes one king size bed, marble bathroom with roll-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer. Panoramic views of Lake Michigan and the city landscape are a highlight of the naturally lit home-away-from-home.
Pfister Room
The guestroom features,in-room safe and complimentary nightly shoeshine. In addition to standard amenities offered in all guestrooms, this room type includes oversized workstations.
Salon Room
The guestroom features,in-room safe and complimentary nightly shoeshine. In addition to standard amenities offered in all guestrooms, this room type includes oversized workstations.
Tower Room
This guestroom features *Feather bed toppers and blankets * LCD Flat Panel TVs * iPod/MP3 Compatible Radio/alarm * Cordless Phones * Deluxe WELL Spa toiletries * Bathrooms with hair dryer and telephone * Iron and ironing board * 24-hour movies * Wireless high-speed Internet access (additional fee)
Grand Tower Room
History meets modern luxury in this newly renovated section of the Pfister hotel. Spectacular city views from these naturally lit guestrooms. Grand Tower Room includes, marble bathroom with walk-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer. Panoramic views of Lake Michigan and the city landscape are a highlight of the naturally lit home-away-from-home.
Lake View King
Spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the lakefront from these Eastward facing King or Double guestrooms. Tower Lake View Room includes one king size bed, marble bathroom with walk-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bradley Center Arena: 0.6 mi
  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 0.6 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 0.6 mi
  • Miller Park: 3.3 mi

Dining

Lobby Lounge
For generations, The Pfister's Lobby Lounge has been the place to be seen in Milwaukee. Join us for a continental breakfast Monday to Friday from 5:30 AM to 10 AM and a variety of soft drinks, coffees and cocktails throughout the day until 1 AM. You can also enjoy Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Lounge seasonally, Wednesdays through Saturdays from 2:30 PM to 4:30 PM, September through May.
Mason Street Grill
The classic American grill features a big piano bar, an extensive cocktail and wine list, and a huge menu featuring wood roasted steaks, chicken, and seafood. Enjoy the sights and sounds of the bustling open kitchen and experience the endless array of culinary delights. Serving Dinner Monday thru Saturday 5PM to 10PM, Sundays 5PM to 9PM.
Blu
Blu, The Pfister's newest lounge located atop The Pfister tower, features International wine flights, sassy martinis and signature cocktails, all with breathtaking views of the city and Lake Michigan.
Cafe at The Pfister
This European-styled bistro has quickly become Milwaukee's most popular meeting place for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Whether you're craving a traditional dish like grilled steak and eggs, or are in the mood for something innovative like our Mediterranean burger, Cafe at the Pfister has it seven days a week open 6 AM to 10 PM. Brunch is served Saturday and Sunday 6:30 AM to 3 PM. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Cafe Rouge
For the finest Sunday Brunch in Milwaukee, wrap-up your weekend at our regal Champagne Brunch featuring over 60 unforgettable items including a variety of pastas and soups, a salad bar and decadent desserts. Brunch is served Sundays from 10 AM to 1:30 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for The Pfister Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 128
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
5
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marly78
Business
New York NY
Dec 13, 2013

For business or pleasure

Gorgeous holiday decorations, beautiful comfortable room, great restaurant/bar for dinner and pleasant cafe for breakfast--add a spa and what more could you want!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mason Street Grill--great food and wines by the glass, friendly staff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Badger Girl 1
Business
Madison WI
Feb 27, 2013

Not very impressed

We have stayed here a few times, but our last experience was not a pleasurable one. We upgraded to the suite when we checked in, for an additional $40. Our room was underneath a service room, where they wheeled carts over the floor all night and were talking very loudly up there and kept us awake all night. Why would you put people in that room if there was something like that above it, especially since we paid $40 extra for it. The TV did not work in the room. We ordered room service at night, they told us it would be there within 30 mintues, it got to us just short of an hour. We called 45 mintues into it and were told there was no one in room service who could help us... It was such an awful experience that my husband (who never complains) called the front desk and discussed things with them in the morning (and it was 6:15am on a Saturday morning since we had not slept all night and were still up). We were not offered any compensation at all (we weren't asking for anything, but it sure would've been nice if they had offered us something.) But we have had other great stays here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris Wanta
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 6, 2013

Waste of money

Upon arriving at the Pfister Hotel I was "greeted" to no reservation. I had made the reservation online and double checked all of my information. The hotel asked me to go get the confirmation number out of their business room and look it up on my friend's smartphone to prove my reservation. After traveling 1,300 miles I didn't appreciate the lack of helpfulness. Then I was given a 2 bedroom hotel for just me. Seemed like a huge waste of space and I didn't get the fireplace I wanted in my room because of it. The staff wasn't very helpful or kind at the front desk. They treated me like garbage because I'm 25 and look young. I will never stay at this hotel again. It was close to the venue I was performing or I would never have wasted $300 on a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Double check your reservation BEFORE you get there. The front desk staff isn't all there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RMettle
Business
Washington, D.C.
Aug 21, 2012

Great Service; Exceptionally Friendly Staff

I've stayed at many luxury four and five star hotels, but I must say, I was impressed with the friendliness and level of service of the entire hotel staff--everyone from front desk clerks, to bartenders, to doormen, to valets--all went out of their respective ways to ensure top quality, polite service. I forgot how important the staff can be in shaping an overall hotel stay experience. The room was comfortable, amenities were more than sufficient, and the atmosphere and location are the best available in Milwaukee. My only gripe--and this isn't really a grip--was that fellow hotel guests (friendly and engaging as well) mentioned that they had received significant cost savings over the rate I had paid through a competing "auction" based travel site. Still, my rate was reasonable, and I was upgraded to a suite, received free parking, free breakfast, and free internet upon arrival, so I'm not really complaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel bar on the top floor of the tower was hip and lively (especially for a Thursday night), and suited this late 20s business traveler quite well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
5D Daigles
Business
Tomahawk, WI
Jun 6, 2012

Great Business Facility

Staff is wonderful and helpful. Food at the Cafe was great. Beautiful hotel and enjoyed downtown Milwaukee!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golfgal
Business
Chicago IL
Apr 4, 2012

Business Class Stop

Stayed in town for a business event. Enjoyed the piano bar and cafe. The room was very comfortable. The hotel is located in the heart of the city. Will stay again when in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fatherofmany
Business
River Falls, WI 54022, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Business Trip

Great location, very nice hotel if you are taking a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
themnpeacock
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 17, 2012

The Pfister

We stayed at the hotel for a quick job in Milwaukee and would HIGHLY recommend it. Lovely hotel. Great staff, great location. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rumpus Room for wonderful drink creations w/their on staff mixologists. These guys know their stuff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
phish
Business
Cedarburg
Sep 15, 2011

No Bed?!?

I was extremely disappointed to find that there was NO BED in my room. There was a pull-out couch. The room I booked was specifically for a king bed. NOT OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Central Park View
Business
NY, NY
Apr 18, 2011

FANTASTIC!!

A true Gem in Milwaukee. I was here on business and I arrived at the hotel only to find out that my reservation was not as I had booked and their records showed my stay ending a day early. I showed them my [...]itinerary and confirmed the mistake. The desk attendant Tracey quickly apologized and upgraded us to a beautiful suite that was beyond my expectations. It was great, as the hotel staff were friendly and willing to bend over backwards to accomodate us. I was pleasantly satisified with my stay at the Pfister.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restautant on the main floor in the hotel were very good. I didn't have a reservation, and I was accommodated with a group of 8.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top