$196 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

The Pfister Hotel

4 stars
424 East Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
124 reviews
Romantic weekend away

We came to Milwaukee for a romantic weekend and we were not disappointed! The pfsister was elegant,... See full review

  • Megsey
  • Aug 18, 2014
Elegance and Friendliness

Elegant yet friendly. They even came up with a phone charger for us when we realized we'd forgotten... See full review

  • Garycopper
  • Aug 7, 2014
Setting the standard in Milwaukee for more than a century

Pfister Hotel, built in 1893, sets the standard for gracious accommodations. The lobby's ceiling, intended to replicate the original skylight, provides guests with an uplifting, step-back-in-time experience. Guests savor dozens of 19th- and early-20th-century paintings hung in public areas of the hotel from the collection of founder Guido Pfister. Amenities include an indoor pool, fitness center, spa, and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Beautiful architecture in historic original building
  • Spa and salon
  • Indoor pool and fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • Wi-Fi access (for a fee)
Rooms

All 307 rooms come in a variety of configurations, both in the original building and the newer tower. The hotel offers rooms with double and king-size beds, as well as 82 suites with sitting rooms, wet bars, and extra luxurious bathrooms. Many rooms include flat-screen televisions and iPod-compatible alarm clocks, as well as deluxe WELL spa amenities in bathrooms.

Features

Pfister Hotel's indoor pool, modern fitness center, and stylish martini bar, Blu, all located on the 23rd floor of the tower, offer spectacular lake and city views.

 

Mason Street Grill on the ground floor offers wood-grilled steaks, private dining, and function rooms. The original hotel building includes several interesting offerings, including the stunning lobby bar and Sunday brunch in the spectacular historic dining room, Rouge. There is also casual dining at the Café Pfister.

 

The WELL Spa + Janice Salon occupy space originally filled by the hotel's Turkish baths. Guests enjoy a two-room spa suite, including a private bathroom and shower, heated floors, and iPod hookup. Treatments include a wide variety of body, mind, tanning, and wellness offerings. The salon staff handles makeup, hair, and nails.

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Public buses
Nearby attractions
  • Milwaukee Art Museum (0.53 mi/0.85 km)
  • Lakefront Brewery (1.4 mi/2.25 km)
  • Bradley Center (0.9 mi/1.44 km)
Business
  • More than 25,000 square feet of meeting space in a variety of configurations
  • Seventh-floor conference and event spaces combine high-tech and old-world elegance
  • Original artwork, marble decor, lavish draperies, and chandeliers
  • Projection booth, sound and light system, teleconferencing
  • Elevator large enough to transport a car

Hotel Map

43.0395 -87.9058
Area served
Milwaukee, WI.
Nearby airports
Mitchell International Airport.
Area description
Located just a few blocks from beautiful Lake Michigan, The Pfister is within walking distance of the city's many festivals held throughout the summer at the lakefront. In addition, specialty shops line Jefferson Street next to The Pfister, and The Grand Avenue mall is a few blocks west on Wisconsin Avenue. Milwaukee's Historic Third Ward, exciting Theater and Entertainment District are also within walking distance of The Pfister Hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pfister Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Pfister Hotel Rooms

Pfister King Accessible
A tastefully appointed guestroom celebrating the Grand Elegance and Historic Tradition of the original Pfister hotel built in 1893. Enjoy the charm of high ceilings, crown moldings, and the fine detail of an era gone by, while still experiencing the modern conveniences of today. Each guestroom is equipped with a 42 plasma TV, an MP3 compatible radio, and a work station with high speed wireless access. Your deluxe Pfister King Accessible Room features one king bed, and iron/board, in-room safe, WELL Spa + Salon robes, a hairdryer and makeup mirror.
Pfister King with Roll-in Shower
A tastefully appointed guestroom celebrating the Grand Elegance and Historic Tradition of the original Pfister hotel built in 1893. Enjoy the charm of high ceilings, crown moldings, and the fine detail of an era gone by, while still experiencing the modern conveniences of today. Each guestroom is equipped with a 42 plasma TV, an MP3 compatible radio, and a work station with high speed wireless access. Your deluxe Pfister King with Roll-in Shower Room features one king bed, and iron/board, in-room safe, WELL Spa + Salon robes, a hairdryer and makeup mirror.
Grand Tower King with Roll-in Shower
History meets modern luxury in this newly renovated section of the Pfister hotel. Spectacular city views from these naturally lit guestrooms. Grand Tower Accessible Room includes one king size bed, marble bathroom with roll-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer. Panoramic views of Lake Michigan and the city landscape are a highlight of the naturally lit home-away-from-home.
Pfister Room
The guestroom features,in-room safe and complimentary nightly shoeshine. In addition to standard amenities offered in all guestrooms, this room type includes oversized workstations.
Salon Room
The guestroom features,in-room safe and complimentary nightly shoeshine. In addition to standard amenities offered in all guestrooms, this room type includes oversized workstations.
Tower Room
This guestroom features *Feather bed toppers and blankets * LCD Flat Panel TVs * iPod/MP3 Compatible Radio/alarm * Cordless Phones * Deluxe WELL Spa toiletries * Bathrooms with hair dryer and telephone * Iron and ironing board * 24-hour movies * Wireless high-speed Internet access (additional fee)
Grand Tower Room
History meets modern luxury in this newly renovated section of the Pfister hotel. Spectacular city views from these naturally lit guestrooms. Grand Tower Room includes, marble bathroom with walk-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer. Panoramic views of Lake Michigan and the city landscape are a highlight of the naturally lit home-away-from-home.
Lake View King
Spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the lakefront from these Eastward facing King or Double guestrooms. Tower Lake View Room includes one king size bed, marble bathroom with walk-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bradley Center Arena: 0.6 mi
  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 0.6 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 0.6 mi
  • Miller Park: 3.3 mi

Dining

Lobby Lounge
For generations, The Pfister's Lobby Lounge has been the place to be seen in Milwaukee. Join us for a continental breakfast Monday to Friday from 5:30 AM to 10 AM and a variety of soft drinks, coffees and cocktails throughout the day until 1 AM. You can also enjoy Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Lounge seasonally, Wednesdays through Saturdays from 2:30 PM to 4:30 PM, September through May.
Mason Street Grill
The classic American grill features a big piano bar, an extensive cocktail and wine list, and a huge menu featuring wood roasted steaks, chicken, and seafood. Enjoy the sights and sounds of the bustling open kitchen and experience the endless array of culinary delights. Serving Dinner Monday thru Saturday 5PM to 10PM, Sundays 5PM to 9PM.
Blu
Blu, The Pfister's newest lounge located atop The Pfister tower, features International wine flights, sassy martinis and signature cocktails, all with breathtaking views of the city and Lake Michigan.
Cafe at The Pfister
This European-styled bistro has quickly become Milwaukee's most popular meeting place for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Whether you're craving a traditional dish like grilled steak and eggs, or are in the mood for something innovative like our Mediterranean burger, Cafe at the Pfister has it seven days a week open 6 AM to 10 PM. Brunch is served Saturday and Sunday 6:30 AM to 3 PM. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Cafe Rouge
For the finest Sunday Brunch in Milwaukee, wrap-up your weekend at our regal Champagne Brunch featuring over 60 unforgettable items including a variety of pastas and soups, a salad bar and decadent desserts. Brunch is served Sundays from 10 AM to 1:30 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for The Pfister Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LAceykmp
Eagle river, WI
Mar 15, 2013

Over priced hotel

This hotel is way overrated and overpriced. The rooms are small and not comfortable for the amount of money a holiday inn is much better quality then this 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian

Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris Wanta
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 6, 2013

Waste of money

Upon arriving at the Pfister Hotel I was "greeted" to no reservation. I had made the reservation online and double checked all of my information. The hotel asked me to go get the confirmation number out of their business room and look it up on my friend's smartphone to prove my reservation. After traveling 1,300 miles I didn't appreciate the lack of helpfulness. Then I was given a 2 bedroom hotel for just me. Seemed like a huge waste of space and I didn't get the fireplace I wanted in my room because of it. The staff wasn't very helpful or kind at the front desk. They treated me like garbage because I'm 25 and look young. I will never stay at this hotel again. It was close to the venue I was performing or I would never have wasted $300 on a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Double check your reservation BEFORE you get there. The front desk staff isn't all there.

Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
progolfer119
Cadiz, Kentucky
May 12, 2014

Very Disappointed

We stayed at the Pfister hotel on May 10, 2014 and they had a wedding that was very loud all night long. Called the front desk and all they said was "I'm sorry". I see that they only care about the money and doesn't care about the people that staying at the hotel spending the extra money to make sure stuff like this doesn't happen. Won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Flannerys

Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not satisified, to say the least
Chicago, IL
Jun 15, 2009

I have Never

Our experience was horrendous. We showed up at the hotel to check in, and we were informed there were "electrical" problems and that we were booked at the Milwaukee Athletic Club, now while the MAC has excellent facilities, these do not rank up with the luxury of the Pfister. I was greatly disappointed to be frank. I had booked a room at the Pfister expecting to experience the grandeur of this old hotel and was bumped. I am not satisfied, to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Badger Girl 1
Business
Madison WI
Feb 27, 2013

Not very impressed

We have stayed here a few times, but our last experience was not a pleasurable one. We upgraded to the suite when we checked in, for an additional $40. Our room was underneath a service room, where they wheeled carts over the floor all night and were talking very loudly up there and kept us awake all night. Why would you put people in that room if there was something like that above it, especially since we paid $40 extra for it. The TV did not work in the room. We ordered room service at night, they told us it would be there within 30 mintues, it got to us just short of an hour. We called 45 mintues into it and were told there was no one in room service who could help us... It was such an awful experience that my husband (who never complains) called the front desk and discussed things with them in the morning (and it was 6:15am on a Saturday morning since we had not slept all night and were still up). We were not offered any compensation at all (we weren't asking for anything, but it sure would've been nice if they had offered us something.) But we have had other great stays here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kevin wong
palatine, il
Jul 1, 2010

Very elegant but doesnt have everything

it was a good experience overall just not having a fridge and microwave is odd because everything else is more than perfect and luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler1781
Chicago, il
Mar 24, 2014

Nice hotel, hot room

The room and hotel were nice. The broken thermostat made the room uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ks
May 29, 2011

Nice but too warm in room

Nice room, very polite workers. However, we set the room temp down to 65 right when we arrived and the room never cooled down past 70s. We heard the same complaint from another guest. Disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Precise
Chicago
Jul 22, 2012

Bad pillows

Nice staff Beautiful building Great location Really bad pillows

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glen Ellyn, IL, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Bachlorette Party

Beautifyl hotel! I had reserved a king suite, but when I checked in I was given a king room. I was counting on the suite for the extra pull out sofa bed and extra space. I called the front desk and mentioned that I had reserved a suite, they didn't give me any explanation but offered a roll away bed for the room, which I took. There were several weddings going on at this hotel, which meant no reservations were available at the Sunday Brunch the next morning. I probably would not stay at this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search