$158 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Pfister Hotel

4 stars
424 East Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
128 reviews
Great location

This hotel did a great job. It was such a nice experience. Great location too. It is in the middle... See full review

  • Teethlady
  • Nov 14, 2014
Romantic weekend away

We came to Milwaukee for a romantic weekend and we were not disappointed! The pfsister was elegant,... See full review

  • Megsey
  • Aug 18, 2014
Setting the standard in Milwaukee for more than a century

Pfister Hotel, built in 1893, sets the standard for gracious accommodations. The lobby's ceiling, intended to replicate the original skylight, provides guests with an uplifting, step-back-in-time experience. Guests savor dozens of 19th- and early-20th-century paintings hung in public areas of the hotel from the collection of founder Guido Pfister. Amenities include an indoor pool, fitness center, spa, and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Beautiful architecture in historic original building
  • Spa and salon
  • Indoor pool and fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • Wi-Fi access (for a fee)
Rooms

All 307 rooms come in a variety of configurations, both in the original building and the newer tower. The hotel offers rooms with double and king-size beds, as well as 82 suites with sitting rooms, wet bars, and extra luxurious bathrooms. Many rooms include flat-screen televisions and iPod-compatible alarm clocks, as well as deluxe WELL spa amenities in bathrooms.

Features

Pfister Hotel's indoor pool, modern fitness center, and stylish martini bar, Blu, all located on the 23rd floor of the tower, offer spectacular lake and city views.

 

Mason Street Grill on the ground floor offers wood-grilled steaks, private dining, and function rooms. The original hotel building includes several interesting offerings, including the stunning lobby bar and Sunday brunch in the spectacular historic dining room, Rouge. There is also casual dining at the Café Pfister.

 

The WELL Spa + Janice Salon occupy space originally filled by the hotel's Turkish baths. Guests enjoy a two-room spa suite, including a private bathroom and shower, heated floors, and iPod hookup. Treatments include a wide variety of body, mind, tanning, and wellness offerings. The salon staff handles makeup, hair, and nails.

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Public buses
Nearby attractions
  • Milwaukee Art Museum (0.53 mi/0.85 km)
  • Lakefront Brewery (1.4 mi/2.25 km)
  • Bradley Center (0.9 mi/1.44 km)
Business
  • More than 25,000 square feet of meeting space in a variety of configurations
  • Seventh-floor conference and event spaces combine high-tech and old-world elegance
  • Original artwork, marble decor, lavish draperies, and chandeliers
  • Projection booth, sound and light system, teleconferencing
  • Elevator large enough to transport a car

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pfister Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Pfister Hotel Rooms

Pfister Room
The guestroom features,in-room safe and complimentary nightly shoeshine. In addition to standard amenities offered in all guestrooms, this room type includes oversized workstations.
Salon Room
The guestroom features,in-room safe and complimentary nightly shoeshine. In addition to standard amenities offered in all guestrooms, this room type includes oversized workstations.
Tower Room
This guestroom features *Feather bed toppers and blankets * LCD Flat Panel TVs * iPod/MP3 Compatible Radio/alarm * Cordless Phones * Deluxe WELL Spa toiletries * Bathrooms with hair dryer and telephone * Iron and ironing board * 24-hour movies * Wireless high-speed Internet access (additional fee)
Grand Tower Room
History meets modern luxury in this newly renovated section of the Pfister hotel. Spectacular city views from these naturally lit guestrooms. Grand Tower Room includes, marble bathroom with walk-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer. Panoramic views of Lake Michigan and the city landscape are a highlight of the naturally lit home-away-from-home.
Lake View King
Spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the lakefront from these Eastward facing King or Double guestrooms. Tower Lake View Room includes one king size bed, marble bathroom with walk-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer.
Pfister King Accessible
A tastefully appointed guestroom celebrating the Grand Elegance and Historic Tradition of the original Pfister hotel built in 1893. Enjoy the charm of high ceilings, crown moldings, and the fine detail of an era gone by, while still experiencing the modern conveniences of today. Each guestroom is equipped with a 42 plasma TV, an MP3 compatible radio, and a work station with high speed wireless access. Your deluxe Pfister King Accessible Room features one king bed, and iron/board, in-room safe, WELL Spa + Salon robes, a hairdryer and makeup mirror.
Pfister King with Roll-in Shower
A tastefully appointed guestroom celebrating the Grand Elegance and Historic Tradition of the original Pfister hotel built in 1893. Enjoy the charm of high ceilings, crown moldings, and the fine detail of an era gone by, while still experiencing the modern conveniences of today. Each guestroom is equipped with a 42 plasma TV, an MP3 compatible radio, and a work station with high speed wireless access. Your deluxe Pfister King with Roll-in Shower Room features one king bed, and iron/board, in-room safe, WELL Spa + Salon robes, a hairdryer and makeup mirror.
Grand Tower King with Roll-in Shower
History meets modern luxury in this newly renovated section of the Pfister hotel. Spectacular city views from these naturally lit guestrooms. Grand Tower Accessible Room includes one king size bed, marble bathroom with roll-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer. Panoramic views of Lake Michigan and the city landscape are a highlight of the naturally lit home-away-from-home.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bradley Center Arena: 0.6 mi
  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 0.6 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 0.6 mi
  • Miller Park: 3.3 mi

Dining

Lobby Lounge
For generations, The Pfister's Lobby Lounge has been the place to be seen in Milwaukee. Join us for a continental breakfast Monday to Friday from 5:30 AM to 10 AM and a variety of soft drinks, coffees and cocktails throughout the day until 1 AM. You can also enjoy Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Lounge seasonally, Wednesdays through Saturdays from 2:30 PM to 4:30 PM, September through May.
Mason Street Grill
The classic American grill features a big piano bar, an extensive cocktail and wine list, and a huge menu featuring wood roasted steaks, chicken, and seafood. Enjoy the sights and sounds of the bustling open kitchen and experience the endless array of culinary delights. Serving Dinner Monday thru Saturday 5PM to 10PM, Sundays 5PM to 9PM.
Blu
Blu, The Pfister's newest lounge located atop The Pfister tower, features International wine flights, sassy martinis and signature cocktails, all with breathtaking views of the city and Lake Michigan.
Cafe at The Pfister
This European-styled bistro has quickly become Milwaukee's most popular meeting place for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Whether you're craving a traditional dish like grilled steak and eggs, or are in the mood for something innovative like our Mediterranean burger, Cafe at the Pfister has it seven days a week open 6 AM to 10 PM. Brunch is served Saturday and Sunday 6:30 AM to 3 PM. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Cafe Rouge
For the finest Sunday Brunch in Milwaukee, wrap-up your weekend at our regal Champagne Brunch featuring over 60 unforgettable items including a variety of pastas and soups, a salad bar and decadent desserts. Brunch is served Sundays from 10 AM to 1:30 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for The Pfister Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tredad
Business
fox lake wisconsin
Jan 21, 2012

great stay very friendly staff

was a step into the old world , was a great experience and had everything to offer and the staff was willing to help in any way needed . some draw backs , little pricey at mason st. grill and for blu lounge but overall didn't mind cause the quality was there . great views and a lot to look at within the hotel and was cool to go swimming on top floor but lacked a hot tub . the lounge is really cool and so many paintings to view amongst the hotel just made the day go by to quick . overall i recommend and i will return one day again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

don't expect to snack at the blu on top floor the appetizers are not even bite size at best and not filling, eat before and catch a drink there to catch a good view .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
themnpeacock
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 17, 2012

The Pfister

We stayed at the hotel for a quick job in Milwaukee and would HIGHLY recommend it. Lovely hotel. Great staff, great location. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rumpus Room for wonderful drink creations w/their on staff mixologists. These guys know their stuff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bolek
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Luxury in Milwaukee

We went to a wedding in Milwaukee and chose the Pfister because the reception was to be held there. It was top quality, spectacularly beautiful, with amenities that included three different venues with music, a great bar with view of the entire city, and a grand ballroom that could have been in Versailles. Price was reasonable for a two room suite in the older Victorian section. Staff were friendly and helpful. They even have an artist in residence. I would go back if I had another reason to go to Milwaukee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Public Market has some nice eateries, convenient to the Third Ward, which has an interesting "upscale" Goodwill store called Retique

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glen Ellyn, IL, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Bachlorette Party

Beautifyl hotel! I had reserved a king suite, but when I checked in I was given a king room. I was counting on the suite for the extra pull out sofa bed and extra space. I called the front desk and mentioned that I had reserved a suite, they didn't give me any explanation but offered a roll away bed for the room, which I took. There were several weddings going on at this hotel, which meant no reservations were available at the Sunday Brunch the next morning. I probably would not stay at this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
phish
Business
Cedarburg
Sep 15, 2011

No Bed?!?

I was extremely disappointed to find that there was NO BED in my room. There was a pull-out couch. The room I booked was specifically for a king bed. NOT OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt in Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Classic Elegance

Attending a Brewers game along with an annual outing to Olde World Third Street, this is a great spot to enjoy all of Milwaukee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amiable Traveler
Business
Columbia, MD, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Family vacation in Milwaukee

When we travel, we like to stay in grand, old hotels -- hotels with character and history. The Pfister was ideal for us: an opulent lobby; a tastefully decorated room with a high, high ceiling; a location within walking distance (i.e. a 30 minute walk) of many of Milwaukee's attractions. We were traveling with our 4-year old daughter, so we never had a chance to enjoy the bar on the top floor of the tower; however, we made good use of the small swimming pool which has equally spectacular views of the city. This is not the sort of hotel with many kids, but they treated our daughter quite well. Every morning we had breakfast with the out-of-town businessmen in the cafe. The breakfasts were quite good renditions of familiar comfort foods: eggs with Wisconsin-grade sausage, corn beef hash, pancakes, etc. We had a very nice trip to Milwaukee, and the stay Pfister was one of the best aspects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonnie D
Business
Ames, IA, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Pfister Pleasant Surprise

Our 2 day weekend in Milwaukee for Irish Fest was vastly enhanced by staying at the Pfister. Our bed and breakfast package and our king suite were truly exceptional. The staff were professional, caring and helpful at all times. Fast valet service and proactive tips to help us tour Milwaukee. My husband had been to Milwaukee many times, but it was my first and we both thought the Pfister made all the difference. We are over 50, travel often and stay in 4 and 5 star hotels and resorts, and the Pfister was right up there! Orbitz got us an even better price and deal than the hotel itself offered!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Karl Radaberger German restaurant a block or so away was very beautiful German ambience and great German food. It was recommended to us by the concierge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CHICAGO, IL.
Aug 23, 2011

FANTASTIC!!!!

WENT TO SUMMERFEST AND STAYED AT PFISTER HOTEL! THE YEAR BEFORE WE WENT TO MILWAUKEE AND HAD A DRINK AT THE LOBBY BAR AT THE PFISTER! WE SAID NEXT YEAR WHEN WE COME UP TO MILWAUKEE WE ARE GOING TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL! SO GLAD WE DID! COULD NOT BE A BETTER PLACE TO STAY! NO WAY! PEOPLE THAT WORK THERE ARE HAPPY! BEST SIGN OF A GREAT PLACE TO STAY! WE WILL NEVER STAY ANYWHERE ELSE IN MILWAUKEE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

VISIT THE MUSEUM DIRECTLY EAST OF HOTEL ON LAKE MICHIGAN! ALSO DO NOT MISS SUMMERFEST! MUSIC FOR ALL AGES!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Willeen
Business
Elk Grove Village, IL, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Fantastic 29th Anniversary

The room was very elegant, with marble bathroom, and great views of the city. The spa gave us one of the best massages of our life's Blu the top floor bar was great for a late night cocktail looking over the City, and Lake Michigan. I would go back in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bacchus, a Bartolotta restaurant. Fantastic food, a great value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top