$196 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

The Pfister Hotel

4 stars
424 East Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
124 reviews
Romantic weekend away

We came to Milwaukee for a romantic weekend and we were not disappointed! The pfsister was elegant,... See full review

  • Megsey
  • Aug 18, 2014
Elegance and Friendliness

Elegant yet friendly. They even came up with a phone charger for us when we realized we'd forgotten... See full review

  • Garycopper
  • Aug 7, 2014
Setting the standard in Milwaukee for more than a century

Pfister Hotel, built in 1893, sets the standard for gracious accommodations. The lobby's ceiling, intended to replicate the original skylight, provides guests with an uplifting, step-back-in-time experience. Guests savor dozens of 19th- and early-20th-century paintings hung in public areas of the hotel from the collection of founder Guido Pfister. Amenities include an indoor pool, fitness center, spa, and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Beautiful architecture in historic original building
  • Spa and salon
  • Indoor pool and fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
  • Wi-Fi access (for a fee)
Rooms

All 307 rooms come in a variety of configurations, both in the original building and the newer tower. The hotel offers rooms with double and king-size beds, as well as 82 suites with sitting rooms, wet bars, and extra luxurious bathrooms. Many rooms include flat-screen televisions and iPod-compatible alarm clocks, as well as deluxe WELL spa amenities in bathrooms.

Features

Pfister Hotel's indoor pool, modern fitness center, and stylish martini bar, Blu, all located on the 23rd floor of the tower, offer spectacular lake and city views.

 

Mason Street Grill on the ground floor offers wood-grilled steaks, private dining, and function rooms. The original hotel building includes several interesting offerings, including the stunning lobby bar and Sunday brunch in the spectacular historic dining room, Rouge. There is also casual dining at the Café Pfister.

 

The WELL Spa + Janice Salon occupy space originally filled by the hotel's Turkish baths. Guests enjoy a two-room spa suite, including a private bathroom and shower, heated floors, and iPod hookup. Treatments include a wide variety of body, mind, tanning, and wellness offerings. The salon staff handles makeup, hair, and nails.

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Public buses
Nearby attractions
  • Milwaukee Art Museum (0.53 mi/0.85 km)
  • Lakefront Brewery (1.4 mi/2.25 km)
  • Bradley Center (0.9 mi/1.44 km)
Business
  • More than 25,000 square feet of meeting space in a variety of configurations
  • Seventh-floor conference and event spaces combine high-tech and old-world elegance
  • Original artwork, marble decor, lavish draperies, and chandeliers
  • Projection booth, sound and light system, teleconferencing
  • Elevator large enough to transport a car

Hotel Map

43.0395 -87.9058
Area served
Milwaukee, WI.
Nearby airports
Mitchell International Airport.
Area description
Located just a few blocks from beautiful Lake Michigan, The Pfister is within walking distance of the city's many festivals held throughout the summer at the lakefront. In addition, specialty shops line Jefferson Street next to The Pfister, and The Grand Avenue mall is a few blocks west on Wisconsin Avenue. Milwaukee's Historic Third Ward, exciting Theater and Entertainment District are also within walking distance of The Pfister Hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pfister Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Pfister Hotel Rooms

Pfister King Accessible
A tastefully appointed guestroom celebrating the Grand Elegance and Historic Tradition of the original Pfister hotel built in 1893. Enjoy the charm of high ceilings, crown moldings, and the fine detail of an era gone by, while still experiencing the modern conveniences of today. Each guestroom is equipped with a 42 plasma TV, an MP3 compatible radio, and a work station with high speed wireless access. Your deluxe Pfister King Accessible Room features one king bed, and iron/board, in-room safe, WELL Spa + Salon robes, a hairdryer and makeup mirror.
Pfister King with Roll-in Shower
A tastefully appointed guestroom celebrating the Grand Elegance and Historic Tradition of the original Pfister hotel built in 1893. Enjoy the charm of high ceilings, crown moldings, and the fine detail of an era gone by, while still experiencing the modern conveniences of today. Each guestroom is equipped with a 42 plasma TV, an MP3 compatible radio, and a work station with high speed wireless access. Your deluxe Pfister King with Roll-in Shower Room features one king bed, and iron/board, in-room safe, WELL Spa + Salon robes, a hairdryer and makeup mirror.
Grand Tower King with Roll-in Shower
History meets modern luxury in this newly renovated section of the Pfister hotel. Spectacular city views from these naturally lit guestrooms. Grand Tower Accessible Room includes one king size bed, marble bathroom with roll-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer. Panoramic views of Lake Michigan and the city landscape are a highlight of the naturally lit home-away-from-home.
Pfister Room
The guestroom features,in-room safe and complimentary nightly shoeshine. In addition to standard amenities offered in all guestrooms, this room type includes oversized workstations.
Salon Room
The guestroom features,in-room safe and complimentary nightly shoeshine. In addition to standard amenities offered in all guestrooms, this room type includes oversized workstations.
Tower Room
This guestroom features *Feather bed toppers and blankets * LCD Flat Panel TVs * iPod/MP3 Compatible Radio/alarm * Cordless Phones * Deluxe WELL Spa toiletries * Bathrooms with hair dryer and telephone * Iron and ironing board * 24-hour movies * Wireless high-speed Internet access (additional fee)
Grand Tower Room
History meets modern luxury in this newly renovated section of the Pfister hotel. Spectacular city views from these naturally lit guestrooms. Grand Tower Room includes, marble bathroom with walk-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer. Panoramic views of Lake Michigan and the city landscape are a highlight of the naturally lit home-away-from-home.
Lake View King
Spectacular views of Lake Michigan and the lakefront from these Eastward facing King or Double guestrooms. Tower Lake View Room includes one king size bed, marble bathroom with walk-in shower and separate commode stall, a lounge chair, desk, flat screen television, make-up mirror, snack tray, and a hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bradley Center Arena: 0.6 mi
  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 0.6 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 0.6 mi
  • Miller Park: 3.3 mi

Dining

Lobby Lounge
For generations, The Pfister's Lobby Lounge has been the place to be seen in Milwaukee. Join us for a continental breakfast Monday to Friday from 5:30 AM to 10 AM and a variety of soft drinks, coffees and cocktails throughout the day until 1 AM. You can also enjoy Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Lounge seasonally, Wednesdays through Saturdays from 2:30 PM to 4:30 PM, September through May.
Mason Street Grill
The classic American grill features a big piano bar, an extensive cocktail and wine list, and a huge menu featuring wood roasted steaks, chicken, and seafood. Enjoy the sights and sounds of the bustling open kitchen and experience the endless array of culinary delights. Serving Dinner Monday thru Saturday 5PM to 10PM, Sundays 5PM to 9PM.
Blu
Blu, The Pfister's newest lounge located atop The Pfister tower, features International wine flights, sassy martinis and signature cocktails, all with breathtaking views of the city and Lake Michigan.
Cafe at The Pfister
This European-styled bistro has quickly become Milwaukee's most popular meeting place for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Whether you're craving a traditional dish like grilled steak and eggs, or are in the mood for something innovative like our Mediterranean burger, Cafe at the Pfister has it seven days a week open 6 AM to 10 PM. Brunch is served Saturday and Sunday 6:30 AM to 3 PM. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Cafe Rouge
For the finest Sunday Brunch in Milwaukee, wrap-up your weekend at our regal Champagne Brunch featuring over 60 unforgettable items including a variety of pastas and soups, a salad bar and decadent desserts. Brunch is served Sundays from 10 AM to 1:30 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for The Pfister Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chimer
Wisconsin
Oct 29, 2012

Beautiful,Just what I Love!!

I love coming here because I am from where the Al Ringling theatre is and grew up loving the gold gilded mouldings and paintings on the ceilings. I love it soo much,I decorated my home the same way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathleen4329
Madison, WI
Oct 29, 2012

W/e get away

I love the charm of the Pfister. It has a sophisticated decor that is well maintained. Probably my only complaint is that they charge for WiFi services. Sure it is free in the lobby and restaurant, but that didn't satisfy me when I went to get online in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Milwaukee to see an exhibit at the art museum... The hotel was a short drive from the lake shore attractions.

Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Some nickname
Wisconsin
Oct 29, 2012

Thougful staff, good times

We spent only night here, unfortunately, but it was really wonderful. The building itself has great character, not only in public spaces, but also in the rooms. Great view of the lake from the bar on the top floor, where there was also a good live jazz trio. The staff were not only helpful but thoughtful, and took initiative to make our visit a very nice one. I want to go back here,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nonnie1212
Chicago, IL
Oct 29, 2012

Great hotel!

We had a great time at the Pfister. The staff was wonderful and the food was amazing. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clougher
Wauwatosa, WI
Oct 22, 2012

anniversary weekend with my wife

Great time. Stayed at Pfister on my wedding night. Will come back every so often to celebrate. Very expensive though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beachmom
Chicago
Aug 22, 2012

Fun stay

The hotel is beautiful. The staff is phenomenal,very polite and accommodating. The only negative thing was the mattress on our king bed was horrible and the room had a closed slight musty odor when we opened the door. Restaurants were excellent. Nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RMettle
Business
Washington, D.C.
Aug 21, 2012

Great Service; Exceptionally Friendly Staff

I've stayed at many luxury four and five star hotels, but I must say, I was impressed with the friendliness and level of service of the entire hotel staff--everyone from front desk clerks, to bartenders, to doormen, to valets--all went out of their respective ways to ensure top quality, polite service. I forgot how important the staff can be in shaping an overall hotel stay experience. The room was comfortable, amenities were more than sufficient, and the atmosphere and location are the best available in Milwaukee. My only gripe--and this isn't really a grip--was that fellow hotel guests (friendly and engaging as well) mentioned that they had received significant cost savings over the rate I had paid through a competing "auction" based travel site. Still, my rate was reasonable, and I was upgraded to a suite, received free parking, free breakfast, and free internet upon arrival, so I'm not really complaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel bar on the top floor of the tower was hip and lively (especially for a Thursday night), and suited this late 20s business traveler quite well.

Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edgar the Grey
Highland Park, Illinois
Aug 12, 2012

Great, historic hotel.

Lives up to it's reputation as a very traditional old-world classic hotel. Old fashioned room decor feels a bit musty, but not unexpected I suppose. Could use some basic amenity upgrades, such as a small refrigerator in the room. Excellent, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located perfectly for easy walk to the historic 3rd ward, the Milwaukee Ave. dining scene, and the lake front art museum and parks.

Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Precise
Chicago
Jul 22, 2012

Bad pillows

Nice staff Beautiful building Great location Really bad pillows

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KathleenP
Palm Beach County
Jul 14, 2012

Girls Vaca

always enjoy the Pfister. The hotel restaurants are delish. The Blu on the 23rd floor is a must for a gret view .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search