$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

The Iron Horse Hotel

4 stars
500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
47 reviews
Modern Hotel in Milwaukee

My husband and I went to Milwaukee for a weekend getaway from Chicago and we stayed at the Iron... See full review

  • Midwestern Girl Laurie
  • Apr 13, 2014
The Iron Horse Hotel

The hotel has a very warm and inviting feeling the minute you walk in the door. The room, too, had... See full review

  • redd5776
  • Jan 20, 2014
Harleys welcome at luxury 21st century hotel

Iron Horse Hotel, named the 2010 Boutique Hotel of the Year by an industry group, offers luxurious services for business travelers in a historic renovated factory. The hotel revs up motorcycle fans eager to visit the Harley Davidson Museum, a short walk across the Menomonee River. Iron Horse packs guests a lunch for their saddlebags, offers special Bike Night programs in season, and provides tickets to the Harley museum on arrival. Hotel amenities include loft-style rooms with city views, a private reception area, meeting rooms, and fitness room.

Highlights
  • Short walk to Harley Davidson Museum
  • On-site motorcycle rentals from Street Eagle
  • Spa services and fitness center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Rooms

Many of the 100 loft-style rooms feature timbered ceilings and exposed brick walls. All offer city views, a beverage center, complimentary high-speed Internet access, and walk-in shower with rain dome showerhead. Bikers enjoy tile entrances, hooks for hanging leathers, and benches for taking off and storing boots and helmets.

Features

Iron Horse Hotel, built in 1907 as a bedding factory and warehouse, is named for both the iconic motorcycle and the rail line that still carries daily freight trains. The hotel offers a stylish and modern atmosphere, despite the building's long history.

 

Dining options include a full-service breakfast in The Library and late-night drinks at The Yard, a seasonal outdoor venue overlooking the train tracks and the Sixth Street Viaduct. Many rooms offer ample space for in-room dining from the Branded menu, and the hotel's "Manager of Desires" creates personalized meal options.

 

The 24-hour Fitness Room offers two sport treadmills, two stationary bikes, a stepper/stair climber, and an elliptical trainer, plus open matted space for stretching, yoga, and free weights. Spa services include deep-tissue and hot stone massages, an ultra-hydration wrap, warm mud treatment, and a Thai herbal ball treatment.

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Milwaukee Public Transportation bus 1 block from hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Lakefront Brewery (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Milwaukee Art Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Milwaukee County Zoo (8.25 mi/13.3 km)
Business
  • Executive Suite offers a private reception area, coat closet, secretarial desk for an executive assistant, and bathroom
  • War Room features leather swivel-tilt seating at a custom 12-foot conference table, plus a 50-foot LCD flat-screen television
  • Sand Box offers a 42-inch LCD flat-screen television with full connectivity and Nintendo Wii
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available for $30/night.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

43.0275 -87.9171
Area served
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Nearby airports
General Mitchell International Airport Closest Public Transport: Milwaukee Public Transportation – City Bus 1 block from hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Iron Horse Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Iron Horse Hotel Rooms

Custom Deluxe
Oversize guest rooms with either King or double Queen beds, comfy lounge seating and in-room dining. In contrast to today's prevalent minimalistic rooms, each of our guest rooms is warm and inviting, uniquely configured to take full advantage of the architectural features of this historic building. Internet service is complimentary.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 1 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Bradley Center Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Park: 2.7 mi

Dining

THE YARD
Located on the sun-drenched west side of The Iron Horse Hotel™ is The Yard. Carved into the hillside with native landscaping and stone outcroppings, The Yard is a street cafe with views of the river and the award-winning Sixth Street Viaduct. Featuring seasonal lunch, dinner and late-night cocktails, this patio is the perfect place to legitimately watch the world go by. As a special event staging area, The Yard offers an unforgettable venue for untraditional corporate meetings, social gatherings or weddings. The 6,400-square-foot outdoor terrace offers space for up to 600 for a dramatic event in either an open-air setting or completely tented venue. Contact our sales department for group business.
IN-ROOM DINING
Whether it's a working breakfast at your desk, an intimate dinner for two or a must-have, late-night bite, The Iron Horse Hotel's in-room dining offers exceptional meals in the comfort of your room. Our Premium Loft, Corner Alcove and Custom Deluxe guest rooms are designed to offer ample space for in-room dining. Order from the complete Branded or Lobby Lounge menus during regular hours or check out our creative 24-hour menu of snacks, salads and sweets for something to enjoy any time, day or night.
SMYTH
Whether you're a guest of the city, far from home, or just craving comfort food with flair, Smyth promises an experience that's both familiar and creative. With a broad menu for both lunch and dinner, Smyth fires up cooking that's both simple and adventurous, offering something for everyone from farm-fresh lighter fare to hearty Regional American cuisine.
LOBBY LOUNGE
The Iron Horse Hotel's lobby features inviting lounge seating in a magnificent two-story atrium. The space is designed to offer a relaxing spot to catch up on email in an entirely wireless environment. Or swing by at night to see the mix of locals and travelers, business suits and bikers. Comfortable food with a kick in the a** – either served with a perfect martini or a long-neck beer and a smile.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for The Iron Horse Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cards 54
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 10, 2012

Great Milwaukee Hotel

Looking a somewhere different to stay in Milwaukee, try The Iron Horse Hotel. Great location with easy walk to bars, cafes and bike paths. Rooms are great...try this for your next stay, you will agree!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
Dec 1, 2009

The Only Place to Stay in Milwaukee

This was my first visit to Milwaukee and unfortunately I could only stay at The Iron Horse for one night; I wouldn't have minded an extended stay! This hotel is definitely one of a kind--amazing amenities, beautifully designed rooms, and absolutely helpful and respectful staff. Well worth the few extra dollars I paid!! I will definitely stay here next time I am in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bienchenevi
Florida
May 20, 2013

Birthday Surprise

Booked the hotel as a Birthday surprise for my husband. Perfect location to visit the Harley Davidson Museum

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MKE William
Milwaukee, WI
May 13, 2013

MKE Home

Took a little time out for a couples retreat. Excellents services and amenities including massages great private luxury!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
30-something City Guy
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 22, 2009

Chic, ultra-modern hotel

I was in Milwaukee on a business trip and stayed at the Iron Horse. I was very impressed. Modern recently converted warehouse with a very friendly staff. Nice bar served food and drinks late and the library was a nice sunny place to read, work, and have breakfast. Would definitely stay there again! It is kind of isolated in the warehouse district so there isn't much around... yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
redd5776
Chicago, IL
Jan 20, 2014

The Iron Horse Hotel

The hotel has a very warm and inviting feeling the minute you walk in the door. The room, too, had a great feeling. The only negative was that there was a scent (perfume, incense...not bad) that was strong and a little overbearing. However, all in all we really enjoyed the stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
catspajamas
Business
wisconsin
Mar 10, 2010

Fantastic stay

wonderful staff, and superlative valet staff, respectful and helpful very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frugal With Standards
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 2, 2009

Iron Horse IS A ROCK STAR!!!

I've never had a better hotel stay, even at a Four Seasons--EVER! The room, restaurant & bar were the BEST! When I checked out, and later needed to stay another night, they gave me the same rate. Location was near everywhere I wanted to be, including the Harley Davidson Museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For LGBT travelers, this is THE ONLY hotel to stay at in Milwaukee, Wisconsin!!! Walking distance from all the bars, across the river from Downtown, and in the historic Walkers Point area of the city!

Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 15, 2008

Great Hotel

The Ironhorse Hotel was very comfortable and unique. The rooms are like a loft apartment. Very urban like. Great staff!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
Dec 1, 2009

The Only Place to Stay in Milwaukee

This was my first visit to Milwaukee and unfortunately I could only stay at The Iron Horse for one night; I wouldn't have minded an extended stay! This hotel is definitely one of a kind--amazing amenities, beautifully designed rooms, and absolutely helpful and respectful staff. Well worth the few extra dollars I paid!! I will definitely stay here next time I am in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top