$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

The Iron Horse Hotel

4 stars
500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
37 reviews
Awesome Hotel

The fact that I am a Harley guy made the Iron Horse the perfect place to stay. The room was clean,... See full review

  • Pirateer
  • Nov 11, 2014
Excellent

Was a great hotel and bar all employees were excellent See full review

  • Tjames416
  • Sep 15, 2014
Harleys welcome at luxury 21st century hotel

Iron Horse Hotel, named the 2010 Boutique Hotel of the Year by an industry group, offers luxurious services for business travelers in a historic renovated factory. The hotel revs up motorcycle fans eager to visit the Harley Davidson Museum, a short walk across the Menomonee River. Iron Horse packs guests a lunch for their saddlebags, offers special Bike Night programs in season, and provides tickets to the Harley museum on arrival. Hotel amenities include loft-style rooms with city views, a private reception area, meeting rooms, and fitness room.

Highlights
  • Short walk to Harley Davidson Museum
  • Spa services and fitness center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Rooms

Many of the 100 loft-style rooms feature timbered ceilings and exposed brick walls. All offer city views, a beverage center, complimentary high-speed Internet access, and walk-in shower with rain dome showerhead. Bikers enjoy tile entrances, hooks for hanging leathers, and benches for taking off and storing boots and helmets.

Features

Iron Horse Hotel, built in 1907 as a bedding factory and warehouse, is named for both the iconic motorcycle and the rail line that still carries daily freight trains. The hotel offers a stylish and modern atmosphere, despite the building's long history.

 

Dining options include a full-service breakfast in The Library and late-night drinks at The Yard, a seasonal outdoor venue overlooking the train tracks and the Sixth Street Viaduct. Many rooms offer ample space for in-room dining from the Branded menu, and the hotel's "Manager of Desires" creates personalized meal options.

 

The 24-hour Fitness Room offers two sport treadmills, two stationary bikes, a stepper/stair climber, and an elliptical trainer, plus open matted space for stretching, yoga, and free weights. Spa services include deep-tissue and hot stone massages.

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Milwaukee Public Transportation bus 1 block from hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Lakefront Brewery (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Milwaukee Art Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Milwaukee County Zoo (8.25 mi/13.3 km)
Business
  • Executive Suite offers a private reception area, coat closet, secretarial desk for an executive assistant, and bathroom
  • War Room features leather swivel-tilt seating at a custom 12-foot conference table, plus a 50-foot LCD flat-screen television
  • Sand Box offers a 42-inch LCD flat-screen television with full connectivity.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available for $30/night.
  • Guests must be 21 years or older to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Iron Horse Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Iron Horse Hotel Rooms

Custom Deluxe
Oversize guest rooms with either King or double Queen beds, comfy lounge seating and in-room dining. In contrast to today's prevalent minimalistic rooms, each of our guest rooms is warm and inviting, uniquely configured to take full advantage of the architectural features of this historic building. Internet service is complimentary.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 1 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Bradley Center Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Miller Park: 2.7 mi

Dining

THE YARD
Located on the sun-drenched west side of The Iron Horse Hotel™ is The Yard. Carved into the hillside with native landscaping and stone outcroppings, The Yard is a street cafe with views of the river and the award-winning Sixth Street Viaduct. Featuring seasonal lunch, dinner and late-night cocktails, this patio is the perfect place to legitimately watch the world go by. As a special event staging area, The Yard offers an unforgettable venue for untraditional corporate meetings, social gatherings or weddings. The 6,400-square-foot outdoor terrace offers space for up to 600 for a dramatic event in either an open-air setting or completely tented venue. Contact our sales department for group business.
IN-ROOM DINING
Whether it's a working breakfast at your desk, an intimate dinner for two or a must-have, late-night bite, The Iron Horse Hotel's in-room dining offers exceptional meals in the comfort of your room. Our Premium Loft, Corner Alcove and Custom Deluxe guest rooms are designed to offer ample space for in-room dining. Order from the complete Branded or Lobby Lounge menus during regular hours or check out our creative 24-hour menu of snacks, salads and sweets for something to enjoy any time, day or night.
SMYTH
Whether you're a guest of the city, far from home, or just craving comfort food with flair, Smyth promises an experience that's both familiar and creative. With a broad menu for both lunch and dinner, Smyth fires up cooking that's both simple and adventurous, offering something for everyone from farm-fresh lighter fare to hearty Regional American cuisine.
LOBBY LOUNGE
The Iron Horse Hotel's lobby features inviting lounge seating in a magnificent two-story atrium. The space is designed to offer a relaxing spot to catch up on email in an entirely wireless environment. Or swing by at night to see the mix of locals and travelers, business suits and bikers. Comfortable food with a kick in the a** – either served with a perfect martini or a long-neck beer and a smile.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for The Iron Horse Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cards 54
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 10, 2012

Great Milwaukee Hotel

Looking a somewhere different to stay in Milwaukee, try The Iron Horse Hotel. Great location with easy walk to bars, cafes and bike paths. Rooms are great...try this for your next stay, you will agree!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ParkerLewis
Business
Brookfield
Dec 17, 2014

Rooms here are great

Great hotel. Breakfast always good, rooms are very nice. Great showers. Good for a romantic trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dameon N.
Business
Grayslake
Dec 17, 2014

Great Hotel

This is my favorite hotel in Milwaukee. Love the Loft style rooms and the overall vibe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teller
Business
Chicago
Dec 1, 2014

Really nice hotel with great staff.

Stayed at the Iron Horse for a Thanksgiving get-a-way, with my wife and 6 year old boy. I would have to say that this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, and would have given it 5 stars if not for the location being a little away from the cities hustle and bustle and if the valet parking were not $30 per night (countered to some degree by the hotel having free wi-fi throughout). All the staff (valet included) were great and always helpful and friendly. The rooms were bigger than average, comfortable and clean. There was much to take in around the hotel, with tasteful decor and plenty of places to find a spot to hang. My son particularly enjoyed the Library where breakfast is served. I particularly enjoyed the free pool (billiards) in the bar! This is a pet friendly hotel, too. It was nice to see a bunch of dogs enjoying themselves. They even got their own Welcome Board, listing names of each of them. The food served in the bar and at the higher end Smyth's restaurant was good, but the choices felt limited. In particular, a more varied bar menu would have been appreciated, and would have likely kept us from venturing outside the hotel for other options. We will be visiting this hotel again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Harley-Davidson museum is just across the river from the hotel and is a recommended destination. Even for me, a Triumph aficionado. I would also recommend Anodyne Coffee Roasting Co. which is about a mile from the hotel, for good coffee, pastries and live bands/singers at the weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pirateer
Business
Helper, Utah
Nov 11, 2014

Awesome Hotel

The fact that I am a Harley guy made the Iron Horse the perfect place to stay. The room was clean, perfectly decorated, and the beds "Perfect"!! My room overlooked the Harley Davidson Museum, and the river. We also attended the Green Bay Packers game during our stay. The staff were so friendly, and helpful. If I could say anything that I would change. Don't charge $30.00 extra dollars to park my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Public Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tjames416
Business
Michigan
Sep 15, 2014

Excellent

Was a great hotel and bar all employees were excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Midwestern Girl Laurie
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 13, 2014

Modern Hotel in Milwaukee

My husband and I went to Milwaukee for a weekend getaway from Chicago and we stayed at the Iron Horse Hotel. I had heard such great things about this hotel and it did not disappoint. The rooms are spacious and modern as is the rest of the hotel. The bar is very lively and had a good crowd (we are in our mid-30's). We liked the bar and the atmosphere so much that we decided to just return to the bar after we had dinner out downtown. A special shout out to Dallas- our favorite bartender (although they were all very friendly)! We will definitely come back here- I've stayed at other places in Milwaukee and nothing compares to the Iron Horse!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
redd5776
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 20, 2014

The Iron Horse Hotel

The hotel has a very warm and inviting feeling the minute you walk in the door. The room, too, had a great feeling. The only negative was that there was a scent (perfume, incense...not bad) that was strong and a little overbearing. However, all in all we really enjoyed the stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BethAnn MiMi
Business
Sheboygan, WI
Sep 29, 2013

It was the best stay ever!!!

We rode our harley in from up north and heard that this was a great place to stay. It was fantastic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JayCopp
Business
Chicago
Sep 10, 2013

Great Stay. Milwaukee Gem

Very comfortable room, loved the hotel on our stay. Not downtown but close enough and this hotel has lots of charm. Will be the hotel I stay at whenever I am in Milwaukee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iron Horse Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bienchenevi
Business
Florida
May 20, 2013

Birthday Surprise

Booked the hotel as a Birthday surprise for my husband. Perfect location to visit the Harley Davidson Museum

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top