$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Astor Hotel

3 stars
View map of 924 E Juneau Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53202

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
53 reviews
fit the bill

good price and good location. unique, old historic building. See full review

  • jeanette w.
  • Feb 21, 2015
Cheap and descent

I only stayed one day in there but it was easy to get there from train station, it's on downtown,... See full review

  • Joanna V.
  • Jan 24, 2015
A creation of culture and traditional style, The Astor Hotel offers old world grandeur with modern amenities. The Astor Hotel is home to 93 hotel rooms and suites and is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. For guests interested in extended stays, the hotel offers monthly rates. Guest check-in is at 4:00 P.M., and check-out is at 11 A.M. All guest rooms are traditionally furnished with queen or king-size beds, and include an iron, ironing board, Aveda bath products, and 24 hour business center with complimentary internet. Built in 1920 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Astor Hotel provides old world grandeur and elegance, famous midwestern hospitality, and uncompromising service. Known for elegant. Built in 1920 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Astor Hotel provides old world grandeur and elegance, famous midwestern hospitality, and uncompromising service. Known for elegant weddings, The Astor Ballroom and its surrounding meeting rooms maintain their legendary ambiance, while the hotel guest rooms have been transformed with modern amenities. Amenities- Ballroom, Dry cleaning, Fitness facilities, Lobby and Smoke-free hotel. REMARKS - Weekends are very busy for weddings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Astor Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Astor Hotel Rooms

Single Queen
Room with one queen bed offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Color TV, Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Bradley Center Arena: 0.7 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 0.9 mi
  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Miller Park: 3.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Stop in on Friday to enjoy a traditonal Friday night fish fry. Also featuring other great entrees, burgers, sandwiches, etc.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Astor Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ocloc
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Wonderful!

The hotel is in a wonderful neighborhood, near museums, shops, and other attractions. The customer service was excellent, and the hotel was historic and beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan Bzly
Business
Wilmington, nc
May 9, 2013

Charming, convenient and comfortable

If you go in understanding and appreciating the age of the hotel, you'll love it! The location can't get any better. You're walking distance to many of Milwaukee's attractions. If you're looking for sleek and high end, this isn't it. But it is really clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit up the Irish pub across the street and try out the Guinness pulled BBQ chicken sandwich! To die for! Also, check out the market downtown. You could eat there for days!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen W
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 27, 2012

Stay-cation

I booked this hotel for my birthday and it was a great choice. The rooms were cheap but still had nice offerings like Aveda products in the rooms and a free breakfast. I appreciated the hotel's character and location. It was a quick cab ride to go out to the bars on Brady. I did not appreciate the old windows banging from the wind in the morning to wake me up. We had to put the TV guide in the crack to stabilize the window. It was also very warm in our room and we had no way to control the temperature other than opening a window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hi Hat on Brady was great for beer and cocktails. The Garage is attached to the Hi Hat and was also a fun bar with a photobooth.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chefguy
Business
Cape Cod
Mar 13, 2012

Last minute travel

Check in was quick, friendly. Room was spotless, had a view which was suprising as it was an economy room. All dealings with staff very friendly and helpful. Location was perfect as I had no vehicle and was within walking distance to downtown. I would happily stay again and will recommend to any friends/family traveling to Milwaukee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jt2842
Business
Aurora, IL
Apr 30, 2012

Great weekend getaway

We came up to Milwaukee for a concert and a quick weekend getaway. The Astor Hotel was perfect for our needs. It is on the historical places register, so don't expect it to be a Hilton or anything else you would be used to nowadays. The location is great, plenty of bars to walk to, and not far from anything. Perfect weekend!! Thanks Astor Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Von Trier's has some great food!! Duck Confit Flatbread is the greatest!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pj and mf
Business
chicago il
Jul 29, 2013

great value/nice area

a beautiful neighborhood close to great restaurants and shops on brady street. the shuttle they provide will take you downtown or to the fairgrounds for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

anywhere on brady street you will find great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amdcad
Business
Detroit, Michigsn
Oct 8, 2013

Vintage, Downtown Charm

Booked this hotel for a one-night stay - fantastic value. The location is perfect for hanging out in Downtown Milwaukee. The room was very clean and the staff was very helpful and nice. Our bed was not comfortable at all, and the plumbing in the bathroom was all old-school, and a little tricky to figure out. Overall, a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
St. Paul fan
Business
Dayton, OH
Jan 21, 2014

great location

Spacious rooms in a historic landmark hotel. Clean and comfortable. Furniture mismatched and the lighting was "romantic." Small dressing room outside the bathroom. Faucet in the lavatory sink ran very slow; tub needed re-enameling. Generally a nice place to sleep (the bed was great) and a great location near the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GiordanoB
Business
Green Bay
Feb 11, 2014

Just right.

The Astor is an older hotel that has what you need, though it may not have what you want if you're picky. We want a place that's clean and safe and inexpensive and comfortable, and The Astor is all these things. It's within walking distance of the Milwaukee Art Museum, but downtown is a stretch. Not many restaurants in the area, but we walked to County Clare one night and The Knick the next, and both were excellent. We didn't dine at the hotel because we weren't in the mood for Italian. But we had breakfast there and it was real good. Hint: we had a Standard room which was roomy and comfortable; others are a bit small. This wasn't our first stay and won't be our last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMLP
Business
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Mar 24, 2014

Classic old school

The desk staff was great. They gave me an excellent recommendation for lunch. This hotel is older, but very clean, and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Hi-Hat Lounge- Garage. Great burgers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top