$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Ambassador Inn At Marquette

3 stars
2301 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
129 reviews
nice

For a 3 star hotel it was fine. Decent rooms, nice beds. See full review

  • thays
  • Dec 13, 2013
Very nice and comfortable

This was just a quick stay, but all employees, the room, the beds/pillows all good... I would stay... See full review

  • KLU1
  • Sep 30, 2013
Affordable convenience near Marquette University

Ambassador Inn offers reasonably priced, comfortable lodging near Marquette University in the western part of Milwaukee. The inn shares some hotel services with its sibling property across the street, the high-end 1928 Ambassador Hotel, including the free shuttle, which carries guests to and from downtown attractions. Amenities include an on-site restaurant, lounge, and fitness room.

Highlights
  • Short walk to Marquette campus
  • Aveda personal care products in room
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All 40 non-smoking rooms feature two double beds, a 37-inch flat-screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Suites include a living room and a kitchenette with range, oven, and other amenities.

Features

Guests enjoy a free continental breakfast and can cross the street to the Ambassador Hotel for lunch and dinner. The on-site restaurant, Envoy, open for breakfast lunch, and dinner, features decorative ceilings, polished nickel light fixtures, and marble floors. Dinner appetizers include ahi tuna, flatbread pizza, and a Wisconsin cheese course. Entrees include porcini-crusted filet mignon and hoisin halibut. Caffe Deco, with its period look, serves Starbucks coffees and pastry for breakfast and a light sandwich menu for lunch.

 

Envoy Lounge provides guests with to share a drink with friends or catch the big game on television. An extensive beer and wine list complements a selection of cocktails from the hotel's original 1920s menu.

 

The complimentary fitness room includes two cardiovascular machines. Guests looking for a more extensive workout enjoy discounts at a nearby fitness center.

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Free on-demand shuttle bus to downtown venues (depending on availability)
Nearby attractions
  • Harley Davidson Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Pabst Mansion (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Potawatomi Bingo Casino (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Several meeting and event venues serve up to 200 people
  • Modern audio-visual equipment
  • Meeting planning services
  • Business center

Ambassador Inn At Marquette Rooms

Standard
Double Double - Two Luxurious Double Beds 37 inch flat panel TV with satellite and PPV movies wet bar refrigerator microwave coffee maker complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access. All guest rooms are Non Smoking.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Description not provided
Suite
Double Double Suite - Two Double Beds. Satellite TV/PPV movies. Living Room. Full kitchen with full-size refrigerator. Range. Oven. Microwave and coffee maker. Wired and wireless high-speed Internet. All guest rooms are Non Smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Video checkout
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Inn At Marquette also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0387 -87.9406
Nearby airports
General Mitchell Intl Airport, (MKE), 10.00, MI, N; O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 70.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 1.2 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 1.2 mi
  • Bradley Center Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Miller Park: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 129
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.6

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DJ Glow
Cedar Rapids, IA
Jul 8, 2014

Decent Hotel

Comfy beds, clean rooms, excellent staff. Just your average hotel. We were just there for a quick overnight trip so it worked well for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

No good nightlife within a short walk from this place! Bring plenty of drinks for your hotel room. :)

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KLU1
Chicago, IL
Sep 30, 2013

Very nice and comfortable

This was just a quick stay, but all employees, the room, the beds/pillows all good... I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago Philly
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 1, 2013

Ambassador Inn stay

The hotel was average nothing real bad but nothing real good. We stayed there while attending Summerfest and it's located like a 10 min drive away from there. The hotel also offered a shuttle bus ride to drop us off which was real helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Broken Yolk for breakfast. A few blocks down the road and they fill you up. It can get busy though when college is in session.

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amateur Concert Goer
Saint Paul, MN
Mar 6, 2013

Close to concert venue

My group of friends and I chose this hotel because of the closeness to the concert venue. We had never been to Milwaukee before but we were informed later that the location of this hotel was in a "rough" part of Milwaukee. Therefore, we were a bit timid as we parked our car and checked in -- but in the end we had nothing to worry about. The hotel was pretty secure and the prime location next to the concert venue made this the absolute best choice for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to the Rave/Eagle Club this is a prime location to stay at.

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parfulle
Northwest Indiana
Sep 4, 2012

Great Place to Stay!

Don't be swayed by some of the negative reviews, I have stayed at this hotel twice now for 3 nights apiece and both times have been amazing. The best part for me has been the cheap price and free parking. Oh, and the free shuttle to Miller Park has been amazing. It is within 3 block of Marquette University, which has some really good eats nearby. The rooms are cozy and I haven't had a problem with cleanliness at all, rooms were well maintained. Don't be swayed by the neighborhood, I have never had a problem at all, and it's so close to the university that there are cops everywhere. Will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Located right by Marquette are Real Chili, Dogg Haus, and Soblemans. A 3 minute drive or 10 minute walk gets you right there.

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Jul 30, 2012

Hotel Okay...Shuttle Service Stupendous

The Ambassador Inn is listed as a “Historical Landmark meets Upscale Modern at our Downtown Milwaukee Hotel” , the only thing that I can say that is “upscale” about this hotel is their shuttle service. The shuttle service is phenomenal. The shuttle service will drop off and pick up at any location in the city and it is not just a one-time service, it is an all-day service. I would definitely stay at this hotel again for the shuttle service but nothing else. The hotel sits on the border of good town/bad town. If you walk west of the hotel, the neighborhoods are extremely run down, if you walk east of the hotel, the college is very nice. The hotel staff was great, but the room was not the cleanest, I even made a complaint at the end of our stay. I am not fond of showering with someone’s else’s hair. Whatever this hotel says about their amenities they are lying. A continental breakfast was offered but it was nothing else but packaged danishes from a gas station and small juices in a container. I guess it was better than no breakfast at all. The hotel could definitely use an upgrade that's for sure. As far as “upscale” I would save your money for the Hilton, unless you want to take advantage of this hotels’ shuttle service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Milwaukee has a very cool "Public Market". I would also like to highly recommend a free tour at the Miller Brewing Company.

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jelly
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Not A Bad Stay

The Ambassador across the street was way more expensive so i stayed at the Ambassador Inn and it was a lot nicer than I expected. There was a fridge and microwave which is always nice and the room was clean. When you first walk in to the building it is a bit old and you wouldn't expect the actual room to be as nice as it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jelly
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Not A Bad Stay

The Ambassador across the street was way more expensive so i stayed at the Ambassador Inn and it was a lot nicer than I expected. There was a fridge and microwave which is always nice and the room was clean. When you first walk in to the building it is a bit old and you wouldn't expect the actual room to be as nice as it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern WI
May 6, 2011

Convenient Location

Overnight stay for a Concert at The Rave. Only a block away from the Concert, we walked to Milw UW Campus while we waited for our room to open. (We were early). Room was average. Staff very friendly & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rave concert center only a block away.

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern WI
May 6, 2011

Convenient Location

Overnight stay for a Concert at The Rave. Only a block away from the Concert, we walked to Milw UW Campus while we waited for our room to open. (We were early). Room was average. Staff very friendly & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rave concert center only a block away.

Back to menu Return to top