$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Ambassador Inn At Marquette

3 stars
2301 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
129 reviews
nice

For a 3 star hotel it was fine. Decent rooms, nice beds. See full review

  • thays
  • Dec 13, 2013
Very nice and comfortable

This was just a quick stay, but all employees, the room, the beds/pillows all good... I would stay... See full review

  • KLU1
  • Sep 30, 2013
Affordable convenience near Marquette University

Ambassador Inn offers reasonably priced, comfortable lodging near Marquette University in the western part of Milwaukee. The inn shares some hotel services with its sibling property across the street, the high-end 1928 Ambassador Hotel, including the free shuttle, which carries guests to and from downtown attractions. Amenities include an on-site restaurant, lounge, and fitness room.

Highlights
  • Short walk to Marquette campus
  • Aveda personal care products in room
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All 40 non-smoking rooms feature two double beds, a 37-inch flat-screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Suites include a living room and a kitchenette with range, oven, and other amenities.

Features

Guests enjoy a free continental breakfast and can cross the street to the Ambassador Hotel for lunch and dinner. The on-site restaurant, Envoy, open for breakfast lunch, and dinner, features decorative ceilings, polished nickel light fixtures, and marble floors. Dinner appetizers include ahi tuna, flatbread pizza, and a Wisconsin cheese course. Entrees include porcini-crusted filet mignon and hoisin halibut. Caffe Deco, with its period look, serves Starbucks coffees and pastry for breakfast and a light sandwich menu for lunch.

 

Envoy Lounge provides guests with to share a drink with friends or catch the big game on television. An extensive beer and wine list complements a selection of cocktails from the hotel's original 1920s menu.

 

The complimentary fitness room includes two cardiovascular machines. Guests looking for a more extensive workout enjoy discounts at a nearby fitness center.

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Free on-demand shuttle bus to downtown venues (depending on availability)
Nearby attractions
  • Harley Davidson Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Pabst Mansion (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Potawatomi Bingo Casino (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Several meeting and event venues serve up to 200 people
  • Modern audio-visual equipment
  • Meeting planning services
  • Business center

Hotel Map

43.0387 -87.9406
Nearby airports
General Mitchell Intl Airport, (MKE), 10.00, MI, N; O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 70.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Inn At Marquette also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Ambassador Inn At Marquette Rooms

Standard
Double Double - Two Luxurious Double Beds 37 inch flat panel TV with satellite and PPV movies wet bar refrigerator microwave coffee maker complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access. All guest rooms are Non Smoking.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Description not provided
Suite
Double Double Suite - Two Double Beds. Satellite TV/PPV movies. Living Room. Full kitchen with full-size refrigerator. Range. Oven. Microwave and coffee maker. Wired and wireless high-speed Internet. All guest rooms are Non Smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Video checkout
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 1.2 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 1.2 mi
  • Bradley Center Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Miller Park: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very disgruntled and disappointed client
Madison, WI
Apr 28, 2010

Absolutely a waste of money and time

My boyfriend and I were in Milwaukee for Brewers games. The distance to Miller Park and never staying in Mil. played a large role in choosing the Ambassador Inn. Boy were we mistaken! Disaster struck with check in. The smell of the lobby and inn in general has a dingy smell to it. The receptionist checking us in gave us the wrong room key cards, TWICE! The third time it finally worked but this was after multiple trips up and down the stairs. Very time consuming and she didn't even apologize. Our neighbors were very rude and loud. This may be due to the fact that it was close to a club. Parking was a major problem. Upon check in we were told that we could park in the lot across the street. We attended the Brewers game and got back late. The lot was full due the fact that there were multiple cars that were rudely parked willy nilly. Not seeing any "No Parking" signs in the street, we parked on the street. Only to find out that we got a ticket the next morning. When we brought this to the receptionist's attention (a different one), she said that she was not aware of the parking rules. She asked us if we were from Milwaukee. (As if we would stay there if we were? Heck no!) She also informed us that we could of had parked across the street at the Ambassador Hotel's lot. We were never given this information upon check in the prior day. It would of had helped immensely to avoid the ticket! I suggested to them that they inform their guests of the city parking rules and let them know of the other lot upon check in! Overall, their room contained very low-quality items such as harsh towels that had fibers trailing from them and dirty shower curtain hems that were brown. This was not what I expected. Very disappointed and definitely not going back there again. I would rather stay at a Super 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ambassador Inn (NOT HOTEL) in Milwaukee
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 20, 2009

Bait and Switch?!?!

The hotel was described, when purchased, as "the only Art Deco hotel in Milwaukee" (or so I thought!). The pictures looked great! Turns out, that was the Ambassador Hotel, across the street, not the Ambassador Inn, which was extremely unattractive, very smelly, and unpleasant. The "breakfast room" was hilariously bad. (Though, I have to say, the room itself was clean and in fairly good shape).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very disgruntled and disappointed client
Madison, WI
Apr 28, 2010

Absolutely a waste of money and time

My boyfriend and I were in Milwaukee for Brewers games. The distance to Miller Park and never staying in Mil. played a large role in choosing the Ambassador Inn. Boy were we mistaken! Disaster struck with check in. The smell of the lobby and inn in general has a dingy smell to it. The receptionist checking us in gave us the wrong room key cards, TWICE! The third time it finally worked but this was after multiple trips up and down the stairs. Very time consuming and she didn't even apologize. Our neighbors were very rude and loud. This may be due to the fact that it was close to a club. Parking was a major problem. Upon check in we were told that we could park in the lot across the street. We attended the Brewers game and got back late. The lot was full due the fact that there were multiple cars that were rudely parked willy nilly. Not seeing any "No Parking" signs in the street, we parked on the street. Only to find out that we got a ticket the next morning. When we brought this to the receptionist's attention (a different one), she said that she was not aware of the parking rules. She asked us if we were from Milwaukee. (As if we would stay there if we were? Heck no!) She also informed us that we could of had parked across the street at the Ambassador Hotel's lot. We were never given this information upon check in the prior day. It would of had helped immensely to avoid the ticket! I suggested to them that they inform their guests of the city parking rules and let them know of the other lot upon check in! Overall, their room contained very low-quality items such as harsh towels that had fibers trailing from them and dirty shower curtain hems that were brown. This was not what I expected. Very disappointed and definitely not going back there again. I would rather stay at a Super 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. Out of towner
Iowa
Nov 16, 2012

Worst experience ever

We were first placed in a room that was not yet finished being cleaned, so they moved us to a different room. After that we dropped our bags and enjoyed the city. When we returned that night we were accused of being loud when we just walk into our room. So they moved us for the second time across the street at late hours. The staff was beyond rude. Since it was so late we had things to refrigerate and removed things from the mini bar but did not open then. We realized in the morning it charges you immediately. We put it all back and explained to the reception desk. They said after staff reviews it. We would be reinbursted. It has almost been a week and I still have not been reinbursted even after multiple calls to the hotel. The entire experience was such an in incidence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MOMNAR
ISHPEMING, MICHIGAN
Oct 12, 2009

VERY BAD

THIS HOTEL WAS NOT CLEAN AT ALL AND ALSO IN A BAD AREA. WE DID NOT EVEN STAY THERE. ENDED UP PACKING UP AT 12:30 AM TO LEAVE THIS HOTEL AFTER A CONCERT BECAUSE THE BEDDING WAS SO AWFUL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business traveler12345
Business
Nashville
Sep 23, 2013

Dirty Room

Unfortunately, it score zero for room cleanliness, the cleaners did not clan the room thoroughly, the room I stay in, the safe box was stash with food that was there a long time, smell horrible and there were flies all over, it was terrible, I have to request to change the room!!!! Definitely won't recommend to anyone!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ambassador Inn (NOT HOTEL) in Milwaukee
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 20, 2009

Bait and Switch?!?!

The hotel was described, when purchased, as "the only Art Deco hotel in Milwaukee" (or so I thought!). The pictures looked great! Turns out, that was the Ambassador Hotel, across the street, not the Ambassador Inn, which was extremely unattractive, very smelly, and unpleasant. The "breakfast room" was hilariously bad. (Though, I have to say, the room itself was clean and in fairly good shape).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MOMNAR
ISHPEMING, MICHIGAN
Oct 12, 2009

VERY BAD

THIS HOTEL WAS NOT CLEAN AT ALL AND ALSO IN A BAD AREA. WE DID NOT EVEN STAY THERE. ENDED UP PACKING UP AT 12:30 AM TO LEAVE THIS HOTEL AFTER A CONCERT BECAUSE THE BEDDING WAS SO AWFUL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mamel
Business
Bentonville, AR, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Bad experience

No toilet paper, bad heating system, continental breakfast no napkins, microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Springjester
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Oct 3, 2011

old needs updating

needs new matresses, carpeting, everything, not inexpensive for the age of the room.......furniture mismatched......last time there.......location only advantage......maybe the real Ambassador across the street is nice but this place is a dump....spend some money......rates are too high for the rooms......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top