$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Ambassador Inn At Marquette

3 stars
2301 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
82 reviews
nice

For a 3 star hotel it was fine. Decent rooms, nice beds. See full review

  • thays
  • Dec 13, 2013
Very nice and comfortable

This was just a quick stay, but all employees, the room, the beds/pillows all good... I would stay... See full review

  • KLU1
  • Sep 30, 2013
Affordable convenience near Marquette University

Ambassador Inn offers reasonably priced, comfortable lodging near Marquette University in the western part of Milwaukee. The inn shares some hotel services with its sibling property across the street, the high-end 1928 Ambassador Hotel, including the free shuttle, which carries guests to and from downtown attractions. Amenities include an on-site restaurant, lounge, and fitness room.

Highlights
  • Short walk to Marquette campus
  • Aveda personal care products in room
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All 40 non-smoking rooms feature two double beds, a 37-inch flat-screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Suites include a living room and a kitchenette with range, oven, and other amenities.

Features

Guests enjoy a free continental breakfast and can cross the street to the Ambassador Hotel for lunch and dinner. The on-site restaurant, Envoy, open for breakfast lunch, and dinner, features decorative ceilings, polished nickel light fixtures, and marble floors. Dinner appetizers include ahi tuna, flatbread pizza, and a Wisconsin cheese course. Entrees include porcini-crusted filet mignon and hoisin halibut. Caffe Deco, with its period look, serves Starbucks coffees and pastry for breakfast and a light sandwich menu for lunch.

 

Envoy Lounge provides guests with to share a drink with friends or catch the big game on television. An extensive beer and wine list complements a selection of cocktails from the hotel's original 1920s menu.

 

The complimentary fitness room includes two cardiovascular machines. Guests looking for a more extensive workout enjoy discounts at a nearby fitness center.

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Free on-demand shuttle bus to downtown venues (depending on availability)
Nearby attractions
  • Harley Davidson Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Pabst Mansion (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Potawatomi Bingo Casino (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Several meeting and event venues serve up to 200 people
  • Modern audio-visual equipment
  • Meeting planning services
  • Business center

Hotel Map

43.0387 -87.9406
Nearby airports
General Mitchell Intl Airport, (MKE), 10.00, MI, N; O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 70.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Inn At Marquette also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Ambassador Inn At Marquette Rooms

Standard
Double Double - Two Luxurious Double Beds 37 inch flat panel TV with satellite and PPV movies wet bar refrigerator microwave coffee maker complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access. All guest rooms are Non Smoking.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Description not provided
Suite
Double Double Suite - Two Double Beds. Satellite TV/PPV movies. Living Room. Full kitchen with full-size refrigerator. Range. Oven. Microwave and coffee maker. Wired and wireless high-speed Internet. All guest rooms are Non Smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Video checkout
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 1.2 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 1.2 mi
  • Bradley Center Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Miller Park: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationing Students
Delaware, OH
May 29, 2010

Student Museum Trip

Myself and a fellow student went on this trip to go to the Milwaukee Public Museum for a special event. We stayed overnight one night so that we didn't have to drive the whole way and got pretty much what we expected. It was a decently priced hotel for two poor college students, and was clean, the staff was friendly and answered all of our questions. The two "dislikes" of the hotel were that we both wished we had brought our own pillows (the ones on the beds were very uncomfortable), and the location was a little sketchy (we would have felt a little more comfortable in a nicer part of town). I would recommend this hotel to others staying for a short period of time for a business trip or "field" trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There really weren't any places to eat close-by. If you want to get a good meal, there are some nice restaurants closer to downtown, but even then, it took us a while to find places. Don't expect to walk to a restaurant from the Hotel.

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Braves fan in MN
Minneapolis, MN
May 21, 2010

Nice hotel

This was a very well done Art-Deco hotel with the main building right across the street. The staff was friendly and professional, even the restaurant in the main hotel was very good. If you're going to a ball game you should definitely take the shuttle. It's free and very fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There isn't a lot of dining choices within walking distance, but a short drive increases your opportunities.

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very disgruntled and disappointed client
Madison, WI
Apr 28, 2010

Absolutely a waste of money and time

My boyfriend and I were in Milwaukee for Brewers games. The distance to Miller Park and never staying in Mil. played a large role in choosing the Ambassador Inn. Boy were we mistaken! Disaster struck with check in. The smell of the lobby and inn in general has a dingy smell to it. The receptionist checking us in gave us the wrong room key cards, TWICE! The third time it finally worked but this was after multiple trips up and down the stairs. Very time consuming and she didn't even apologize. Our neighbors were very rude and loud. This may be due to the fact that it was close to a club. Parking was a major problem. Upon check in we were told that we could park in the lot across the street. We attended the Brewers game and got back late. The lot was full due the fact that there were multiple cars that were rudely parked willy nilly. Not seeing any "No Parking" signs in the street, we parked on the street. Only to find out that we got a ticket the next morning. When we brought this to the receptionist's attention (a different one), she said that she was not aware of the parking rules. She asked us if we were from Milwaukee. (As if we would stay there if we were? Heck no!) She also informed us that we could of had parked across the street at the Ambassador Hotel's lot. We were never given this information upon check in the prior day. It would of had helped immensely to avoid the ticket! I suggested to them that they inform their guests of the city parking rules and let them know of the other lot upon check in! Overall, their room contained very low-quality items such as harsh towels that had fibers trailing from them and dirty shower curtain hems that were brown. This was not what I expected. Very disappointed and definitely not going back there again. I would rather stay at a Super 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Guy
Business
Chicago, Il
Apr 14, 2010

Great deal for the price!

I checked in really late at night, but the staff was kind. I was relaly impressed with my room and the entire facility for the price that I received compared to other hotels in the area. It was little diffiicult to navigate, becauses it's part of another hotel unit across the street, but other than that, it was great! Not far at all from the main downtown are and located right off the highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linda PhD RN
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 12, 2010

Good hotel close to Marquette Univ

Nice room and small but good fitness center. Late arrivals must go across the street to another hotel to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel across the street had a wonderful restaurant, the Envoy.

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jmgonzalez
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 1, 2010

Nice Milwaukee..!!!

Unbeatable location for the price and very good location......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cubanito Restaurante

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ambassadors
Chicago, IL
Mar 28, 2010

Ambassadors Hotel

Excellent. Beautiful, spacious room. Great location, beautiful hotel and great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of the shuttle services, parking can be challenging especially if you don't know where you're going

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visiting Conference
Business
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Mar 18, 2010

Noisy neighbours

I guess I was unlucky, bit two of my four nights were spoiled by noisy youngsters, running up and down the corridors, smoking on the corridors, and shouting. Otherwise the rooms were fine. Breakfast was spartanic, but you cannot expect a lot for this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 5, 2010

Good Value for Price

This hotel is an older hotel that has been updated. The location is not an area that I would walk around alone in at night but since there was a group of us, I felt safe. The Lobby Area is tiny but the Ambassador Hotel across the street offers a nice restaurant/bar and lobby area. Since we were only in the room to sleep, it was clean, quiet, and adequate. Good value for the money and we'd stay again. They do offer Free Shuttle Service to and from downtown locations which was nice. Free Parking as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Potawatami Bingo and Northern Lights Theater are about 2 miles away and the hotel offers Free Shuttle Service. The theater is a small 500 seat intimate setting, very enjoyable!

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
cleveland ohio
Feb 28, 2010

nice overnight stay

Room was clean, bed comfortable, had new flat screen TV (nice for the winter olympics). Liked the room layout with second counter/mirror adjacent to bathroom but bathroom door separated area. Good for getting dressed, using the coffee maker and hair dryer without tying up the bathroom. Good location for visiting Marquette University. No problems at all, desk clerk helpful with campus directions. For $80, it was a nice, clean, quiet place in a good location close to the college.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search