$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Ambassador Inn At Marquette

3 stars
2301 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
129 reviews
nice

For a 3 star hotel it was fine. Decent rooms, nice beds. See full review

  • thays
  • Dec 13, 2013
Very nice and comfortable

This was just a quick stay, but all employees, the room, the beds/pillows all good... I would stay... See full review

  • KLU1
  • Sep 30, 2013
Affordable convenience near Marquette University

Ambassador Inn offers reasonably priced, comfortable lodging near Marquette University in the western part of Milwaukee. The inn shares some hotel services with its sibling property across the street, the high-end 1928 Ambassador Hotel, including the free shuttle, which carries guests to and from downtown attractions. Amenities include an on-site restaurant, lounge, and fitness room.

Highlights
  • Short walk to Marquette campus
  • Aveda personal care products in room
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All 40 non-smoking rooms feature two double beds, a 37-inch flat-screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Suites include a living room and a kitchenette with range, oven, and other amenities.

Features

Guests enjoy a free continental breakfast and can cross the street to the Ambassador Hotel for lunch and dinner. The on-site restaurant, Envoy, open for breakfast lunch, and dinner, features decorative ceilings, polished nickel light fixtures, and marble floors. Dinner appetizers include ahi tuna, flatbread pizza, and a Wisconsin cheese course. Entrees include porcini-crusted filet mignon and hoisin halibut. Caffe Deco, with its period look, serves Starbucks coffees and pastry for breakfast and a light sandwich menu for lunch.

 

Envoy Lounge provides guests with to share a drink with friends or catch the big game on television. An extensive beer and wine list complements a selection of cocktails from the hotel's original 1920s menu.

 

The complimentary fitness room includes two cardiovascular machines. Guests looking for a more extensive workout enjoy discounts at a nearby fitness center.

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Free on-demand shuttle bus to downtown venues (depending on availability)
Nearby attractions
  • Harley Davidson Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Pabst Mansion (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Potawatomi Bingo Casino (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Several meeting and event venues serve up to 200 people
  • Modern audio-visual equipment
  • Meeting planning services
  • Business center

Ambassador Inn At Marquette Rooms

Standard
Double Double - Two Luxurious Double Beds 37 inch flat panel TV with satellite and PPV movies wet bar refrigerator microwave coffee maker complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access. All guest rooms are Non Smoking.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Description not provided
Suite
Double Double Suite - Two Double Beds. Satellite TV/PPV movies. Living Room. Full kitchen with full-size refrigerator. Range. Oven. Microwave and coffee maker. Wired and wireless high-speed Internet. All guest rooms are Non Smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Video checkout
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Inn At Marquette also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0387 -87.9406
Nearby airports
General Mitchell Intl Airport, (MKE), 10.00, MI, N; O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 70.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 1.2 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 1.2 mi
  • Bradley Center Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Miller Park: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Springjester
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Oct 3, 2011

old needs updating

needs new matresses, carpeting, everything, not inexpensive for the age of the room.......furniture mismatched......last time there.......location only advantage......maybe the real Ambassador across the street is nice but this place is a dump....spend some money......rates are too high for the rooms......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jelly
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Not A Bad Stay

The Ambassador across the street was way more expensive so i stayed at the Ambassador Inn and it was a lot nicer than I expected. There was a fridge and microwave which is always nice and the room was clean. When you first walk in to the building it is a bit old and you wouldn't expect the actual room to be as nice as it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jelly
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Not A Bad Stay

The Ambassador across the street was way more expensive so i stayed at the Ambassador Inn and it was a lot nicer than I expected. There was a fridge and microwave which is always nice and the room was clean. When you first walk in to the building it is a bit old and you wouldn't expect the actual room to be as nice as it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Milwaukee Guy!
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 11, 2011

Nice Place for Milwaukee Weekend

Great clean updated hotel for our Summerfest weekend! The rooms were nice, great A/C, mini fridge and microwave, in room WiFi worked great, new flat screen high def TV! Would book here again. The shuttle service from the Ambassador Hotel across the street was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to downtown Milwaukee...5 minutes west on Wisconsin Avenue

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Milwaukee Guy!
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 11, 2011

Nice Place for Milwaukee Weekend

Great clean updated hotel for our Summerfest weekend! The rooms were nice, great A/C, mini fridge and microwave, in room WiFi worked great, new flat screen high def TV! Would book here again. The shuttle service from the Ambassador Hotel across the street was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to downtown Milwaukee...5 minutes west on Wisconsin Avenue

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern WI
May 6, 2011

Convenient Location

Overnight stay for a Concert at The Rave. Only a block away from the Concert, we walked to Milw UW Campus while we waited for our room to open. (We were early). Room was average. Staff very friendly & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rave concert center only a block away.

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern WI
May 6, 2011

Convenient Location

Overnight stay for a Concert at The Rave. Only a block away from the Concert, we walked to Milw UW Campus while we waited for our room to open. (We were early). Room was average. Staff very friendly & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rave concert center only a block away.

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 31, 2011

Decent Stay With Some "Reservations"

The overall condition of the hotel is lacking, patched repairs to the exterior, and the area of town is not the greatest, but the room was actually very nice, much better than what I would have expected from the outside. The sink in the bathroom was leaking and I guess that could happen anywhere and I'm sure they'll fix it, but I think they need to pay a bit more attention to maintenance and upkeep. Still the stay was very good and, as I said, the room was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 31, 2011

Decent Stay With Some "Reservations"

The overall condition of the hotel is lacking, patched repairs to the exterior, and the area of town is not the greatest, but the room was actually very nice, much better than what I would have expected from the outside. The sink in the bathroom was leaking and I guess that could happen anywhere and I'm sure they'll fix it, but I think they need to pay a bit more attention to maintenance and upkeep. Still the stay was very good and, as I said, the room was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Macspainting
Minneapolis,MN
Mar 1, 2011

Very quiet, clean place to stay!

Easy to find, right off the freeway. Close, free parking was great. Friendly, helpful person at the desk, making it a quick checkin. Room was very quiet, no street noise or other people around. Beds were very comfortable and smelled super clean. Room was clean. The only thing bad was the bathroom was alittle small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To our daughter who is a student at MSOE college.

Back to menu Return to top