$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Ambassador Inn At Marquette

3 stars
View map of 2301 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NekoON
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 30, 2012

WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERUFL

I reserved for the Ambassodor Inn and was upgraded to the Hotel across the street. I was given a queen suit and they brought over the fridge and microwave for free. The only downfall was i missed out on the comp breakfast at the inn. But all in all i loved the hotel, very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The small dinner next door has great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madison RegVisitor
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 25, 2012

A good trip

My stay at Ambassador Inn were quite comfortable and liked the hotel location; it was very convenient to get to the school, the store and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again when I'm in Milwaukee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madison RegVisitor
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 25, 2012

An extended trip

Very comfortable and relaxing. I will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha Bonnie
Business
Hawaii
Nov 22, 2012

Beautifully comfortable experience!

The room was beautiful and the beds were so comfortable I didn't want to get out of them. I couldn't say enough about the staff and how helpful and friendly they were. I'm not from the area and they were like having my own gps. Thank so much for a wonderful day weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. Out of towner
Business
Iowa
Nov 16, 2012

Worst experience ever

We were first placed in a room that was not yet finished being cleaned, so they moved us to a different room. After that we dropped our bags and enjoyed the city. When we returned that night we were accused of being loud when we just walk into our room. So they moved us for the second time across the street at late hours. The staff was beyond rude. Since it was so late we had things to refrigerate and removed things from the mini bar but did not open then. We realized in the morning it charges you immediately. We put it all back and explained to the reception desk. They said after staff reviews it. We would be reinbursted. It has almost been a week and I still have not been reinbursted even after multiple calls to the hotel. The entire experience was such an in incidence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
me me me me me
Business
vt
Oct 22, 2012

right at Marquette

We spent four nights here visiting our son at Marquette. Hotel was adequate... nice shower, big towels, plenty of electric plugs, nice chairs. The beds were comfortable. There was a nice diner (awesome meatloaf) just across the street, Michael's open til 930. Also a quick stop one block up, and a Straybucks five blocks east. Downsides, ugly view of a brick wall from window, lots of teens on the street late at night (trying to look so so bad, but probably pretty harmless)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Michaels rocks! Good solid food, nice waitstaff and very reasonable prices. Tell them "Steve from Vermont" sent ya

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super dad jake
Business
bloomer, wi
Sep 4, 2012

brewers trip

it was a great value hotel located close to miller park. the staff was also very helpful. would go back for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parfulle
Business
Northwest Indiana
Sep 4, 2012

Great Place to Stay!

Don't be swayed by some of the negative reviews, I have stayed at this hotel twice now for 3 nights apiece and both times have been amazing. The best part for me has been the cheap price and free parking. Oh, and the free shuttle to Miller Park has been amazing. It is within 3 block of Marquette University, which has some really good eats nearby. The rooms are cozy and I haven't had a problem with cleanliness at all, rooms were well maintained. Don't be swayed by the neighborhood, I have never had a problem at all, and it's so close to the university that there are cops everywhere. Will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Located right by Marquette are Real Chili, Dogg Haus, and Soblemans. A 3 minute drive or 10 minute walk gets you right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Jul 30, 2012

Hotel Okay...Shuttle Service Stupendous

The Ambassador Inn is listed as a “Historical Landmark meets Upscale Modern at our Downtown Milwaukee Hotel” , the only thing that I can say that is “upscale” about this hotel is their shuttle service. The shuttle service is phenomenal. The shuttle service will drop off and pick up at any location in the city and it is not just a one-time service, it is an all-day service. I would definitely stay at this hotel again for the shuttle service but nothing else. The hotel sits on the border of good town/bad town. If you walk west of the hotel, the neighborhoods are extremely run down, if you walk east of the hotel, the college is very nice. The hotel staff was great, but the room was not the cleanest, I even made a complaint at the end of our stay. I am not fond of showering with someone’s else’s hair. Whatever this hotel says about their amenities they are lying. A continental breakfast was offered but it was nothing else but packaged danishes from a gas station and small juices in a container. I guess it was better than no breakfast at all. The hotel could definitely use an upgrade that's for sure. As far as “upscale” I would save your money for the Hilton, unless you want to take advantage of this hotels’ shuttle service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Milwaukee has a very cool "Public Market". I would also like to highly recommend a free tour at the Miller Brewing Company.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LilacWrylee
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Jul 3, 2012

Don't believe the free shuttle service

The hotel was fine, but the "free shuttle service to and from Summerfest" was a joke - got dropped off 4-5 blocks from the fairgrounds, and had to walk two miles after the show for them to come pick us up - called three times before someone answered - very disappointed with the shuttle service because that was the main reason I booked that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top