$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Ambassador Inn At Marquette

3 stars
2301 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
129 reviews
nice

For a 3 star hotel it was fine. Decent rooms, nice beds. See full review

  • thays
  • Dec 13, 2013
Very nice and comfortable

This was just a quick stay, but all employees, the room, the beds/pillows all good... I would stay... See full review

  • KLU1
  • Sep 30, 2013
Affordable convenience near Marquette University

Ambassador Inn offers reasonably priced, comfortable lodging near Marquette University in the western part of Milwaukee. The inn shares some hotel services with its sibling property across the street, the high-end 1928 Ambassador Hotel, including the free shuttle, which carries guests to and from downtown attractions. Amenities include an on-site restaurant, lounge, and fitness room.

Highlights
  • Short walk to Marquette campus
  • Aveda personal care products in room
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Rooms

All 40 non-smoking rooms feature two double beds, a 37-inch flat-screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Suites include a living room and a kitchenette with range, oven, and other amenities.

Features

Guests enjoy a free continental breakfast and can cross the street to the Ambassador Hotel for lunch and dinner. The on-site restaurant, Envoy, open for breakfast lunch, and dinner, features decorative ceilings, polished nickel light fixtures, and marble floors. Dinner appetizers include ahi tuna, flatbread pizza, and a Wisconsin cheese course. Entrees include porcini-crusted filet mignon and hoisin halibut. Caffe Deco, with its period look, serves Starbucks coffees and pastry for breakfast and a light sandwich menu for lunch.

 

Envoy Lounge provides guests with to share a drink with friends or catch the big game on television. An extensive beer and wine list complements a selection of cocktails from the hotel's original 1920s menu.

 

The complimentary fitness room includes two cardiovascular machines. Guests looking for a more extensive workout enjoy discounts at a nearby fitness center.

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Free on-demand shuttle bus to downtown venues (depending on availability)
Nearby attractions
  • Harley Davidson Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Pabst Mansion (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Potawatomi Bingo Casino (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Several meeting and event venues serve up to 200 people
  • Modern audio-visual equipment
  • Meeting planning services
  • Business center

Ambassador Inn At Marquette Rooms

Standard
Double Double - Two Luxurious Double Beds 37 inch flat panel TV with satellite and PPV movies wet bar refrigerator microwave coffee maker complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access. All guest rooms are Non Smoking.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Description not provided
Suite
Double Double Suite - Two Double Beds. Satellite TV/PPV movies. Living Room. Full kitchen with full-size refrigerator. Range. Oven. Microwave and coffee maker. Wired and wireless high-speed Internet. All guest rooms are Non Smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Video checkout
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Inn At Marquette also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0387 -87.9406
Nearby airports
General Mitchell Intl Airport, (MKE), 10.00, MI, N; O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 70.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • U.S. Cellular Arena: 1.2 mi
  • BMO Harris Bradley Center: 1.2 mi
  • Bradley Center Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Miller Park: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I'm Joe
Business
Chicago
Jan 25, 2013

Unexpected good time

I took this room the day before my night in Milwaukee because it was available, fairly well reviewed, and the price was right. The room was much better than expected. The bed was comfortable, TV as well, and there were no weird smells or anything. I'd definitely recommend this as a comfortable, no-frills option. Drawbacks are that the "fitness center" is just a regular room with glass door. Has one treadmill, one elliptical. Also, the free continental breakfast is bad. Worst part of the hotel by far. But you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NekoON
New York, NY, USA
Dec 30, 2012

WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERUFL

I reserved for the Ambassodor Inn and was upgraded to the Hotel across the street. I was given a queen suit and they brought over the fridge and microwave for free. The only downfall was i missed out on the comp breakfast at the inn. But all in all i loved the hotel, very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The small dinner next door has great food

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madison RegVisitor
Chicago, IL
Dec 25, 2012

An extended trip

Very comfortable and relaxing. I will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madison RegVisitor
Chicago, IL
Dec 25, 2012

A good trip

My stay at Ambassador Inn were quite comfortable and liked the hotel location; it was very convenient to get to the school, the store and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again when I'm in Milwaukee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha Bonnie
Hawaii
Nov 22, 2012

Beautifully comfortable experience!

The room was beautiful and the beds were so comfortable I didn't want to get out of them. I couldn't say enough about the staff and how helpful and friendly they were. I'm not from the area and they were like having my own gps. Thank so much for a wonderful day weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. Out of towner
Iowa
Nov 16, 2012

Worst experience ever

We were first placed in a room that was not yet finished being cleaned, so they moved us to a different room. After that we dropped our bags and enjoyed the city. When we returned that night we were accused of being loud when we just walk into our room. So they moved us for the second time across the street at late hours. The staff was beyond rude. Since it was so late we had things to refrigerate and removed things from the mini bar but did not open then. We realized in the morning it charges you immediately. We put it all back and explained to the reception desk. They said after staff reviews it. We would be reinbursted. It has almost been a week and I still have not been reinbursted even after multiple calls to the hotel. The entire experience was such an in incidence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
me me me me me
vt
Oct 22, 2012

right at Marquette

We spent four nights here visiting our son at Marquette. Hotel was adequate... nice shower, big towels, plenty of electric plugs, nice chairs. The beds were comfortable. There was a nice diner (awesome meatloaf) just across the street, Michael's open til 930. Also a quick stop one block up, and a Straybucks five blocks east. Downsides, ugly view of a brick wall from window, lots of teens on the street late at night (trying to look so so bad, but probably pretty harmless)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Michaels rocks! Good solid food, nice waitstaff and very reasonable prices. Tell them "Steve from Vermont" sent ya

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super dad jake
bloomer, wi
Sep 4, 2012

brewers trip

it was a great value hotel located close to miller park. the staff was also very helpful. would go back for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parfulle
Northwest Indiana
Sep 4, 2012

Great Place to Stay!

Don't be swayed by some of the negative reviews, I have stayed at this hotel twice now for 3 nights apiece and both times have been amazing. The best part for me has been the cheap price and free parking. Oh, and the free shuttle to Miller Park has been amazing. It is within 3 block of Marquette University, which has some really good eats nearby. The rooms are cozy and I haven't had a problem with cleanliness at all, rooms were well maintained. Don't be swayed by the neighborhood, I have never had a problem at all, and it's so close to the university that there are cops everywhere. Will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Located right by Marquette are Real Chili, Dogg Haus, and Soblemans. A 3 minute drive or 10 minute walk gets you right there.

Review of Ambassador Inn At Marquette

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Jul 30, 2012

Hotel Okay...Shuttle Service Stupendous

The Ambassador Inn is listed as a “Historical Landmark meets Upscale Modern at our Downtown Milwaukee Hotel” , the only thing that I can say that is “upscale” about this hotel is their shuttle service. The shuttle service is phenomenal. The shuttle service will drop off and pick up at any location in the city and it is not just a one-time service, it is an all-day service. I would definitely stay at this hotel again for the shuttle service but nothing else. The hotel sits on the border of good town/bad town. If you walk west of the hotel, the neighborhoods are extremely run down, if you walk east of the hotel, the college is very nice. The hotel staff was great, but the room was not the cleanest, I even made a complaint at the end of our stay. I am not fond of showering with someone’s else’s hair. Whatever this hotel says about their amenities they are lying. A continental breakfast was offered but it was nothing else but packaged danishes from a gas station and small juices in a container. I guess it was better than no breakfast at all. The hotel could definitely use an upgrade that's for sure. As far as “upscale” I would save your money for the Hilton, unless you want to take advantage of this hotels’ shuttle service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Milwaukee has a very cool "Public Market". I would also like to highly recommend a free tour at the Miller Brewing Company.

Back to menu Return to top