$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Sheraton Madison Hotel

3 stars
View map of 706 John Nolen Drive, 706 John Nolen Drive, Madison, WI 53713

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
54 reviews
perfect for canoecopia

The convenience of the hotel location to the Alliant convention center was the main attraction for... See full review

  • Rolf P.
  • Mar 17, 2015
Collage Move

The staff were amazing very friendly and I will stay there again !!! See full review

  • Collage road trip
  • Aug 3, 2014
Downtown Madison hotel with free Internet is welcoming and convenient
Across the street from Olin Park and Beach, and right in the heart of this vibrant city, the Sheraton Madison Hotel is ideally situated for business or leisure travel. Follow the Monona bicycle path just outside to the lakes or endless boutiques and restaurants. Or stay on site for a great workout in the fitness center or the heated indoor pool. The Harvest Lounge and Heartland Grill offer weekend brunch, lunch and dinner without having to leave the premises. Stay connected using the hotel business services or with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Highlights
  • Lake views from many guest rooms
  • Complimentary airport shuttle (restrictions apply)
  • Easy access to the Monona bike path
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Heated indoor swimming pool

 

Rooms
Stylish and welcoming, the guest rooms at the Sheraton Madison Hotel have it all. Comfortable Sweet Sleeper beds, high-quality linens, large flat-screen TVs and Starbucks coffee in all rooms is just the beginning. Upgrade to a club guest room and get all the perks that come with access to the club lounge, including complimentary evening appetizers. All guest rooms at the Sheraton Madison Hotel also feature complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Features
Don't just enjoy the lake view from the hotel, get out and stroll along the Monona bike path and end up at the beach or browsing the shops downtown. Located in the center of it all, the Sheraton Madison Hotel boasts easy access to many of Madison's most popular attractions. Walk to the Monona Convention Center, Olin Park and Beach or grab a cab to Overture Center for the Arts. Of course there is plenty to do on site as well. The three restaurants at the Sheraton Madison Hotel ensure a great meal any time of the day, from that first cup of coffee to a late night snack. A well-equipped fitness center and heated indoor pool, as well as immediate access to that lovely bike path, means that there is no need to let a fitness routine lapse. Staying connected to work, friends and family also is a breeze, with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms.

 

Transportation
  • Dane County Regional Airport (12 mi/19 km)
  • General Mitchell International Airport (78 mi/125 km)

 

Attractions
  • Lake Monona (across the street)
  • State Street (3 mi/5 km)
  • Overture Center for the Arts (4 mi/7 km)
  • Little Norway (64 mi/103 km)

 

Business
  • Business services available
  • Meeting rooms available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Madison Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Sheraton Madison Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Camp Randall Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Westmorland: 3.8 mi
  • Kohl Center: 162.5 mi

Dining

Heartland Grill
Enjoy an inviting atmosphere and a menu that embodies the freshness of middle America – the “Heartland.” A great place to gather and make warm connections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Madison Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mom of a Badger Graduate
Business
Washington DC
May 21, 2013

I will not return

The walls are paper thin and unfortunately I had a couple that was fighting all night. The worst possible neighbors. I finally called the desk at 3 am who had security ask them to keep the noise down. They continued to fight just slightly quieter. You can also hear people walking and talking in the halls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 6, 2010

Horrific

This place was a nightmare. The air conditioner was broken and I had to call down to get someone up to help. Then the key cards to the room stopped working 4 times! I had to get them re-set/re-swiped 4 times! One time at 3am! And of course each time I was asked to show my ID. The front staff was rude when I said, at the 4th visit to the front desk, "OK this is ridiculous. I have been locked out of my room 4 times because each time they deactivate." The staff replied "Oh yes, you can't have them near credit cards, keys, a phone, a barrette...nothing." So basically you can't carry them in your purse? I asked for a room credit and was told they couldn't because I booked on [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cruise Machine
Business
Brattleboro, Vermont
Aug 6, 2014

Gave away my pre-paid room...sent me 20 minutes out of town

I pre-paid for three nights at the Sheraton Madison, Wisconsin. When making my reservation, I said that I would arrive late. My credit card was billed immediately. Upon arriving at the hotel, the clerk disappeared for about 20 minutes, finally coming back to tell me that they gave my room away. After another 30 minutes, they said that they would put me up at the Crowne Plaza - which I agreed to. As I was leaving the clerk said, "see you tomorrow," and it turned out that they would only pay for one night at the CP, and that I would have to return to the Sheraton the next day. This did not fit with my plans and was a huge inconvenience, I asked for my money back and they said they couldn't do that. After further discussion, they agreed to pay for all three nites at the CP. I agreed to this. Little did I know that the Crowne Plaza was a 20 minute drive outside of Madison (Sun Prarie). I had chosen the Sheraton for its location (on the lake, bike path to town). Due to the Sheraton's lack of integrity, It turned out that I had to rent a car for the entire weekend. While I appreciated the staff's attempt to remedy the situation, the situation was 100% the fault of the hotel and resulted in a huge inconvenience for me and my family. The Crowne Plaza was great - just far away from where I intended to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
madisonvisitor
Business
Denver
Aug 21, 2011

Location, location, location

I'm not one to spend time at the hotel, and with conferences I come back to sleep for a few hours and show up early. The hotel itself is straight out of the 70s, with gold wirefame dividers between the bar, lobby and restaurant. It's right off the square which makes farmer's market easy. It's right thereon the square, get a good deal on this place and don't spend too much time in your room, which is true of anywhere. In the few hours I spent to sleep there, the beds aren't luxury, they could spend a dime or two on that, and otherwise, location - there are great restaurants and pubs within a 2 block radius.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Supper CJ
Business
Hartford, Ct.
Feb 6, 2013

great staff

I got in really late and needed to get to a meeting 1st thing in the morning. They provided me a van ride to my appointment saving me waiting & paying for a taxi. That is customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Badger Mom
Business
Green Bay, WI
Nov 18, 2013

Pretty Average

A little disappointed that they didn't have continental breakfast, and the Starbucks in the lobby was expensive. Other than that, the rooms were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reedycreek
Business
Long Island, NY
Jun 14, 2010

Great service, older hotel, small rooms

We spent two nights at this Sheraton, and were pretty mixed about it. The hotel is a 5 minute drive from downtown Madison, but is NOT in the city itself. Location overall is pretty good though. This is an older property which has been recently renovated. Still, despite the renovations, it was obvious that the hotel still needed improvements (very slow elevators, small rooms, old bathrooms, older hallways). Again, the room was very small, with barely enough room between the end of the bed and the desk to walk. Again, although the room had fresh wallpaper, paint, furnishings, and beddings, it was a tad below pretty average for a Sheraton. Free wifi in room which was sporadic, no ethernet connection. Housekeeping was not great, on both nights of our stay we were given either one or no bath towels for some reason. Had to call several times to get any. Room could have been cleaned better. Indoor pool looked nice and workout room was well appointed. Bar was just okay, breakfast buffet ($15) was actually very good with plenty of hot and cold selections. The hotel is pretty big, so parking was a bit of a pain on a Saturday night. The best thing about the hotel is the service. All staff was very professional, helpful and accomodating. Front desk staff especially. Restaurant staff was friendly and fast. Everyone said hello if you walked past them in the hall. Overall, not a bad hotel at all, but a little old with small rooms. However, staff friendliness and helpfulness make this place worth a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rebecca Red
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 28, 2009

The pretty-good place to stay

My mom and I went for the weekend for the first birthday party of a close friend's son. It was perfectly nice for a weekend stay. The room was overall fine except for a slightly leaky toilet and a couple hard-to-find light switches. The beds were a little hard. The breakfast buffet in the morning was not very good. Overall, though, a nice hotel at a great price. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, ohio
Jun 18, 2010

nice place

very comfortable room, staff was very helpful with dining choices, only negative was the shower head it pointed to the front corner to the shower so you had to be all squished up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baxterite
Business
Baxter MN
Jul 17, 2010

decent stay

decent for the money but noisy remodeling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top