$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

2 stars
View map of 3841 E. Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
94 reviews
Good experience

It is nice hotel the personal are nice and helpful See full review

  • MIJETA A.
  • May 19, 2015
No wifi

Everything about this hotel was just fine except for only one issue. The Wi-Fi signal was weak... See full review

  • Donanon
  • May 19, 2015
Near attractions in Madison and next door to the city’s largest mall
The Howard Johnson Madison hotel is adjacent to East Town Mall and only five miles from downtown, making it a convenient choice for business or leisure travelers. Use the daily airport shuttle from Dane County Regional Airport for a fast and easy way to get to and from town (restrictions and fees apply). The Howard Johnson Madison hotel is home to the largest indoor pool in the city, so be sure to make time for a few laps, check out the fitness center or hit the Monona Lake Walking Trail for a great workout.

 

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Largest indoor swimming pool in Madison on site
  • On-site dining at Northwoods Bar and Grill
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Game room with billiards

 

Rooms
Expect to find everything needed for a restful night in the Howard Johnson Madison hotel guest rooms. All accommodations include large TVs with cable channels, in-room coffee and tea service, and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Request a room with a mini-fridge and microwave for added convenience. Pets are welcome at the Howard Johnson Madison hotel, but check with the front desk about restrictions, designated rooms and additional fees.

 

Features
The Howard Johnson Madison hotel offers easy access to downtown Madison and East Town Mall making this a convenient location for business, visiting friends and family, and having some fun. Start with a dip in Madison's largest, heated indoor pool, right on the premises. If the splashing gets to be too much, just retreat to the Jacuzzi. The Howard Johnson Madison hotel also boasts a game room, complete with billiards, a hearty menu at the Northwoods Bar and Grill and a well-equipped fitness center. When it is time to get out and explore the city be sure to visit the capitol building, free tours are available daily. Families love the Henry Vilas Zoo, which is nearly 100 years old and still as popular as ever. Olbrich Botanical Gardens is another popular destination, not to be missed.

 

Transportation
  • General Mitchell International Airport (80 mi/129 km)
  • Dane County Regional Airport (3 mi/5 km)

 

Attractions
  • East Town Mall (adjacent to the hotel)
  • Henry Vilas Zoo (5 mi/8 km)
  • State Street (5 mi/8 km)
  • Overture Center for the Arts (5 mi/8 km)
  • Camp Randall Stadium (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Meeting/banquet space
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
Business
  • Meeting/banquet space
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Camp Randall Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Westmorland: 7.9 mi
  • Kohl Center: 163.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MIJETA A.
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

Good experience

It is nice hotel the personal are nice and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donanon
Business
North Palm Beach
May 19, 2015

No wifi

Everything about this hotel was just fine except for only one issue. The Wi-Fi signal was weak almost anywhere but the front desk. We couldn't access it on our computers iPads or phones. The hotel had a great pool, Nice little bar with a pool table vending machines pinball machines clean rooms, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cathy
Business
N/A
Apr 28, 2015

nice getaway

We had a nice time at the hotel. We enjoyed the large pool for swimming. The staff was very nice, and the breakfast was good. The location was prime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brent A.
Business
N/A
Mar 17, 2015

great staff

Nice large pool and hot tub both heated at perfect temperature. Hyvee ( large 24 hr.grocery store next door) Great breakfast of scrambled eggs fried potatoes sausage fruit ect.those serving were

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brent A.
Business
N/A
Mar 17, 2015

great staff

Nice large pool and hot tub both heated at perfect temperature. Hyvee ( large 24 hr.grocery store next door) Great breakfast of scrambled eggs fried potatoes sausage fruit ect.those serving were

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VN.629
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Rude STAFF!!!!

I usually stay at this hotel when I come to town for work but this last visit I was VERY displeased! My fiance and I went into the bar and there was no bartender to be found. Where was she you may ask... well she was playing the slot machine! 10 minutes later she came back to the bar and acted like it was an inconvenience for us to be there. I then went to play the machine and she came up to me said "I was playing that". I said I thought you were working and gave me this nasty look. **is this appropriate to be playing when you are working?** We ordered one drink and went back to our room. Later I had to ask the front desk lady for more towels and she gave me the same rude reaction. Called the hotel to let them know how displease I was and still have yet to receive a call from anyone back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hotelsaremylife
Business
san jose, california
Nov 24, 2014

eh.

Old hotel, nice location. Rooms feel dirty and have a strange odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ThomasOConnor
Business
Fond du Lac, WI
Oct 19, 2014

Madison Conference

Everything was okay for the hotel, not a large hotel with big spacious conference rooms. Amenities was above average, location is easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Man restaurants in the area of all choices

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Young Dr
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 30, 2014

Horrible

Disgusting smell throughout the hotel. Moldy. Stains everywhere. Internet doesn't work and when I called about it I was told, "what? I'm not an IT person". Bed was lumpy. Just avoid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex Ks
Business
Everett, WA
Aug 18, 2014

Average

Average all around hotel. Affordable and adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top